We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort, pricey meals, overall very good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort to your Saves list
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic resort, pricey meals, overall very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Did quite a bit of research on PR resorts before stumbling across the new St. Regis Bahai Beach. If you are looking for a secluded resort with immaculate rooms and grounds, and very friendly service, then look no further. Overall, we placed it at or near the top of the list for our family vacations. Some specifics:
Pros:
* The hotel: Driving into the St. Regis facility gives you a great sense of things to come: lush, tropical landscape, the Jones golf course, the Plantation House -- all gorgeous. The rooms are huge and well appointed. Bathrooms are as grand as other reviews state. We had an oceanfront room, ground level and next to the Plantation House and the pool, which was terrific. Very convenient.
* The staff: All very friendly and accomodating. Big kudos to Pedro, our waiter at Seagrass, and Xavier at the front. Everyone was friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
The beach: Bahia is immaculate. Yes, the waves are choppy and the water isn't Bahamas blue, but my wife and kids still enjoyed body surfing for hours.
* The golf course: A challenging Trent Jones course. The greens had just been aerated and sanded, which meant my round was more challenging than for most, but I could still appreciate it. Pricey, but worth the experience.
Cons:
* Meal prices: The restaurants are all good, but probably not deserving of the resort prices. Our dinner entrees at Fern were disappointing (undercooked salmon), but breakfast was very good. Molasses for dinner was better - excellent mofongo --but then it was closed for two days due to the slow season. Seagrass, the casual poolside restaurant, was consistently the best but still tough to stomach $100+ for a casual lunch for 4. While we wouldn't stay there, try Palio at the Rio Mar resort for dinner. Same resort prices, but excellent Italian food. For better, cheaper PR cuisine, try the Kiosks in Luquillo -- La Parilla was the best!
* Meal service: Despite the overall excellent service, meal service was consistently sloooooow. We were on vacation, and in no rush, but -- since it is the low season and the resort was relatively empty -- we expected our meals in a reasonable timeframe. Not sure if this was due to low staffing, but be prepared to wait.
Overall:
It's clear from the reviews on TA that word is starting to get out about this place. The fact that it has only been open since Nov 2010 contributes both positives (new, immaculate) and negatives (a few service kinks). I expect that they will be put to the test when the high season begins and more people flock to the resort. Despite some setbacks due to the low season, it was the ideal time to stay if you like to avoid the crowds. We were sorry to leave and hope to be back soon -- can't imagine staying anywhere else in PR.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room for convenient location, noy necessarily the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.

How wonderful to know that you completely enjoyed our remarkable property. As you point out, our rich, tropical sanctuary, combined with elegant rooms, is the perfect setting for a fabulous vacation.

Your compliments for Xavier and Pedro are truly appreciated and very rewarding to our staff, as they are genuinely dedicated to our guest's fulfillment.

We are however, concerned with your experience regarding service, and truly apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Your comments will help our staff live up to the St. Regis tradition of impeccable service, and have been addressed accordingly.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon to our Island of Enchantment, Puerto Rico.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    195
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
221
408
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As an SPG Platinum member, I stay in hotels 3-5 nights a week and can say by far this is one of the best properties for a host of reasons. The grounds are simply immaculate and the service is stellar. From our greeting upon arrival at valet through our departure, I could not have asked for a better experience. Make sure you enjoy the rum punch upon arrival. Yum!

Though we were in a St Regis Suite, the "ocean view" is limited on the ground floor due to the vast, lushness of the resort. If you're going anywhere beyond the resort like Od San Juan, rent a car...worth the expense. You must dine at Fern for dinner, outstanding. We even ordered from the Fern breakfast menu for private dining one morning on our spacious terrace. Ge prepared to share your terrace with small friendly iguanas. If you want a lazy day, check out a DVD from the collection.

Highly recommend staying in a suite for access to butler service. Cannot say enough about those guys...from unpacking the luggage to pressing garments, delivering coffee and tea at all hours of the day, what a treat.

