We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but expensive, and use the safe in your room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great, but expensive, and use the safe in your room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was one of the nicest properties we've stayed at. Beautiful grounds. Rooms are fantastic. Spacious. Bathrooms are great. Kayaking, paddleboarding, biking are available on site for free. Small but nice fitness center. "No-See-Ems" (mesquitos) are bad - use bug spray in evening. Staff is friendly. Prices are obnoxiously high (a beer was $12, knob creek on the rocks $17, Turkey wrap at the bar was over $20, small bottle of Chivas in minibar was $40, 60 minute massage $180). We were there with a large corporate group and there were 4 separate incidents of theft from people in our group. Tablets, cash, and other valuables were taken. Use the safe in the room!

Room Tip: Use the safe. Use the bug spray. Stop at a grocery store for beer before you arrive - you will sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that you enjoyed the spectacular beauty of our resort, elegant guest rooms, and exciting activities available on property.

We deeply apologize however, for any inconvenience you may have experienced, as this is certainly not the norm at St. Regis Bahia Beach. We take your observations very serious, and as such, are available at your earliest convenience so that you may share your experience directly. I may be reached either via email at terry.bechtold@stregis.com, or 787 809 8000. The safety and security of our guests and associates is paramount to our success, and we address any guest concern with the utmost attention.

Being located in a tropical climate, does pose certain challenges. While some guests are not affected at all, others may find that they are more susceptible to the environment. As such, Starwood mandates an aggressive pest control policy, which includes regularly scheduled professional inspections and, if necessary, elimination protocols.

In terms of our pricing structure, we regret your initial impression, and are working to alter this perception.

On a positive note, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future, so that we may have an opportunity to regain your confidence.

We look forward to treating you to the uncompromising service that our discerning guests have grown accustomed to.

Thank you for the gift of feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    167
    81
    30
    21
See reviews for
186
349
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from 5 days at the St. Regis. We've been to PR several times but this was our first stay at the St. Regis and we will definitely be back. The property is spectacular, elegantly designed and luxurious and is now our favorite place to stay in PR. The beach is stunning and secluded. Above all, the service is impeccable and we were greeted with a smile and by name everywhere we went. The pool is lovely, but we learned that if you show up after 10am, there will not be any chairs available by the pool. Apparently people arrive early to claim their seats but then leave them empty much of the day.

Our room, considered an ocean view, was beautiful and surrounded by palms with a bit of blue peaking through. The private terrace was huge and a very comfortable place to spend time during a rain shower. Excellent food at all three restaurants. The setting and service at all restaurants is exceptional, Fern is particularly fabulous in the morning if you sit out on the balcony with the sea as your backdrop. The house made hot sauce is great- we bought some to bring home!

We both took advantage of the spa; the massages and spa facilities were all top notch. We play lots of tennis and liked that there was a daily clinic offered ($40/person) and the pro was good. There are four new hard courts in excellent condition. One thing lacking however was a tennis center and pro shop, but we were told that is in the works for the near future.

Overall, this property is outstanding and we commend the staff for their impeccable service! Can't wait to visit again-

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you were so enraptured at St. Regis Bahia Beach, where our daily mantra is for our guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

Your compliments for our staff and Remede Spa and our culinary team are most appreciated, as our we are very genuine in our intention to make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise. You will also be happy to learn that we are implementing a new system to facilitate seating in the pool area during the busy holiday.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed there over Christmas break and everything to do with the hotel was fantastic. Although the hotel was remote, we found a company called Luquillo Taxi, which took us to San Juan over 4 times for less than a quarter of the price the hotel offered. We had a problem with SPG, where our room was cancelled and we showed up without a reservation. The hotel graciously helped us and actually gave us a nicer room than we had reserved for the same price, although we had to switch 3 times in an 8 day span. Overall, great stay, its exclusivity and services provided us with happiness.

