We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the St. Regis Bahia Beach in January. If you book a suite, your rooms will be closest to the main lobby (although still a separate building, so very private), which means it's not too far of a walk after you check in, or to get to the pool & restaurants. The food there - at all three restaurants - was amazing, and even though we stayed 6 days, we never felt the need to leave the property. There is so much to do! If you do decide to leave (which we did once to buy wine at the local grocery store - gotta save money if you're upgrading to the suite!) they can arrange a taxi for $15 each way into the local town. The private beach is wonderful. The beach area off the pool has a bit of a steep drop once you get into the water, but if you walk to the left, the shore and water becomes very flat, so much more conducive to swimming. (I found 12 sand dollars there too during our stay!) The room decor and service are wonderful. They have blended green with high tech, so it makes for an amazing experience. And the spa is absolutely worth checking out. They provide a glass of Champagne (not sparkling) upon arrival. While I wouldn't say that this was the "best" 5-star service I've ever received, it does rank strongly at about 4.7 out of 5.0 points for service.

Room Tip: If possible, choose an ocean front room. They're a little more expensive, but WELL WORTH the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us.

Your thorough enjoyment of our AAA Five Diamond award winning resort, from our lavishly designed guest rooms and sophisticated pool area, to our world-class dining, is precisely the experience we plan for all of our distinguished guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    195
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
221
408
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall a very good hotel and one of the more "complete" St. Regis properties we have stayed in (staff, location, food and execution). The staff was excellent and appeared to genuinely care how we were doing. They were very good at remembering us and our tastes, and were very friendly (even indulging my terrible Spanish). The hotel is located about 40 minutes from Luis Munoz airport and is a very easy drive. It’s on the north side of PR and, as has been my experience elsewhere in PR, it is a windy. If you are looking for tranquility, you will only find it by the pool. The upside to a breeze, of course, is no mosquitos. It is very close to El Yunque (well worth it), Culabre and other interesting places. We also made a trip into Old San Juan, which was fine for a day trip.

We did not eat at Fern as we could not be bothered to get dressed up. We had several good meals at Seagrapes, Molasses and the Plantation House bar, though. We also had a great breakfast at La Familia off campus. Overall, the food was pretty good, but as with any St. Regis, expensive.

Our room was a “superior garden”, which is the bottom level, but very well appointed nonetheless. It was large, with a huge bathroom and we had a nice little porch to sit on. We also had our own entrance, which was nice. There are several buildings on the grounds and all seemed to have great views. I’m not sure I would pay up for the ocean view, as you really aren’t that close and there are a lot of palm trees between you and the ocean. We did have some minor issues with a broken door lock (they are battery operated), but the hotel was quick to fix the issue.

There is plenty to do onsite, including golf, nature trails, canoes/kayaks, a big pool and bicycles, all covered by the resort fee. I thought $22/day for parking is a bit ridiculous given the amount of space on the property, but if you are paying to stay at a St. Regis it is more of a principle issue than cash flow.

Last, the hotel does a nice job with good directions and recommendations for places to eat of campus.

If there is a complaint to lodge, it would be that I should have been comped for a couple of drinks, or a bottle of wine for the door lock issue. We had three sets of keys at that point and the cleaning staff couldn’t get in, which should have indicated a problem to the hotel. Instead, it did not, and we were left waiting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your last impression and treat you to a truly flawless St. Regis experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our 6th visit to Bahia Beach and we love this resort. One of the nice aspects of visiting resort multiple times is that you get to know the staff. The manager of the resort, Eric covers the entire resort to make sure that all of the guests receive first class service. If you go be sure to introduce yourself as he will be invaluable in accommodating your requests. He managed to get us a last minute table at Fern restaurant on Valentines day and the meal was terrific. If you are fortunate to get upgraded to a suite, you get amazing butler services and if you are lucky to find Glenda as your butler you can trust her to find all reservations. We always feel like VIP guests. There is no casino on the resort which makes it very private, but there are nearby resort casinos. The golf course is magnificent and Alberto Rios, the pro is superb. The golf crew is first rate and Tsoamy at the desk will take care of you. The resort is an easy drive into San Juan. Great P.R. Vacation.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you were so enraptured at St. Regis Bahia Beach, where our daily mantra is for our guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

Your compliments for our staff is most appreciated, as our team is very genuine in their intention to fulfill your every need and make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I came to Puerto Rico as the ambassador of Hungary's historical wine regions and was invited to represent,introduce and taste away my wines in this magnificent place at the Puerto Rico top cellar wine show in st Regis! Fantastic event! Amazing place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you found our lavishly designed resort to your satisfaction, and our staff to be very genuine in making sure that your every need was fulfilled and personalized.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may have the opportunity to demonstrate the superb St. Regis experience you have grown accustomed to.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in the suite with a butler. Paid $1300 a night. No view. Butler was a joke and only brought coffee in the morning. The property and value of the room was like a $300 a night room. Service was lousy. However, the Fern restaraunt was very high quality food and service. But the interior design and outside dining wasn't special. Just another okay restaurant. Its kinda like if you have stayed at one St. Regis then you stayed at them all. This was not different then the Punta Mia property but we didn't get "tourista" at this property like we did in Punta Mita. So I guess thats a good thing.

