We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Siesta Alegre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Siesta Alegre
Save
You added Hacienda Siesta Alegre to your Saves list
Carr. 186 Km 23. 9 | Sector El Verde, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rio Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little slice of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Based on the reviews my husband and I decided to stay at the Hacienda for a few days. To sum it up, we loved it and wouldn't have changed a thing...well maybe the weather! The room was lovely, I enjoyed the rustic chic design. I loved the bathtub! The freshly made breakfast was reason enough to get up every morning. The staff was super friendly and the owners were wonderful. It was quiet, serene and we really felt we were in the rain forest. If you are looking for a relaxed setting then Hacienda Siesta Alegre is the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
37
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were here for a wedding, let me tell you something, this place is amazing, it is a bit difficult to find the location, specially at night, you must use GPS, inside the hacienda is also difficult to find the place no signs but finally we find the place. The ambience is super romantic, this is 100% authentic Puerto Rico. If you need a place to organize an event(business, family etc..) this place will exceed all expectative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our group of 5 adults, stayed three nights at Hacienda Siesta Alegre and we did not want to leave. Another B&B we had stayed at before was booked for the dates we had for travel. I accidently found this B&B at the last minute on Trip Advisor. This place is BEAUTIFUL!!!
They have been in business operating as a B&B since winter 2012. This place is known more as a location for hosting weddings and business parties. That explains the few reviews on T.A. I am sure this place will be a top rated B&B in Rio Grande very soon! This place is PARADISE!

For breakfast, we sat in the open terrace space to enjoy our meal. We had a panoramic view of flowers, trees and pretty décor. Every morning we had the most amazing breakfast. On our first day, we were served a delicious plate of pastelon (this is a new favorite dish for all of us) along with fruits, eggs, bacon, bread, fruit juice and coffee. Every day the menu would change slightly. It was big portions and was delicious! We were full enough to skip lunch and felt energized to do all the things we set to do on our busy trip.

During our stay, there was one night of an event at the main house. You do not hear the music from the guest rooms across from the main house. If you stay in the room just below the main house, you will hear it the music. This event was over by 10:00 PM and we slept fine. We were notified that the hot water is not always fully working. It worked for our room, but on and off for parents rooms. Otherwise we have absolutely no complains, just feel joy to have found this place.

All of our bedrooms were clean and beautifully decorated with flowers. We had air conditioning and a ceiling. The surrounding area gives you the feel of living in a farm with a combination of a rainforest. Chickens, rosters, ducks, swans, horses and other farm animals live on the property. We enjoyed our drive in the entrance where you see the farm animals in their homes. This is a wonderful place to feel the full effect of Puerto Rico away from city life, in the peace and tranquility of the country.

Room Tip: The newlywed room (just below the main house) has plenty of hot water. If there is an event at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After 4 days in San Juan it was nice to kick back at HSA. This is a horse training facility that has a beautiful home that was originally used to host weddings and they would rent rooms out to the wedding party. From what Greg, the owner told me, they only have been open for 6 months as a
B&B. He has been busy building and adding to it since the early 90's. The house and surrounding building are built on a hill. With the main house built on top wtih other building sloping away. Alot of beautiful covered open spaces. My description does not to this place justice, you have to see it and stay there to truly appreciate it. Breakfast is served on the covered patio overlooking the rainforest. It was easy just sitting there, eating breakfast and relaxing and forgetting about the daily grind. Greg and Linda the owners were always around and helpful. Marta, who handles the B&B was very professional, quickly answering emails before we got there. I can't wait to return to Puerto Rico and stay at Hacienda Siesta Alerge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I spent two days at Hacienda Siesta Alegre and there is no comparison to any other place. You feel just like you are at home, our room was just in front of the swimming pool with beautiful surroundings. The view of the El Yunque rain forest was awesome.

And finally, the breakfast was out of this world; fresh farm eggs, crispy fried bacon, fruit, french bread, freshly squeezed OJ and the best coffee I have ever had. Oh, and I forgot to mention they included a Puertorrican specialty; "pastelon" as part of the breakfast.

Even though it is a secluded place; you are close to PR66 which connects you to all the main highways in order to enjoy the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Try the ones in front of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place was amazing for a corporate event. Although it rained, we still enjoyed ourselves until we had to load the buses and leave. The atmosphere is breathtaking! Although we stayed at the Gran Melia, I would love to come back to Puerto Rico and stay at the Hacienda Siesta Allegra....it is one location I highly recommend not passing up if you have the opportunity. The flamenco dancers and gentleman rolling cigars added an irresistible flair to the party! The music, food, and drinks created memories my friends and I will never forget!

Room Tip: We were only on site for a party, but would love to come back and stay for a week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights and did not want to leave. The setting is lush, green, floral, and relaxing. Our room was one of three toward the rear of the complex. The room was ample in size. Our Q bed had 10 pillows on it. Plenty of clean towels available but not enough hot water. The main building is open on its sides and the gentle breezes in the shade were always present while the roof protected us from the sun and occasional rain drop. Breakfast is superb. The coffee with steamed milk and freshly squeezed OJ are staples on the menu. There is so much delicious food and fresh fruit that you will not need to eat lunch. Fresh flowers adorn the breakfast tables and the guest rooms. A breakfast serenade is provided by the crowing roosters and neighboring sheep and goats. Nights are filled with the sound of the coquis. HSA is convenient to el Yunque, Luquillo beach, and Fajardo and it isn't that far to SJU and San Juan either. HSA also hosts corporate and private events in the main building. There were 3 events held while we stayed. During these events, guests can not use the main building.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Siesta Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Siesta Alegre

Address: Carr. 186 Km 23. 9 | Sector El Verde, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Siesta Alegre Inn is proud to announce the completion of our open air gazebo: "The Pond House" Created by Property Owner and Visionary Gregory Jackson, this unique and tranquil hammock haven provides a perfect resting area for bed & breakfast guests to enjoy. Conveniently situated away from the Main House and adjacent to our Aquaponics pond, our serene sanctuary encompasses the sounds of nature, and trickling flow of water. B&B guests may also enjoy the convenience of an honor bar, refreshments and coffee station. Hacienda Siesta Alegre is a beautiful Caribbean Colonial Hacienda, rustic-style residence located just 30 minutes east of San Juan. Specializing in destination weddings and events with all of your close friends and family with you, there are 8 suite rooms available for your guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Siesta Alegre Hotel Rio Grande
Hacienda Siesta Alegre Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Siesta Alegre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.