We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property for Quiet Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property for Quiet Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the St. Regis for three nights. We rented a car, which I would recommend since the hotel is not within walking distance of anything. The property is beautiful and huge, which makes travel by golf carts a necessity to access some parts of the resort.

Check-in was easy and on par with check-in at other St. Regis hotels, with a welcome rum punch. The staff was quick to respond and friendly but also gave guests privacy. Some recent reviews noted they seemed disorganized, but we didn't encounter this.

We were in an upgraded garden view room, which had a large deck where we enjoyed sitting. The room was of a good size and included a bar area with mini fridge and sink, walk-in closet, and enormous bathroom with soaking tub, two sinks, rain shower, and TV. The Remede toiletries are nice. Of note, they do not provide slippers (unlike most St. Regis hotels), so bring your own.

The $60 resort fee includes wifi (very helpful!), use of kayaks and non-motorized water sports, tennis, etc. Unfortunately, we weren't told of the s'mores making by the beachfront fire pit, which apparently only occurs once a week. We didn't play golf, but the course is beautiful. The pool area is spectacular and wasn't crowded at all. Lounge chairs are comfortable, and the pool layout is private. The beach area is nice and secluded; although well-groomed, the beach itself isn't the nicest on Puerto Rico. The tides were rather high, too. We enjoyed taking a kayak out on their lake and playing tennis. Tennis rackets and balls are included in the resort fee, but the rackets were of awful quality and the balls were wet, so if you are an avid tennis player, bring your own. This really surprised me considering it's the St. Regis and you're paying for this amenity with the resort fee. Also, the tennis pro had zippo personality and acted like we were bothering him by playing tennis.

The food was very good. Fern was wonderful for dinner, and we had the tasting menu, which we enjoyed. Not the best Jean Georges restaurant, but it was quite good. For breakfast, however, it was just so-so. We also had dinner at Molasses, and it was good but not amazing.

The resort is near Ralph's supermarket, so we stopped there for snacks. We also drove to the Luquillo kiosks, which was fun. It's also close to El Yunque rainforest. Going back to San Juan, we drove along the coast through Pinones, which I would recommend.

Overall, we had a great stay and would return. It's only a 30-minute drive from San Juan and much more relaxing than the bustle of the San Juan area.

Room Tip: Request a building near the pool. Some are far from the main building/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and appreciated our well appointed guest rooms, designed to capture the essence of Caribbean plantation-style luxury, yet have all of the modern comforts of home.

You seemed to have encompassed the entire guest experience, and we enjoyed your description as you relived your memories, exploring our diverse selection of tours and activities, and left you with an unforgettable vacation experience.

We very much value your suggestions, and have taken the liberty of sharing your feedback with our staff in an effort to further enhance your future visits.

Thank you for the gift of feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    224
    96
    34
    25
See reviews for
249
462
13
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leldel@optonline.net
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If driving there, you go off highway PR 3 which is a typical highway like any in the U.S. Stores, malls, gas stations etc. You turn left off PR3 onto a side road that goes through a mid to low income little community and follow through a cattle ranch about 1-2 miles. You then reach a 1/2 mile stretch that is tree lined and enter the St. Regis/resort area. I could not believe the property, just absolutely beautiful. The service provided by everyone is NUMBER 1 in my book. The pool, beach, and views stunning. I will be going back for sure.

We ate dinner only once at the resort (Molassess - Excellant) its very expensive but we had a car and were able to find local restaurants close by that provided great local fare and very reasonable prices. If you pushed your budget to go to this resort and need to save a few bucks. Stock up on beer and drinks at Ralph's (nearby off PR3). We had an ocean front upgrade because it was off season and the second floor balcony was a great place for cocktails and pickies after a day at the beach or pool. I play golf but the course is very expensive. I played at Rio Mar Ocean Course a couple of times and less than half the price and it was very nice. If going to El Yunque, you are about 1/2 hour to 40 minutes away but be prepared for rain and long hilly walks. FYI - $22 a day valet for a bringing a car, mandatory.