Only downside was the ocean. Awesome stretch of beach, but miss the sparkle and clarity of turquoise water in the Caribbean. The pools more than make up for this which is where we spent most of our time. All dining options (Molasses, Seagrapes and Fern) are superb. Enjoy the Greek salad with grilled prawns for a light but filling lunch.

Looking forward to our return visit. Headed to Kauai and this experience promoted us to book the St Refis Princeville. Safe travels.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite to get butler service...ocean view suite, unnecessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our property.

We are elated that you so thoroughly enjoyed your time spent at our captivating resort.

As a well travelled SPG Platinum member, you have a very discerning eye, and it is rewarding to us that our master plan for your enjoyment meets your satisfaction.

We hope you visit us again soon, so that we may treat you and your family to another uncompromising St. Regis stay in our little slice of heaven.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

So many things went wrong which is such a shame because the property Is so beautiful but even that didn't overshadow how horrible the service was.... We had reservations at molasses only to find that we were not on the list...mind you my fiancée was supposed to propose to me this night but that put a damper on the evening for him, he did however end up proposing to me in front of the main house on the grassy knoll, one morning we could not get breakfast bc of some private party going on, and we were not properly dresses ex fiancée did not have short with him cause we were just going to lie on the beach and have breakfast, we never got towels at the beach, the guy was setting up the umbrellas for people who weren't even there but yet we are laying there patiently waiting to get towels and he never came, so we thought let's go for a walk on the beach and surely when we get back we will have towels on our chairs...nope! We were gone for 30 minutes on our walk, I literally had to go over to the guy and say what is up? He said we are understaffed and he had to set up for the party guests! So ridiculous, when we checked out the lady asked how our stay was and I said well not the best and I left it at that and she never even asked what went wrong! Beware if you order 2 slices of cake a 2 scoops of icecream it will be $80 for room service but yet at the bar the menu said $12 for cake and ice-cream,

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Please allow us to apologize for the mishaps in service. The issues you point out are very concerning to us and certainly not representative of the polished standards that St. Regis is known for. We take this type of feedback very seriously and can assure you every detail you point out is being addressed. If you wish to share any further comments, we do appreciate your input, and would love the chance to speak with you at your convenience.

In an effort to regain your confidence, we do hope that you will return so that we may have the chance to display a genuinely flawless St. Regis experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to St. Regis Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

Great three day stay at the resort. Obviously a 5 star resort so I am not going to complain about the high food and drinks.

Pros
Most polite and helpful staff I have ever been around. The TV in the bathroom mirror was insane. Great lounging area by the pool and beach. Tennis and kayaking activities are nice. Food was great (only ate breakfast). The spacious room and layout was perfect. Did I say the staff was first class!

Cons
The daily activity fees are a little much. Should be on an "as used" basis. The poolside bar closed at 5 pm?? If you venture out, decent drive to anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very happy that you appreciated our plantation style guest rooms, cleverly designed to include even hidden conveniences such as the bathroom TV concealed in the mirror!

Our desire is that you and your family enjoy all the comforts of home within the most magnificent surroundings.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Bahía Beach in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The resort is very well kept and the boathouse staff is very friendly! The Smore's and Champagne activities on Sat. night are awesome! The two items I would say I was not happy with are related to all staff or policies not being consistent. When we arrived at 4PM on Friday we had to wait about 2 hours for our room (mind you they did upgrade us to a St. Regis Suite as part of the SPG Platinum benefits). No big deal... but this came into play on Sunday when I was going to check-out. As a platinum member you are allowed to check-out by 4PM (if available). Well, when I requested the late check-out I was told that it was not available. This upset me because I had to wait for my room because somene was allowed a late check-out but when I requested it it was "not available". The hotel was probably at 20% occupancy. The fact is that they probably did not want to have to keep the cleaning staff late on Sunday. The other item that upset me is that my children were told that they could receive hot chocolate in the room as part of the Butler service. The boys ordered a few times and to my surprise I got billed for about half of them. When I questioned at check-out they said it was not complimentary. Which is fine... but why were we told it was and why did we get a few free and they charged a few. So my main complaint here is that the policies and service are not consistent. Overall I was very happy as I stayed in a St. Regis suite for basically free... but I cannot see why someone would pay the 1000+ per night to stay here. The room did have a musky smell, so I am guessing noone really stays there much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed our Smore’s and Champagne rituals. These are part of the many St. Regis rituals intended for guests of all ages to enjoy the ‘art of living’.

