We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay, but a lot of potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just okay, but a lot of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was a bit disappointed in the Rio Mar. Upon entering the complex you are bubbling with anticipation because the drive into the resort through the golf course and by the villas is exquisite. The exterior of the hotel is amazingly beautiful. They put a lot of effort into keeping up the exterior and the grounds and it shows- it is a beautiful resort. The rooms, however, are just okay. Ours smelled of mildew the entire time. Now, being from NC, I have stayed in hundreds of hotels at the beach and understand that with heat and humidity comes mildew. However, this one was particularly mildewy. Additionally, there were a number of stains on the walls and blood on our comforter. I know they cover the comforter with other bedding, but I believe anything with blood on it should immediately be thrown away. Our phones didn't work either, and yes, I said phones. There were two phones in our room and neither worked. We wanted to order room service on our last night because we were staying in since we had to leave at 5 AM for an 8 AM flight and had to go to the front desk to have them call in our order. The rooms were all in all, okay, but need a good cleaning and overhaul of the fixtures (lamp covers were dingy and one fell off when we turned the lamp on). The parking is also a real pain. You need a car to stay in this area of PR, but parking is difficult. We parked in the same lot the whole time until the last day because the parking attendant told us that we needed to make sure we always parked in that lot to avoid being charged twice. But, on the last day, we go to park there and that same attendant tells us that the lot is now closed for guests and to park in the deck. We go to get into the deck and the machine is out of tickets. We drove around to the front and spoke to the valet supervisor to get someone to replace the tickets. Finally, as we try to leave the lot at 5 AM after checking out and in a rush to the airport, the attendant insists on seeing our bill to verify the parking charges. Had the front desk told us we would need it upon checkout that would have been fine, but it wasn't mentioned so I had to get out of the car, unpack my suitcase and find the folio before being let out of the deck. As other posters have mentioned, one of the pools was closed, therefore, EVERYONE used the quiet adult pool the whole time. There were hundreds of people in that tiny little pool every time we walked by. We referred to it as the "cesspool" because people were literally jammed right up on top of each other the whole time. I was looking forward to being able to sit by the pool relaxing in a cabana, but this felt more like the YMCA. The tiki bar was nice and in a good location, but needs to stay open longer, possibly offer a drink service at the pool and on the beach, and play Caribbean music and not top 40. My only other complaint is the front desk staff. At one point there were a dozen people in line at the front desk with only one staff member helping us. The bellhop had to go get additional help and when he opened the door to the office, we could see 8-10 staff members sitting around talking. This is not the service quality of a high end resort. Now on to the positive......The chair and umbrella service on the beach was nice and they offered plenty of chairs. I found the food to be very good and the service at the restaurants was fantastic. Yes, it is expensive, but hotel food is always expensive because you are paying for the convenience. The location is extraordinary. You're only a half hour from San Juan, right across from El Yunque and just minutes from beautiful serene beaches (in addition to the beach at the resort) and delicious food options. I'd recommend the kiosks and beaches in Luquillo. The resort is on the Atlantic Ocean, therefore, while it is a beautiful beach, it isn't the calm "Caribbean" water you may be seeking. The beach at Luquillo is on a sound if you're looking for the serene blue water. As noted before the exterior, grounds and common areas are exquisite. Based on those areas and the location, this resort has the potential to be amazing, but unfortunately it just falls short in some key areas. I rate it as average because that is the feeling I'm left with after thinking about all the shortcomings. It's not resort caliber yet, but I believe they have the potential to get there with a little work. I would recommend the hotel just because of it's location and affordability, but always remember that you really do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Candice,

Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are sorry if you were disappointed in some service areas, we will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the needed improvements. We are delighted to announce our pool area renovation is now completed for the enjoyment of our guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,693
    1,025
    548
    282
See reviews for
1,524
1,545
71
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Rio Mar as Wyndham owners - just when Wyndham took over. The staff was fantastic. We're used to rooms w/kitchens - these were regular hotel rooms. Very nice in size & clean! Maid service was great - they always had a smile. The grounds were magnificient. Beach, Ocean & pool spotless. Pool bar was soooo much fun everyday. There's always activities going on around the pool. We also went to Old San Juan, the Rainforest & swam in a waterfall. Love tjis resort & island. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful
beachfront location, our nearby attractions and to hear our staff provided such friendly service during your stay.

