We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

St. Regís Bahía

This was our first stay at a St. Regis and many things blew us away.

Overview:
Location: 35 minutes from San Juan
Price: just right
Property: immaculate
Pools: very nice, ample space, several cabanas and more than enough comfortable lounge chairs
Beach: 2 miles of beautiful Atlantic Coast and Golden sands. Phenomenal beach for early morning walks. So very peaceful. Not swimmable as it's a rough surf sometimes.
Food: 3 restaurants. Molasses is excellent. Sea grapes is also very good (Located Poolside) and Fern (A Jean George's Restaurant) we didn't have an opportunity to try.
Suite/Casita: we stayed in 1213. Beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious was our oceanfront St. Regis Suite.
Bed/Pillows: very comfortable, like sleeping on a cloud. Pillows were also large and comfortable.
Bathroom: excellent rain shower along with an adjustable handle.
Very large deep tub
Entertainment: Samsung TVs throughout along with a tv in the vanity mirror in the master bathroom (unbelievable) =)

Excellent place from the start. Weeks before arriving I emailed the resort in regards to some special requests. The GM answered my requests promptly every time.

Special thanks to the head concierge and his staff Vanessa and Dinerys, Terry the GM, Angel (waiter from Molasses) Amaury and Edgar our Butler. Many others that I can't remember. All were excellent.

Would we return to a St. Regis based on this experience??
Absolutely! At the drop of a dime! First rate treatment, at a world class AAA Five Diamond Resort make this my #1 place to stay in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.
It gives us tremendous pride to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our magnificent resort, including our customized service.

These are part of our core values at St. Regis, not only for your enjoyment, but to ensure that you look forward to returning to our little slice of paradise found...
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the best address in Puerto Rico, in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    195
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
222
408
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our stay at St Regis was enjoyable and relaxing, which was what we were after on this trip. We were not seeking to be entertained or to "have a blast", we wanted a restful, relaxing tropical getaway in a peaceful, warm, serene environment with stellar service and quality amenities. St Regis delivered.

Some observations...

Facilities: Top notch, no expense spared. For those familiar with building construction costs and the various materials available, and the ways other properties cut corners and skimp, you'll notice and appreciate this. For example, wood solid core doors in the rooms, bathroom design/fixtures otherwise found only in the master bath suite of multi-million+ dollar homes. The pool is 100% solid 1" tile surface all the way, not just around the rim edge like most pools (enormously expensive to do it this way). The grounds are impeccable and must cost a fortune to maintain. Everything you see and touch is first rate, high quality. Beds, towels, pillows, pool furniture, walkways, etc as well. Even the writing pens are fantastic. If you are someone who can notice and appreciate not only the obvious and overt luxury, but also the small nuances and touches, and value it as part of your overall experience, St. Regis offers a true value experience. If you're a budget traveller out for a splurge, some of it may be lost on you and it will simply seem "expensive".

Cost: Which leads to the next observation. As vacationers who do occasionally splurge, but normally keep it more frugal, it did take a few deep breaths for me to accept the on-property costs of eating. All totaled, as a family of 4, we spent over $1,000 on eating and drinks during our 6 day, 5 night stay, and that was being somewhat frugal by sharing some dishes and having only water at meals. We also don't drink alcohol so, if you do, budget for more.

We did not have a rental car (except for one day trip to the rain forest and San Juan) so we were captive consumers, and there is no on-site package store, and we didn't bring sandwich fixings for the room fridge. And the food is the one exception to the "everything is top notch" rule. It's good enough, better than average I guess, but not great. I made my peace with that soon enough and it was ok. If you can do the same, and not let it bother you - just factor it into the total vacation budget - it won't cause you distress either. Just accept it as part of your overall cost of the total experience, but you should budget $50-$150 per day per person if you plan to eat 3 meals per day on site.

Service: Unbelievably courteous, professional and competent. Exemplary in every way. Coming from a casual home city (Austin TX) where everything is a bit more laid back and "hey dude", it's a bit different getting used to the manner in which SR staff addresses and takes care of guests at St Regis. It's somewhat scripted ("allow me to ...") yet natural, and you feel a genuine service ethic and friendliness underneath it all. Everyone makes eye contact, is alert, stands straight, speaks clearly, and knows how to provide what you need or directs you to the person who does.

This treatment and service was uniform and consistent throughout our stay and did not vary from day to day or shift to shift as it does at so many other establishments. This level of service is part of what makes the overall experience and value of the stay worth it, in my opinion.

Fellow guests: Again, as frequent "budget vacationers", we're used to tolerating a certain degree of slovenly dressed, low class, boisterous people and unruly children (i.e. Holiday Inn N Padre - which we love by the way), but there is none of that at SR. It's a different more refined demographic, as the price point would suggest, offering a distraction free, low key ambience, including the piped in soothing music that bathes your senses wherever you go. The interaction with other guests was cordial, friendly and enjoyable, but not intrusive or unwelcome. Though it may sound snobbish, a vacation away from certain kinds of other vacationers and their kids was nice and extremely enjoyable. There were plenty of children around, and they were playful and having fun, but in a respectful supervised way.

We did rent a car and drive to El Yunque and hike down to the waterfall in our swim suits. Once there, it was too crowded to get in, and not a true "swimming hole" of the kind we have in central Texas, but more of a rocky wading area. We got drenched in rain hiking back up and loved it! It's a must do if your healthy enough for a medium level hike.