We also wish to thank you for sharing your comments regarding service inconsistency. Your thoughts are very valuable for us to share with staff and improve in these areas.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon, so that you may continue our tradition of memorable stays for the entire family.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just returned from a 7 day family vacation. The development is amazing. Extremely well laid out with miles of walks and trials throughout. Check in was smooth but as others have said the room was not ready when we arrived at 3:00. No big deal as went off to Sea Grapes for a fantastic lunch (the Sushi rocks). We were in ocean front suite #1013 (It faces the ocean but several hundred yards from the actual beach) the room was large and well decorated. The walk in shower is first class. We too had trouble with the HVAC, the room always felt damp and we kept bumping the tstat lower but it never removed the moisture from the air. After several days we needed to have the pillows changed because they had a musty smell to them.

Housekeeping needs a check list as we were often left without wash clothes, tissue and other essentials.

The pool is 24/7,huge and perfectly clean. Being summer it was like bath water, chairs are everywhere, excellent towel and beverage service too.

The 3 restaurants are awesome, great service and great food.

There are snack huts at the 10 hole of the golf course and one a mile down the beach. The hours vary so check with the hotel. (Note the concierge did not even know the beach snack shop existed) so be prepared to read and explore. The golf hut serves a lighter less expensive breakfast and lunch.

Overall this is a excellent resort that still needs to work on the details. The staff tries hard but there doesn't seem to be anyone really in charge. For example: I would call in to have the car brought up and it only showed up one time out of five tries. These are basics they should be dialed in now that they have been open for 10 months.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our property.

Allow us to apologize for what was a less than exemplary performance. We do strive to deliver only the finest service, and your issues with communication and service are most concerning to us and are being addressed thoroughly.

We are however, extremely pleased that you indulged in our world-class restaurants and spaciously designed guestrooms.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We did a family vacation with my two children and wife the first week of August 2011. Had a phenomenal time - we stayed for 5 nights on points in one of the one-bedroom Astor Suites. These are the 'garden view' suites vs. the ocean view. I would recommend, as we in building 9 had a beautiful tree/jungle buffer between us and the pool, so pool was not too close not too far, and you could see the ocean in the distance. Suite itself was phenomenal, incredibly appointed, and the Butler service was excellent.

All staff were extremely helpful, and my kids enjoyed getting golf cart rides to and from the main building about as much as anything else on the trip. Staff extremely attentive. Very nice pool area with 3tier pool, property is brand new and it shows.

It is hurricane season right now, but had beautiful weather and because of offseason felt like we had the resort to ourselves.

Only knock on the resort is that food choices were quite limited. There are 3 restaurants on property, but only one of these was open for dinner for 1st half of week because of off-season. So, choice was Fern or private dining. We found food at both Fern and Molasses very good. If your kids are chicken tender and burger kids, definitely get the Kids Pass which is flat rate per day. if your kids eat normal food, you should pass so they can eat some more interesting and healthy choices along the way.

So, had a phenomenal time, great staff (like always, smile and treat them with respect and you'll get the same), and wonderfully beautiful property. if you're looking for a place where you can just sit by the pool for a few days and don't need to be entertained with lots of busy activities, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Recommend the garden view suites - better deal on points, equally appointed and shielded in the jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srbahiabeach, Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach -

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that your family had such an extraordinary vacation, replete with adventure and discovery! As you mentioned, our unique property captures the distinctive personality of Puerto Rico and its enchanted tropical setting.

Your words of praise toward our staff, fuels their sense of pride and desire to serve our guests uncompromisingly.

Our intention is to always offer the finest vacation experience and choices, even through less than favorable weather. Your feedback is extremely valuable in order for us to modify and continue fulfilling the expectations of our customized service. Should you have any further suggestions, do feel free to reach out to us directly. We welcome the opportunity to speak with you.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Bahía Beach, in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.