We look forward to serve you again in the near future,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

When I was checking into hotel the lady who was checking me in was very rude.The room smelled like mold and the walls had water coming doen them. WhenI brought this to thr front drsk attention she only said ok.This was the worse experiance I have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent
stay with us. I apologize on behalf of the associates at Rio Mar and understand this was a
disappointment; I will share your feedback with my operations teams with a strong
commitment to make the needed improvements.

Looking forward to your future stay,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel had beautiful scenery, the beach was great and the staff was nice. Juan P. at Marbella restaurant gave us amazing service and kept us coming back every morning. He made the best cafe con leche EVER! My only dislikes of this resort were that the main pool was closed so everyone had to use the small pool which ended up being mostly kids. All of the food was very good. I only wish there was transportation to go off the resort that didnt require a cab ride of $30 or more dollars. Needless to say I felt a little trapped since leaving the resort meant spending pretty much all of the funds I brought with me. Over all I give my experience a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamEXEC, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Distinguished Guest,

Providing excellent guest service is a characteristic of our property and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. On behalf of our team I would like to express our gratitude for your kind words about our staff and our property. I apologize for the pool closing for renovation; it’s never a convenient time but must be done in order to maintain in excellent condition for our valued guests. We truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Danny Williams, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

After reading the negative and recent reviews on Wyndham we opted to reserve a room at the Doubletree in San Juan because it got great reviews. Huge mistake. The Doubletree was in the center of a ton of traffic, our shower flooded into the worlds smallest bathroom and the glass door into the main room from bath was off track and wouldn't close. The walls were paper thin and you could hear everything. The manager, Michael, was great and offered to upgrade us but we wanted to go elsewhere. We headed towards El Yunque in god awful traffic and could do nothing but laugh at the way people drive here. Scary. We drove for 2 hours and went to 2 other resorts that were booked up before deciding to go ahead and try Wyndham. It was 2:30 and day one of our weekend trip...half gone. This resort is AMAZING! The room is spotless with a great view of El Yunque. The beach great with huge fun waves. We don't use the pool so it was fine that the family pool was closed. We would rather pay more for a nice..clean restaurant than play hit or miss locally. We did try a few local places and weren't impressed. Didnt feel the prices here at the resort were any higher than normal resort prices in the states. We took a drive through the rainforest and it is very pretty and it was very close. .. about a ten minute drive. The people here at the resort are very very friendly and that includes the guests. We were not as warmly welcomed at the Doubletree. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Wyndham and we are some picky butts with high expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you chose our Resort as your vacation destination and even more thrilled we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed our beautiful beachfront location, the nearby attractions and to hear our staff provided such friendly service during your stay.

We look forward to serve you again in the near future,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean National Forest, The Westin Rio Mar Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico presents the ultimate Caribbean resort experience! This luxurious resort is secluded on a 500-acre estate framed by lush green mountains and a mile of palm-lined beach. From the moment you arrive, you are reminded that The Westin Rio Mar Beach sets the world's standards for hospitality service. Richly appointed tropical luxury makes each guest room a welcome, private haven. Spectacular views of the sapphire blue Atlantic or the majestic El Yunque, the Caribbean National Forest, complement the island-styled décor in our 600 guest rooms and suites, all featuring Westin’s renowned Heavenly Beds® and Heavenly Baths®. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, plush fabrics and preferred amenities surround each guest with privileged comfort. A beachfront paradise for recreation, the resort offers an array of pleasures from championship golf and extensive watersports to night-time excitement at the Rio Mar Casino. Amenities include two beachfront pools, two world-class golf courses, the exclusive Mandara Spa with fitness center, 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, water sports center, scuba diving, bicycling and a variety of specialty shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.