We then went into Old San Juan and toured the old fort, had lunch, coffee and some shopping. We were too tuckered out from the 1/2 day in the rain forest to fully enjoy Old San Juan. If we return to PR again, I think we'll split the stay between an Old SJ hotel for a day or two to allow fuller urban exploration, then go back to St Regis for complete rest/relaxation. Old San Juan seems vibrant and alive and I wished we had planned better to spend more time there.

My 18 and 21 year old daughters both rated the vacation 4 of 5, saying they enjoyed it a lot, but it was too much isolation and not enough to do on property after the first few days. I can see their point. They like my idea of splitting the stay between OSJ and SR, maybe 2 or 3 days at each, if we go back. My wife on the other hand was like me, 5/5 all the way, as we truly wanted a restful relaxing trip, not one over-scheduled with activities and a busy daily agenda, and this hit the spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are thrilled that you were enraptured in our home, where our daily mantra is for all of our guests to enjoy the ‘art of living’. It give us great pleasure that you indulged in our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting, but most of all, the warmth of our devoted staff. They are quite passionate in their efforts to pamper our distinguished guests, and ‘Allow me…’ is at the heart of our emblematic service philosophy.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, and treat you to another uncompromising St. Regis vacation.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Came here for a few days to relax and get away...and it was the perfect place. It was secluded and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly. The restaurants were very good. The golf course was great and my wife said the spa was excellent. Quiet walks along the beach were amazing. Only two issues I had were at check in there was a little confusion as to who was to be taken care of next as they have you sit down in a lounge. Other was for this type of resort, there was not an adult only section. Lots of little kids running around. I understand they were constructing a new pool by the golf course but not sure what the intent was for its use. DONT miss the french toast. Best I've ever had.....Overall a wonderful place and I would definitely go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are thrilled that you indulged in our magnificent accommodations and spectacular tropical setting, but most of all, the warmth of our devoted staff. They are quite passionate in their efforts to pamper our distinguished guests, and ‘Allow me…’ is at the heart of our emblematic service philosophy.
Your pure enjoyment of every detail, from our sumptuous French Toast at Fern, to the heavenly treatments in Remède Spa, are tailor-made and designed to enhance your exclusive guest experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, to the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had an awesome experience here. Exceptional service. Cynthia Muniz, front desk agent, actually secured 4 dr. pepper's for me, which were not part of the resort fare. Very beautiful beach front, but you feel very secluded if you don't have a car. Not many off property options. WE SAW the SEA TURTLES hatch and run for the SEA. Off my bucket list now.

Room Tip: Great if you like to play golf, but would recommend a car if staying more than a couple of days. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay in our stunning resort.

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience, and could see our endangered Leatherback Turtles hatch! We are blessed that the peaceful nature of our secluded beach is a preferred nesting ground for these magnificent creatures, and closely monitored by the Department of Natural Resources. How wonderful that you were able to revel in this true marvel of nature.

As well, beyond the gates of Bahía Beach, many of our visitors have enjoyed such diverse activities as the bioluminescent-bay tour, kayaking, and the El Yunque rainforest - one of the very few rainforests left in the world, and the only one under the US flag, providing a magical quality to our tropical sanctuary.

For your next trip, we would delight in assisting you to discover the places you missed this time around, and extend to you another customized St. Regis experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent a week here recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are huge and beautiful. The pool area is very nice - big, yet still feels private - we also had no trouble finding chairs whenever we wanted. There's an enormous iguana that hangs out by the pool -- don't be alarmed but it won't hesitate to jump in and swim past you. This place is perfect for relaxing and unwinding. The rooms are large and private - we enjoyed dining on our patio quite a bit. The staff is very friendly and provides excellent service. It's a bit out of the way but we found it to be a good enough base for exploring the island with a rental car. My only piece of advice is to call ahead and make sure there aren't any conferences or company sales reward trips going on during the timeframe you want to stay -- there was one that started the last 2 days of our trip and the group was large enough that they really seemed to take over the place and you lost a little bit of that nice private, quiet feeling that we enjoyed so much the first part of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that you had such and an uncompromising experience!

We sincerely appreciate your kudos for our dedicated staff. Your feedback fuels their sense of pride and our commitment to the extraordinary guest experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Best Address in the Caribbean.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed at the St. Regis few days ago. Grounds were beautiful. Rooms were nice. Everything else... Ehhh nothing to brag about. I was not impressed with the food at all. Service was not up to par with St. Regis brand name. Staff seemed lazy, did not go above and beyond... They just did bare minimum. Definitely NOT worth the $$ we paid. We will not return nor will we recommend this resort. Honestly, I'm not even sure why other reviewers are saying such lovely things about this hotel. This hotel does not live up to its name

Room Tip: Find a room at different resort. Not worth the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your recent visit to our captivating resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your disappointment. This is certainly not indicative of the sophisticated level of expectations that has become the St. Regis trademark and legacy.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your natural surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback is crucial for us to improve and has been addressed with the appropriate departments, in order to avoid this from reoccurring.

We do hope you will reconsider and return so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your initial impression, and treat you to the uncompromising service that thousands of our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to since our opening over four years ago.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed a weekend, arriving 5/30-6/2/2014. The service was amazing from check-in to check out. Room upgrade-beachfront! W butler service, pool/beach staff-especially Clarissa were great! Special complimentary wine & champagne for our anniversary. Would absolutely recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort.

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! We are humbled that you would choose St. Regis Bahía Beach to celebrate such a cherished occasion.

We are pleased that you indulged in our well-orchestrated guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.