Room Tip: If its not ocean view DON"T go. Because even the ocean view are not that close to the beach. Ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our distinctive resort. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been appropriately addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your last impression and treat you to a truly flawless St. Regis experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

One word...spectacular. Everything about it makes it worth the 45 minute drive from SJU airport.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in late January . We don't normally stay at 5 Diamond properties, so we were understandably blown away by the St. Regis. The best way I can put it is that the StRegisBB was the first hotel we’ve stayed at where the reality genuinely matched up to the pictures on the website.

Pros
- Tranquilly remote - perfect if you genuinely want the resort experience
- 2 miles of private beach
- a ton of seating at the beach and the pool even when the resort is sold out
- Good activities - kayaking, biking, golf etc..
- Service is the best I've received anywhere in PR or in the Caribbean
-Good gym for this type of resort

Cons - essentially 1st world problems, but didn't cause us to drop our overall from 5 stars
- Hot water always needs to run for 10 minutes before it gets hot
- Internet is spotty throughout the property and in some parts of your room - annoying at times- but they did mention they were having wifi issues.
All in all - we would and plan on coming back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent visit with us.

Your thorough enjoyment of our AAA Five Diamond award winning resort, from our lavishly designed guest rooms and sophisticated pool area, to our world-class dining, is precisely the experience we plan for all of our distinguished guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is really a wonderful resort, which we spent three glorious days and four nights at. At arrival to the truly stunning plantation house, we were offered waters and rum punch. The property is best described as lush and verdant rainforest, with buildings connected by wooden planked walkways with very gentle soft lighting at night. The coquis singing in the evening add to the wonderful exotic jungle feel. Rooms are stunning, we had a 2nd floor corner unit which was gorgeous, the bathroom was spectacular and the lighting very thoughtfully constructed. Room amenities are top notch and luxurious. Spa-quality products and lots of goodies like slippers and loofahs. We loved the furnishings and design of both our room and the plantation house and found ourselves taking notes/pics for future home ideas (my husband asked about a particular piece of furniture in the plantation house when we checked out and the resort was kind enough to send us an e-mail with details regarding the piece).

Breakfast at Fern was delicious (the reviews on the french toast are true, it's unlike anything I've ever had before), but expensive. Note that portions are large, so splitting is a good option. The pool is lovely, however a bit small for the crowd. We never had any issues getting pool chairs as others have stated, and the pool service was excellent. Always someone coming around to take food/drink orders, plus pool attendents to help with towels, moving umbrellas, etc. One day they brought around yummy little shooters of strawberry tea. Our first day, there were some periodic rain showers, and everyone took cover at the pool bar. The attendants were quick to bring around warm dry towels to keep us warm during the brief deluge. We took a nice walk on the beach, but didn't lounge there as it seemed pretty windy and as others have noted, is not the white sugar sand of other Caribbean islands. The beach is well-maintained however, and gorgeous for a walk and scoping out shells.

We ate at Molasses our first night and enjoyed the upscale Puerto Rican food - for our first exposure to mofongo, it was delicious! We spent another night dining at Fern, which was equally good. If you've been to Jean Georges in NYC, don't expect anything on par with that experience, but the food is well-prepared and tasty. We found the value of Molasses and Fern for dinner both to be excellent, given the food quality and service. The pool bar had good food as well, however on the expensive end. Portions again were generous, so we easily got away with splitting items on the menu (pizzas were great).

The spa facilities are lovely - truly an excellent spa with excellent products and pampering (I was sad to decline champagne prior to my massage). I had a prenatal massage that was fabulous - the therapist was extremely knowledgable about what to do and what not to do during pregnancy and kept me comfortable at all times.

We didn't use the golf course or any of the complementary amenities at the boathouse, but the course looked stunning and barely used - I plan on recommending to my golfing friends. Service was excellent in all regards, we loved cocktails on the patio of the plantation house (great drinks, fantastic house-made ginger ale, etc.), we watched the bartender saber off the champagne cork one night and when my husband had a glass of prosecco, they were kind enough to bring me a complimentary virgin cocktail to enjoy with him. Clearly the staff puts a lot of consideration into the little touches that make guests smile.

Here are my very minor critiques:

1. Because breakfast is expensive and there is only one option, it would be nice if the resort had offered a breakfast inclusion with the rate.

2. We found our patio to be somewhat un-usable with only one comfortable chair along with a table and two chairs best suited for meals. A plush lounger would make the patio for welcoming.

3. Food options are limited, and if you stay for an extended period of time, this can be frustrating. To avoid getting bored with the food, we dined "off-campus" for two dinners, two breakfasts, and a lunch. I would highly recommend renting a car so you can easily get to El Yunque and other local sites, plus get the flavor of local restaurants. There is a valet fee, but we found having a car absolutely worth it.

4. While turn-down service was fantastic, it would be nice to have a tiny chocolate morsel or similar ... who doesn't love treats at turn down?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our captivating resort.

We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation!

Rest assured, your valuable feedback has been shared with our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.