Room Tip: Ocean Front of Course but traveling in the off season often will lead to an upgrade. If bring a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you had such an extraordinary vacation, complete with adventure and discovery! As you mentioned, our unique property captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting.

Your words of praise toward our staff, fuels their sense of pride and commitment to serve our guests uncompromisingly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bahía Beach in the near future, so that we may have another opportunity to showcase our distinctive St. Regis hospitality.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, South Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The experience here was outstanding. It is one of the best resort experiences I have ever had. The prices a very expensive on everything. You are limited on where you can eat but the food is pretty good. The resort is small where you can enjoy and feel like you are not overwhelmed by people. I would definitely go back. Great for couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had such and an uncompromising experience, and that you genuinely enjoyed the intimate atmosphere we have designed throughout our resort.

Our staff is very passionate about creating the true St. Regis experience – a meaningful journey with hand-selected service.

We are pleased that you look forward to returning and hope to welcome you back soon, to the St. Regis Bahía Beach on the beautiful island of Puerto Rico.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude to all of the St. Regis staff for a very special day and experience. Due to a combination of the impeccable grounds and the people of the St. Regis Bahia Beach, my fiancee chose this spot for a very special event in our lives - getting engaged! While all of the staff was extremely helpful and courteous throughout our stay, there are a few in particular who went above and beyond that we would like to mention:
Concierge Desk: Rosie, Christine, and Didi
Front Desk: Guillermo and Brian
Molassas: Fatima and the head waiter (who's name is now escaping me but I know he's a Mets fan :))

Thank you again for being a part of this special time for us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our enchanting resort.

Congratulations on your engagement! How delightful that your fiancé chose our tropical paradise as the dramatic setting to begin your life's journey together.

Your kudos for our staff are truly appreciated, as they are sincerely dedicated to our guest’s absolute enjoyment.

We do hope to have the pleasure of indulging both of you again (perhaps a destination wedding!), at the St. Regis Bahía Beach, the Best Address in the Caribbean.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

From the moment you set foot in this property, you know that you are surrounded by luxury. The hotel is something less than 2 years old. The hotel is approximately 40 minutes from San juan via PR-66 Toll Expressway. As you pass the gate entrance where you have to identify yourself, you will see lush tropical vegetation very dense and well kept.
The lobby entrance is beautiful and there is no counter type hotel registration. Instead, there are desks where the guest is cordially and royally received and explained all the diverse ameniteies of the property. There are plenty of workers handling the valet parking as well as many bellman. Checking inn was a snap. Rooms are beautifully decorated, extremely large with the highest quality of furnishings. At night, the lobby entrance is something to behold with ponds and lighted gas lanterns.
Sevice, freindship and quality of employees was outstanding. I would say it appears they were specially chosen. It was in fact one of the friendliest places we have ever stayed. Of course, for such special facilities, you can expect prices to be very expensive but well rewarded for the extra dollars you pay.
We ate in all of the restaurants in the hotel which are highly recommended. This way, you can try the variuos cuisines available. We ate for breakfast brioche french toast which were outstanding and one of the best that I have ever had anywhere.
This is a place where I woud return again and again.

Room Tip: Units are detached buildings with samllest room aprox 640 sq ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

