We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rubio's Tours

Rubio's Tours
HC-01 Box 13037, Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
787 309 6224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 things to do in Rio Grande
Attraction details
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Thanks John for sharing your knowledge and a great place to hike! It was an experience we will never forget. John took us to a bakery where we had a delicious breakfast. Then We took a 3 hour hike. It was breathtaking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Hiking El Yunque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our group of two women had a personalized hike in El Yunque. The arrangements were flawless and easily arranged via e-mail. John Druitt picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the rain forest, preparing for the visit with numerous interesting facts about Puerto Rico. Our hike was almost 5 hours and took us through various parts of the rain forest to some of the most amazing viewpoints we had ever seen. Along the way, John pointed out birds, flowers, trees and explained the forest in an interesting and clear manner. We hiked the El Yunque trail to the peak. It was a miraculously clear day and we had perfect 360 degree views at 3500 ft. Quite breathtakingly beautiful. We went to Roca El Yunque, then took the Mount Britton Spur on the way back. I had been on a group tour to El Yunque a couple of years ago and was disappointed that the advertised "hike" was only a 30 min slow shuffle, but the hike with John was just perfect and the pace was geared exactly to our abilities. I recommend a personalized hike with John Druitt very highly. It was an incredible and unforgettable experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our family went on two tours with John Druitt. We spent one day in the rainforest and another touring Old San Juan. Everyone had a wonderful time, age range 8yrs-72yrs. John customized the tours to fit our needs, what we were able to do, and what we wanted to see. John is extremely knowledgable and told us a wealth of information we wouldnt necessarily have got on a bigger, more commercialized tour. I think we spent about 12-13hrs with John during our tours and by the end it felt like he was part of our family:) We had a wonderful time and made us feel extremely comfortable. I will continue to use Rubios Tours whenever visiting Puerto Rico

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Great Way To Explore El Yunque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

John Druitt, the Rubio in Rubio's Tours, runs a first rate tour guide business. His knowledge of the El Yunque rain forest is extensive and his general knowledge of environmental science is astounding. The combination of the two, coupled with his dry British wit, results in an experience you are not likely to ever forget. John will completely customize your tour to suit your needs. If you want simple and paved, John will deliver the tour. If you want rugged and challenging, John will deliver that experience as well. In fact, he favors the off road route to see El Yunque in all of its glory. That's the tour week took and we have no regrets. If you want to leave El Yunque with a new depth of knowledge about rain forests, have John lead the tour.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This was such a fantastic tour. John was involved in a reforestation effort so is really knowledgeable about the rainforest. Although we got rained on the forest we still had a great 1.5 mile hike along a paved walkway. John provided plenty of water and info. We highly recommend this tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubio's Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rubio's Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.