We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.... don't believe the bad reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pepe's

Don Pepe's
Next to Entrance for Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort | Km 29 on PR3, Rio Grande 00924, Puerto Rico
787.888.7373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 Restaurants in Rio Grande
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Authentic Puerto Rican & Cuban Food. Many people write about it in their reviews of the Rio Mar in Rio Grande, PR. I would love to write a review about this place as it was the best Mofungo (fried mashed plantains) we had in PR (and we tried it in 4 restaurants).
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food.... don't believe the bad reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had dinner here a few weeks ago and it was delicious... appetizers were delicious and the dinner was great and the portions are generous!! Come hungry or you'll be taking a doggie bag with you. The waiter was great and attentive. Can't wait to go back on my next trip!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    71
    34
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in the PR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Honestly not sure what the bad reviews are about. My boyfriend and I were dying some decent food so we just randomly stopped and ate this place on Memorial Day weekend and it did not disappoint. We had great service and the food was wonderful! I had the chicken stuffed with plantain and it did not disappoint. We also had the flan for desert and it was wonderful. Prices seemed good. Sangria was very tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The mufongo was so good Went twice once got the shrimp the next time was crab Both were spectacular! The service was great and the people were very friendly Could have eaten there every night with no complaints Miss it already!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

You can't tell from the outside that this little place not only has clean and cute decor, but the nicest people and great food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Not happy with service or food. The pork was dry but the beans were sooo good! We waited 20 minutes for our waitress then my husband had to get up & ask where she was because we were waiting. The girls said the kids meal & soup. Then my daughter got flan & the cup was about $4.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pepe's also viewed

 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Don Pepe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pepe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.