We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Awesome St Regis - and perfect for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Another Awesome St Regis - and perfect for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Let's not kid ourselves - you are definitely paying for it here, just like at a Four Seasons; however, having stayed at 2 St Regis resorts recently after back to back stay at Four Seasons, there is a definite notch up with the St Regis. First, you just don't feel like you are getting "nickled and dimed" at St Regis like you do at Four Seasons. Wifi - free. Room to bring food into your room - plenty of it; and you don't feel like you have to sneak it either; at our last one prior to this, they even brought a small microwave up so we could make our kids oatmeal in the morning. And for 25 bucks a day per child, your kids can get 3 meals a day (including monster breakfast buffet) and they can eat at all the restaurants you do on the resort on the meal plan. Another huge value add for families. The resort was packed when we were there for Spring Break and service did not seem to miss a step. **They did not have our room available at check in time, but no worries, the bought us lunch poolside, and we definitely won on that deal (facilities were of course more than adequate to change and go to the pool, store luggage etc. while waiting).
Food at all three restaurants was great - especially breakfast outside at their signature Jean George restaurant Fern. While the restaurant choices are limited on the property to 3 - we were warned of this, but with a great recommendation for a local place we were easily able to fill in our nights with other options if we wanted.
The Boat house on the property that offers fishing, kayaking, stand up paddle boarding, swimming and a wonderful guided nature ride/hike each day was perfect break from the pool and beach for the kids. There are S'mores at 530 poolside in a big fire pit on weekends, and during the peak weeks.
Families vs Couples = we were there during peek week for families so there were kids everywhere; we also overlapped on a few days the following week when it slowed down and it was a noticeable difference. If you are going as a couple sans children, then just avoid the peak family weeks and you shouldn't even notice it.
We were there a week, and barely left the property, which is odd for us - as we are always looking to do other activities when we vacation. There is plenty to do on the property, in addition to so many things things off of it.
The resort is in the rain forest basically - which besides the charm and interest of iguanas everywhere, it was still impeccably clean everywhere - the staff did an unbelievable job of keeping public and private spaces clean at seemingly all times.

The only few negative pieces of feedback i would add, is that the beach service closed before sundown. (not sure why either) And driving in general on the north side of the island is absolutely awful - roads are terribly narrow off the main highways, and exits and terribly confusing and not well marked either. GPS still doesn't really work there on top of it - so get really really good directions if you rent a car or pay a car service.

If you have the means I HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone, especially families.

Room Tip: Take a high level garden view over a lower level ocean view - to be higher up in the rain forest was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Your exceptional experience is precisely what we at the St. Regis Bahia Beach strive for – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and sumptuous cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway, or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    175
    83
    31
    22
See reviews for
198
374
6
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really enjoyed the St Regis for a long weekend getaway from New York with my wife. We have stayed at luxury resorts all over the world and this was comparable to many of them but much, much easier and cheaper to get to. We stayed in a one bedroom, oceanfront suite that was enormous, and all rooms / amenities were brand new as the resort was built less than three years ago. It was great that each building was only two floors so that nothing was taller than the trees, and the buildings were well spaced so you always felt like you were in the jungle (rather than at a large resort). We thought we would spend most of our time at the pool, but the beach was very nice (and scenic). You can walk for nearly a mile in either direction and there was nothing else nearby.

We had only two minor complaints:

(1) Dinner was average, particularly at Fern (Jean-Georges)... although breakfast at Fern was awesome. You would definitely be better off eating at the more casual Molasses.

(2) We stayed for three full days, which was perfect... but there is not a lot to do if you stay much longer. St Regis is 30-40mins from San Juan so not a lot of dinner or going out options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation!

Rest assured, your valuable feedback has been shared with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to St. Regis Bahia Beach to cut the winter here on the east coast a bit short. Easy to fly into San Juan, picked up the car and within 30 minutes entered the resort. Entering into the resort is amazing compared to the drive and surroundings we had seen before. It is like you enter another world, beautiful gardens and you pass the golf course....

Since the guard at check in verifies your name you are being greeted by the doorman and all the staff upon entering in the hotel's driveway. very friendly welcome with a nice welcome drink!

Our room was looking over the Golf course, amazing, very nice decor, we loved the bathroom, the shower could easily fit a second shower head, that would make this bathroom even better. On two days we had no Housekeeping service, strange that the towels were exchanged but noting else was made, it didn't bother us too much, the turn down service fixed it. Also the carpet seemed very dirty.

The breakfast experience was great, but I would have expected a bit more in terms of food and presentation. The lunch by the pool side is unfortunately not to our taste ( quesadillas, few salads) we prefer more the healthy options and I would also not mind to have some fish or meat dishes from the grill.

The Fern restaurant for dinner is very nice, unfortunately with too little capacity for the resort. This needs to be sorted out since the restaurant by the golf course is not a dinner option.

The pool and the service are very nice, the beach with the reef in front a bit rough, you cannot swim, but nice to watch the waves come into the bay.
The staff is extremely friendly and are always very helpful. It also seems the hotel is very family friendly, we saw lots of happy kids around.

We will be back, but please change the Pool Menu and add some other or extended dinner options to Fern.

The valet parking fee is not so nice, since there is plenty of space but no option to self park, I would rather spent this money for a nicer lunch....

Thank you St. Regis Bahia Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

If fills us with enormous satisfaction that you had such an extraordinary vacation, and in every respect felt like royalty!