We are quite passionate about pampering our guests, and your detailed description, from the magnificent natural beauty of our resort, to our luxurious guest rooms and sumptuous cuisine, are all part of the St. Regis customized experience. As you can see, our devoted staff is quite genuine in demonstrating our distinctive hospitality!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the St. Regis Bahia over Columbus day weekend in a 2 br. suite. (A suite with a connecting room) and almost everything about it was fantastic. The food was good, property was beautiful, and the facilities were fabulous. However never have I been to a hotel with worse service. Nothing on the entire trip happened without an issue. Room service took an average of an hour for each order, much of the staff was surly and talked back when asked for something, and worst of all almost everything was departmentalized. We were told to dial 0 to get butler service which would take care of any need we may have but that was never the case, every phone call involved at least one transfer with hold music and when you finally reached the correct person they hardly understood what you were saying. We rented a couple cabanas everyday which were never ready on time and when we asked the pool staff to do something for us we often had to ask at least 3 different employees before one took it upon themselves to do something as mundane as get us towels. The hostess at Fern (the hotels restaurant) seemed overwhelmed and when we asked to be seated responded as if we were asking for a miracle. Our complimentary morning coffee from our butler arrived earlier then requested, cold, and in to go cups everyday leaving us wishing we didn't have it at all. That said the property was gorgeous and the golf course was a nice one for a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience regarding your recent visit to our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for your justified disappointment regarding service in general, especially in our food & beverage areas. This is certainly not indicative of the sophisticated level of expectations that have become the St. Regis trademark and legacy.

When you arrive at the most bespoke address in the area, it is understandable that you would want to be seduced by the beauty of your surroundings, and we regret that your experience fell short. Rest assured, your generous feedback is crucial for us to improve in these areas, and has been addressed with the appropriate departments, in order to avoid this from reoccurring. We welcome any further comments that you may have.

On a positive note, as you point out, the exquisite beauty of our natural surroundings, make for a very magical location indeed, and we are very proud to be the first Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary in the Caribbean, and that you genuinely appreciated our intimate and peaceful, tropical atmosphere, as well as our Robert Trent Jones, Jr. world-class golf course.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back, so that we may have the opportunity to reverse your initial impression and treat you to the uncompromising service that our distinguished guests have grown accustomed to.

We appreciate your candor, and would like to thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to address your concerns.

Again, our apologies.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My hubby and I spent 3 nights here in July. Hotel is about a 45 min drive from the airport. A rental car is a must because there are no cabs at the hotel and the location is a bit remote. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the staff and met with the concierge. We are SPG Gold members and booked with SPG points. The hotel was not 100% occupied but they told us that there were no upgrades available for us the first night. They said they would contact us to let us know if we would be upgraded for nights 2 and 3. We never heard from anyone for the entire duration of our stay. We were a bit disappointed by this because a typical St. Regis prides itself on customer service and satisfaction - we were forgotten. I had better customer service at the W Vieques - Gold status was honored with an ocean view upgrade on the spot. Same hotel family but vastly different experiences.
Aside from not granting us an upgrade, our stay was pleasant. The room was spacious. The best part of the room was the bathroom and shower area with Remede toiletries.
Pool area gets high marks. The beach was nice as well but the staff made us return their beach chairs at exactly 6pm. Not sure why.
Food - Molasses, hands down, the best restaurant on the premises. Fern for dinner was a let down (don't order the avocado pizza) but redeemed itself for breakfast. Sea Grapes was average.
Tip - for really good authentic Puerto Rican breakfast, drive 5 minutes to La Familia Bakery 2 for the best coffee, pastries and egg sandwiches!
Another foodie tip - be adventurous and drive to the Luquillo Beach food kiosks. Another reason you need to rent a car!
Overall, we had a great time. Just a few kinks in customer service. I would recommend this hotel for families with kids (there were lots of kids at the resort) and for people who want a remote location away from the glitz of San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Allow us to preface with an apology for the miscommunication regarding your upgrade. It is never our intention for you to feel slighted in any way. Although it may have appeared that our hotel is was not filled to capacity, this could be due to a variety of factors, not excluding the continuous routine maintenance required to fulfill the elite standards which our distinguished guests so well deserve.

Your valuable comments have been shared with our staff, and are a crucial part in enhancing our unique guest experience.

On a positive note, we are delighted that you were still able to revel in captivating resort! As well travelled SPG Gold members, you have a discerning eye, and we certainly appreciate your thoughts and genuine appreciation for the diversity that our property has to offer.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, to the St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.