We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, Amazing Rooms, Gorgeous Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Secluded, Amazing Rooms, Gorgeous Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the St. Regis. Our room was amazing and huge! We stayed in a second floor room. The pool area and beach are great. The spa is very nice as well. It is definitely a bit out of the way, so really is a destination. You may want to rent a car if you want to go into San Juan, as cabs get a little expensive. Also, make sure to reserve a car for the airport about a day prior to your departure! Overall, this is a great destination resort.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms not on the ground floor. They are generally brighter and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Your brief and perfect description is precisely what we intend for every guest – absolute serenity combined with luxury, and wonderful cuisine. Perfect for a romantic getaway or a week of exploring and adventure on our beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

With the new exit on Highway 66, we are pleased to inform that our resort is now even closer than before - a mere 20 minute, and beautifully scenic drive from the airport.

We hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the best address in the Caribbean.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    177
    83
    32
    23
See reviews for
201
377
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Loved loved LOVED this place! Was worth every penny! Was able to fully take advantage of all the amenities included - kayaking, biking, paddleboarding, golf cart service, tennis (super nice courts!) The towel service at the pool was spectacular, as was the iced tea service. The room was a palace - huge! Loved every nook & cranny - the patio with the lounging furniture, the comfy slippers & robes, the furnishings, the walk-in closet, separate toilet, massive shower area, double sinks, TV in the mirror of the bathroom, free bottles of water...it doesn't end! The gym had a bowl of green apples for people to take as snacks! Luxury at its finest.
The only downsides to this place were the hungry & aggressive mosquitoes & the less than perfect beach. Couldn't complain about anything - every single employee at this resort would say hello or good morning, good afternoon, good evening - no one would ever walk by you without acknowledgement. Upon checkin, every morsel of information was explained, leaving nothing to ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from our vacation at the St. Regis Hotel at Bahia Beach in San Juan. Every single moment from arrival until departure was perfection. The staff was incredible! They knew our names, they greeted us warmly, they were available for anything we needed or desired at any time. The two restaurants, Fern and Molasses, were excellent! The food was incredible!
Our room was marvelous! Huge room with a super comfortable bed, a shower that can fit 15 people, beautiful large tub and a gorgeous view outside. The pool was spectacular! Great food and drinks poolside! And such pleasant staff members ready to assist with any requests!
This resort is located 30 minutes outside of downtown San Juan. Do not come to this resort if you plan on sightseeing. This resort is for those who just want an escape and complete relaxation. It is in the middle of nowhere but when you enter the resort, you are in a small piece of heaven!! We are definitely going back as soon as we can!!
Some extra special staff members were: Ammar at the Plantation Bar, Marco at the Fern and Jose, the very sweet waiter at Fern.
This is by no means an inexpensive trip but it is worth every single penny!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that your family had such an extraordinary vacation, replete with adventure and discovery! As you mentioned, our unique property, a true nature sanctuary, captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting.

Your words of praise toward our staff are genuinely appreciated, and fuels their sense of pride and desire to serve our guests uncompromisingly.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just returned from a surprise birthday trip to the St. Regis Bahia Beach in Puerto Rico. I had no idea where my husband was taking me until we landed. The hotel and location were truly amazing. A very different vibe from the bustling resort areas in San Juan. I am a big fan of luxury, boutique hotels and St. Regis did not disappoint. The grounds, including the beach are beautiful and incredibly maintained, the rooms are elegantly appointed and very cozy, and the bath and shower luxurious. The entire staff was delightful. Very friendly and accommodating. The tragic flaw,and the only reason for the 3 star rating, are the restaurants and quality of the food. (There a not alot of options outside the hotel, unless you drive 30 min or so.) Unfortunately, The Jean George restaurant just does not have their act together. The wait time, even for a cocktail, is long and the food just simply not up to par. The first experience was average at best, and the second (my birthday dinner for 12 friends who flew down as a suprise for the wknd!) was a disaster. Even though we were the only ones in the restaurant, we waited well over an hour for the food to start coming out a few dishes at a time. We had to send most everything back because it was cold or tasteless. That being said, the manager was gracious enough to remove the charges from everyone's bill.Very Classy.The poolside restaurant which is open for lunch was just o.k. buHowever, considering the prices, was also disappointing. Friends had lunch at the Golf Club which they said was good. I really hope the hotel management is able to work out these restaurant related kinks It is truly an amazing place.

Room Tip: Second Floor Ocean Front rooms are the best option, a mix of lush tropical landscape and beautiful b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to our resort with your friends.

We are thrilled that you truly appreciated our beautiful resort, luxurious guest rooms and the sincere demeanor of our dedicated staff.

Although we strive to deliver an unforgettable vacation experience, we regret that your experience at our premier restaurant Fern, did not meet your satisfaction. Your observations are taken very serously and as such, we have taken the liberty of thoroughly reviewing your experience with our culinary team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, so that we may treat you to the truly St. Regis experience you deserve.

Again, thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The good: The setting is beautiful, the grounds, gardens etc. The staff is extremely polite. The bad: Fern restaurant which is the flagship "dining experience" at best is horrible. They are clueless. The food is mediocre (and i'm being generous) and service in non-existent. Our party consisted of 12. Every meal came out at a different time and 3 were sent back. Unfortunately apologies do not solve the problem. The other restaurants were plagued with the same problem - poor service.
Make sure u are aware of the "hotel fee". That too is a joke. If you're playing golf, bring your own bug spray because they will charge you for a can.
Whenever there was an opportunity for a "subtle" charge it was there.
General manage was extremely nice and listened to our complaints. She credited us for the meal at Fern.
My advice, for the money this place charges, you can do a lot better elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Greetings from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit at our resort.

We are most pleased that you enjoyed our magnificent tropical resort and the genuine warmth of our staff.

Please accept our apologies that your experience at our world-renowned restaurant, Fern, fell short of your expectations. This is certainly not the norm, and we may assure you that your thoughts have been thoroughly addressed with our staff, in a concerted to avoid this situation from reoccurring.

We do hope you will reconsider and return to St. Regis Bahía Beach, so that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back and reverse your last impression.

Should you wish to share any further comments, we are available at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Food service very poor. Salty soup in day one at dinner. Day two burned veal chop at fern restaurant. Day three burned slides at seagrapes restautant. Breakfast was horrible. I order benedict eggs for two days hoping to get better the second time and it was the same poor food. Oatmeal hard as cement. Not a 5 star service. Rooms are extremely beautiful, clean and big. Pool was beautiful. We love the boat house!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I Travel this week to PR and found this Hotel..OMG.. the best hotel ever! Relaxing! Quiet place! Biiiiiiiiiiiiig ROOMS with a wonderful Bathroom! Thrust me this is the heaven! the only complain is the price for food! VEry, Very Expensive! to travel to this hotel you take route 66 in 19 min you are there! the gps said 35min... but is all straigt ahead!. FREE Internet, Fitness Center Access, KAYAK, BIKES , Tennis(equipment available at no additional cost), Pool towels(Electronics BOOKS and Ipods), Beach, Water just ask! YEs is all free! well you already pay in the stay! enjoy the best place that i already visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Starwood, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.