Room Tip: There are no ocean view rooms really, so all the rooms are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

We are delighted that your luxurious vacation was surpassed only by the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings. It is our absolute pleasure to share with you the distinctive charm of our rooms, pool area, and above all, the superb service from our dedicated staff. Rest assured, your feedback has been appropriately addressed.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may indulge you once again, in another uncompromising St. Regis experience.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We visited the very first time June 2012, love it so much so we returned again this Winter 2012. Love St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort. Great service, beautiful surroundings, amazing pool, top-notch amenities, great restaurants. Looking forward to another visit in 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

How wonderful that you enjoyed our resort so much during your first visit, you have made our resort your second home!

Our desire is that you and your family continue to enjoy our magnificent and seductive surroundings, for many years to come.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis from 12/30 to 1/3/2013. We had a junior suite with two queen beds. This hotel was excellent in every way. The food is incredible. It is pricey but always top quality and well worth the price. We ate breakfast at Fern most every morning and had dinner at Molasses several times. The view from the Fern balcony while having breakfast is sublime! The grounds of this hotel were stunning! I loved walking around the resort and through the trees just to see all of the beautiful flowers and incredible landscaping.
My husband and I played the St Regis Golf course! If you are a golfer, do not miss this incredible and very playable course. I am a high handicapper (playing 3 years) but the course was very comfortable for me to play. So many of those type courses are too difficult but this one was great! Ladies: Get out there and play this one for sure! The view of the beach on the last few holes going up to the clubhouse is incredible! Although we do not have children, this resort was very much family oriented. We went to the boat house and kayaked around the lake and had a great time.
The beach was beautiful but this is not the clean and clear water of other islands. However, again, the area is very tropical and the grounds are beautiful.
My only complaint regarding our stay was the resort's policy regarding the pool chairs. I have stayed at many (too many to count) beach resorts all over the world and this is the only resort that actually condoned and allowed the guests to come down and "reserve" their chairs for the day with a pool attendant even though most people were hardly ever in their chairs after they reserved them! And this pool is not big enough to accommodate such a policy. Having to fight for chairs every morning because I was un-willing to get up at 5:00am to reserve chairs really GOT OLD!. The hotel needs to re-visit this ridiculous policy as it is not working! If the chairs were first come, first serve, then the flow of everyone coming and going would work out better. As it is, people and families are allowed to save 5 chairs and only spend 1 or 2 hours at the pool each day! Ridiculous.
Ending on a positive note though, the staff is superior and all were completely wonderful and eager to help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

If fills us with enormous satisfaction that you had such an extraordinary vacation, and in every respect felt like royalty!
We also appreciate your words of praise for our dedicated staff. Their sense of pride and desire to serve our distinguished guests uncompromisingly are what help make you feel so at home.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 5-day trip to the St. Regis. To say we had a marvelous vacation would be a massive and unfair understatement!!! From the minute we drove through the sweeping, regal front guard gate and through the well-manicured, magnificent sprawling property, we were in awe of the pure luxury that we experienced. Below is a top-level review of the details:

- Food- WOW! There are three restaurants on property. Fern (Jean-George), Molasses, and Seagrapes (which is the more casual of the bunch, with both a full restaurant and also pool-side service). All three were fantastic! Fern serves breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts were quite good, although we generally did lighter fare. The dinners were all incredible. We did not have one bad meal there. Molasses was great too! We had two dinners there, and both were spectacular. The food was exceptional. Seagrapes was good for lunch bites, but we did not find it exceptional overall.

- Room- Though I paid on SPG points, we used a bit extra to get an upgraded Deluxe Room. It was close to the heart of the resort, and though the view was nothing special (there are very few seaview rooms in the property, I am told), the room was fantastic. Both large and also luxurious, it had everything we needed. The bathroom was very well-appointed, with a full-room shower that included both overhead and massage showerheads that work independently. There was even a fully-functional TV in the mirror! Certainly, the room included a safe, and all other basic ammenities that you'd expect.

- Location- We designed this trip to be a true getaway. And the property lent itself perfectly to this! It is truly in the middle of nowhere (in a good way). Getting to any other destination involves an expensive taxi, or renting a car (more expensive). We did leave the resort one day for a trip to Old San Juan, but otherwise, we were willfully trapped at the St. Regis. Fine with us, but keep that in mind as you consider what you want from your vacation.