We also appreciate your words of praise for our dedicated staff. Their sense of pride and desire to serve our distinguished guests uncompromisingly are what help make you feel so at home.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

i can said that its only 1word to describe this unique Resort just perfect from the arrive at the airport the chauffeur Richard Morales from First class company who provide transportation at the resort was absolute perfect,his attention to our family and the service was beyond his duty's.and the resort and all staff they are super ,thanks to all to make ours vacation just perfect.We just have to said thank for the wonderful time and have Richard as one of you ambassador for yours resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation!

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is everything you would expect from a luxury brand. From the moment you drive up to the Plantation (the lobby), you know you've arrived. From the oversized rooms, the state of the art bathrooms, the lush greenery and beautiful ocean view, everything was breathtaking. We brought our 2 small children and there were so many things to do without ever leaving the resort. The Boathouse had kayaking, fishing, arts and crafts, a nature center and paddleboarding - all included in the resort fee. Then, of course there's the golf course, spa, the beach, the pool and the nature trails as well. This resort has it all! And I can't forget about the scrumptious food! I loved Molasses, Seagrapes and Fern and even the in-room dining. The food was top-notch, fresh and just plain delicious! Last, but not least - the service was just unforgettable. We felt catered to at all times - truly pampered. I can't wait to come back and visit - and definitely stay longer!!

Only one drawback - the beach is not really intended for swimming as the red flag flies often, if not all the time. [But who cares?! There's so much more to do here!]

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

If fills us with enormous satisfaction that you had such an extraordinary vacation, and in every respect felt like royalty!

We also appreciate your words of praise for our dedicated staff. Their sense of pride and desire to serve our distinguished guests uncompromisingly are what help make you feel so at home.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Puerto Rico before, but wanted a resort away from the city. The St. Regis is a bit of a ride (25 min) but WELL worth it! The staff is lovely, and the property is absolutely stunning. It is like a well manicured jungle paradise that opens up onto a pristine 2 mile private beach. Not a giant hotel, but low bungalows that fit into the landscape, giving you a tranquil, relaxed feeling from the moment you arrive. The food is amazing & the multi-area pool w/lovely cabanas is phenomenal. We never came across one staff member who was less than perfectly accommodating & gracious. Our room could not have been nicer. Roomy & well appointed. We had one suite, which was exceptionally large; and another room connected by a foyer, which was surprising large and plush. If we ever needed anything, we pushed a button on the phone & within minutes it appeared. We were on the ground floor, but our ocean view was still spectacular.

Our only negatives would be that the constant thumping techno music played at the outside pool dining area is reminiscent of a bad porno movie. Nice steel drums or Afro-Caribbean jazz would be more appropriate in an island setting. Also, $18-weak (low alcohol) drinks, served in plastic cups is uncalled for poolside or anywhere at the resort. MAYBE for a nice glass of wine w/dinner might cost this amount, in a glass. And this is probably just a product of us having been there at spring break- but the pool was filled with small children (as were the restaurants), which is perfectly fine, but there needs to be a place for the adults to swim and relax too. I was kicked between the legs, had cups of water tossed in my face (repeatedly), and had a ball thrown at my head. I'm not just talking about being splashed. All the while, parents just watched their children carry on and/or tossed footballs along with them! Even after complaining, and finding out that the one area WAS "the adult" section, nothing was done. So we left the pool. That's not fair. Same issue at the restaurants- at 9pm, why seat a family w/ 3 toddlers (obviously very tired and loud) next to an already dining group of 4 (quiet) adults when there were open tables across the restaurant? But I have read many reviews that said this is not typical, so perhaps that was an off week.

For the most part, 95% of our stay, we LOVED the St Regis Bahia Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to detail your wonderful experiences regarding your recent stay.
We are thrilled that in spite of a couple of mishaps, you had such a fabulous vacation, and appreciated the intimate, tropical atmosphere. As you point out, the warmth of our staff and exquisite beauty of our natural surroundings, make for a very magical location. We are proud to be the first Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has some of the worst service issues I have ever encountered in a 5 star Hotel. My parents took our entire family- 3 couples and 9 grandchildren on vacation for a week over Thanksgiving. The Hotel was well aware of when we were to arrive yet you would have thought we had just shown up begging for rooms last minute. All previous room requests were ignored and the entire check in took over an hour and a half. My parents, who booked an ocean view room, were not given one but were charged the price for ocean views. We were supposed to have connecting rooms with our children and instead they put us on different floors. No apologies or attempts to accommodate requests, which were made months in advance.
Dining options are REALLY limited and service at breakfast lunch and dinner was abysmal. Slow doesn't begin to describe how long it takes to get drinks/food. We ate at Fern on the 2nd night and the air conditioning was broken. The heat inside was miserable.

The Hotel rooms and grounds are lovely but this hotel in absolutely not worth the high cost of staying here. We travel often and this is one place I would NEVER recommend or return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with your family at our resort.

Allow us to preface with a sincere apology for your justified disappointment. Where we fell short of your expectations is most concerning, and certainly not indicative of the exceptional St. Regis service we have become renowned for. Your feedback is crucial for us to improve in these areas. We would welcome any further comments that you may have, and are available to speak with you at your earliest convenience.

We do hope you will reconsider returning, as we would love the opportunity to make amends, and demonstrate the truly bespoke experience which you and your family so deserve.

Again, thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.