We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Wheeling, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The rooms are fine, nothing fancy but have awesome views. The beach is wonderful and the pools are great as well. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for beach side, newsly remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our resort. It gives us tremendous pleasure that our staff made you feel so welcome. I will share this wonderful review with the team; they enjoy knowing our guests have memorable experiences at our property.

We look forward to your next visit!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    1,833
    1,097
    580
    288
See reviews for
1,661
1,662
75
540
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

From the drive in to the very friendly and helpful bellman, everything about this resort is top notch. Ocean side rooms have a beautiful view and are very clean. Many rooms have recently been updated while the facility goes through a renovation (most of which is unseen). 11 restaurants/bars provide choices for everyone. If time allows rent a car for the day and drive to rain forest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent stay with us.

From reading your notes I can see you definitely took advantage of some of our 11 restaurants, oceanfront pools, and pristine ocean in front of the hotel. We are much honored to have such assets and privileged oceanfront location by the El Yunque Rainforest and feel much honored to share them with our guests. It certainly fills us with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of our associates at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar, we thank you once again for sharing and staying with us.

We look forward having the honor to serve you again in the near future!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Loved my stay at the Wyndham Rio Mar in late April, 2014. The newly renovated room was beautiful and overlooked the pool and beach. The grounds were immaculate, the pool and beach were not overly crowded, the food at all the restaurants was very good and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. What more could anyone ask for? I was there for business but stayed a few extra days for vacation. In fact, several people on business with us changed their flights to stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is beautiful and staying in a renovated room a must. However, hotel restaurants cannot handle the high volume of hotel guests. Better to eat off property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We support Trip Advisor because we think it is an outstanding communication vehicle for our resort.

First of all, thank you for your review and the gift of feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and facilities.

As we surely appreciate your comments regarding our Food and Beverage options, the experience you describe is not typical or consistent with the produce and service we deliver. We are very proud of the restaurants and work very hard to deliver on our guests’ expectations.

I hope you decide to stay with us in the near future.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Outdated, dumpy rooms, but the grounds, pool and the beach are great. Good location, close to ports for Culebra, Vieques as well as marina for water activities. You can feel trapped on the grounds, but there are plenty of restaurants and shops near by. I would recommend getting a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the room inconvenience, but know that we are currently undergoing a renovation and I am sure you will be very pleased with the result.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean National Forest, The Westin Rio Mar Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico presents the ultimate Caribbean resort experience! This luxurious resort is secluded on a 500-acre estate framed by lush green mountains and a mile of palm-lined beach. From the moment you arrive, you are reminded that The Westin Rio Mar Beach sets the world's standards for hospitality service. Richly appointed tropical luxury makes each guest room a welcome, private haven. Spectacular views of the sapphire blue Atlantic or the majestic El Yunque, the Caribbean National Forest, complement the island-styled décor in our 600 guest rooms and suites, all featuring Westin’s renowned Heavenly Beds® and Heavenly Baths®. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, plush fabrics and preferred amenities surround each guest with privileged comfort. A beachfront paradise for recreation, the resort offers an array of pleasures from championship golf and extensive watersports to night-time excitement at the Rio Mar Casino. Amenities include two beachfront pools, two world-class golf courses, the exclusive Mandara Spa with fitness center, 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, water sports center, scuba diving, bicycling and a variety of specialty shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Wyndham, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.