- Property- This resort has tons of stuff!!! In addition to the obvious amenities (pool, beach, expensive beach drinks, etc), the property includes (for no additional charge beyond the mandatory per-room resort fee) a nature center (for pond kayaking, paddle boarding, etc), bikes, walking trails, golf driving range, a full gym and a yoga room.

- Staff- Honestly the best part of the whole experience, the resort staff was incredible! From the welcoming guards at the front gate, to the cheery and accommodating front desk team, the knowledgable and genuinely eager concierge staff, to the omnipresent pool, valet, and guest services personel that are EVERYWHERE when you need them, the clearest part about your stay will be just how well-designed the training program is. I got to meet both the hotel manager and the property general manager during my trip, both were exceptionally interested in my input and concerned with my confort. A+++++ on this aspect!

Concerns: My wife and I had three suggestions during our trip. The first two admittedly minor concerns are:
a) the property is very dimly lit at night. I assume they are going for romantic, but it borders on creepy.
b) the wifi signal is not that strong in any part of the property. The daily resort fee of $65 (as of Dec 2012) includes resort-wide wifi access. But it was a poor signal, clearly regulated to be minimally useful. This could be improved upon. With that said, I was able to get email and check websites property-wide, as advertised, albeit a bit slowly loading.

The only real significant concern we had was regarding the seats at the pool. Our first two days were right before the droves arrived for Xmas break. It was quiet, and pool chairs were easy to come by. By our third day, it was increasingly difficult. On our final day, I came out to the pool before 8am, and there was not one chair to be had. Note that there were less than five people on the pool deck, but each chair had a towel on it, reserving it for some later time in the day. After complaining to the staff, I was quickly accommodated with a location that was fine, though not ideal. By noon, only half of the chairs had a person in them. It is a very hard thing for the hotel to regulate, but as a guest, I found it very frustrating that there were open chairs that I was not able to use, for no real reason. There should be a system built around this. However, upon speaking with management, there is something in the works.

Overall: This place was awesome! Pool issues aside, we had not one significant concern or complaint, and the few minor bumps were so clearly overcompensated with incredible food, fantastic service, and top tier resort accommodations! We can not WAIT to go back!!!! We suggest if you have the option and want a real getaway vacation, go to the St. Regis in Bahia Beach as soon as you possibly can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience.

It give us tremendous pleasure that you and your wife enjoyed every aspect of our enchanted, Five Diamond resort.

As a seasoned spg traveler, you have a discerning eye, and your detailed observations are truly appreciated.

Your thorough enjoyment of our first-rate resort, lavishly designed guest rooms and pool area, to our world-class dining, is precisely the way we customize your tailor-made experience. I am delighted that we had a chance to meet, and that you felt most welcomed in our second home.

You will also be happy to know that we are implemeting a new system for the pool area, in order to facilitate the availability of seating during the busy holiday season.

We appreciate your kudos for our devoted staff, who take great pride in in serving our guests uncompromisingly.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon, the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I visited this beautiful resort in November. We travel a lot and are pretty picky when it comes to choosing the place to stay. I must say that St. Regis is one of our favorite hotels we stayed at. Rooms are specious and very clean. The staff at the hotel is very knowledgeable and overly friendly. The grounds are very well maintained, and someone is always there to help. Even though they were sold out, we never felt it was crowded. We liked Molasses better then Fern, but I think it's just matter of taste and the food choice. Both restaurants are very nice. I would suggest renting a car and driving to hotel, to escape paying high taxi fare (if you plan on going to OSJ during your stay). With valet cost for 4 days and rent-a-car charges, we saved money by renting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you were so enraptured at St. Regis Bahia Beach, where our daily mantra is for our guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

Your compliments for our staff is most appreciated, as our team is very genuine in their intention to fulfill your every need and make you feel at home in our little slice of paradise.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that we may continue our tradition of extraordinary stays for the entire family.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest Holiday Regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.