We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Chicago
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent four days at Rio Mar and had a great time. It was a great location for excursions. Only ten minutes from the rainforest! We had a rental car so it was easy to get around (self parking was $15). The resort was beautiful and clean. Everyone we encountered at the resort was very nice and helpful. The beach was clean and never very crowded - and we were there during spring break. Food was a little pricey, but not more than a high end hotel in Chicago. We got the breakfast package, so that helped a lot. We filled up in the morning and ended up eating only one other meal a day. The only improvements needed are the slow service at Iguana's restaurant (but it could have been an off night) and the noise in the rooms. You can hear pretty much everything going on in the hallways and in the next room-nothing earplugs can't fix. Other than that, it was a perfect vacation. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome. We look forward to your future stay with us!

Kind regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    1,694
    1,028
    549
    282
See reviews for
1,524
1,545
71
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel mid March 2013 with my husband on business and pleasure. The staff was wonderful, the beach EVEN BETTER; the pool area is nice it has an adult only area and a separate family one !! The food was pricey but okay. I enjoyed the casino and the tours offered (Papo was great!!!). This hotel is a little dated; HOWEVER, you could easily miss those things unless you looking for it. The only draw back to this hotel is its location. It is PRICEY taxi ride into the city so your forced to either stay onsite or rent a car. When I return to Puerto Rico I'd stay again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination on your trip to Puerto Rico. We are so delighted you enjoyed your experience. We are concerned about your thoughts regarding our prices, and have taken the liberty of sharing your comments in an effort to improve this perception.

Thank you for your review,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We returned March 25th from a week long stay at this Wyndham. We chose this facility based upon our travel agent's recommendation that the resort had a lot of activities for our family to do. (We also get a room for our two 20+ year old daughters so we really like to play as a family and interact with guests.) While we found the rooms to be nice (beds were excellent), the restaurants good and the staff very friendly, this stay reminded us of a hotel not a resort. Guests vacated common areas late afternoon and did not return. I had to beg the staff at the child care facility to let me keep the volleyball out after 6 p.m. There were no evening shows or activities (or a nice gathering place for guests to hang out after dark short of a bar inside the air conditioned hotel) short of a pianist in that bar one evening and Karaoke another night. Our daughters actually said they got more sleep on this vacation than a normal work week back home. We chose not to stay in a condo or hotel because we wanted the fun interaction with other travelers, but short of a small group of us that stayed in the hot tub after dark a couple of evenings, this Wyndham did not accommodate or promote guest interactions and was really more of a hotel than a resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rio Mar as your vacation destination on your trip to Puerto Rico. We have a variety of activities you can enjoy at the Resort, which is also located near to many unique attractions. The Resort is located in front of the beach, has 2 swimming pools where you can enjoy an array of activities, 13 tennis courts, 2 championship golf courses, a fitness center, a spa, kids club, a casino, water sports and 11 restaurants and entertainment lounges if after all these activities you get hungry! Also, nearby you can enjoy El Yunque Rainforest, Carabali Rainforest Park which offers: horseback riding, ATV rides through the Rainforest, mountain biking, go-kart speed track and canopy zip lining. In the close town of Fajardo, you can experience the Bio-Bay: this unique bay contains up to 720,000 single-celled bio luminescent dinoflagellates per gallon of water. These half-plant, half animal organisms emit a flash of bluish light when agitated at night. Old San Juan is just 20 minutes away if you take Route 66. So, we have everything for everyone to enjoy!

Hope you stay with us again,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean National Forest, The Westin Rio Mar Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico presents the ultimate Caribbean resort experience! This luxurious resort is secluded on a 500-acre estate framed by lush green mountains and a mile of palm-lined beach. From the moment you arrive, you are reminded that The Westin Rio Mar Beach sets the world's standards for hospitality service. Richly appointed tropical luxury makes each guest room a welcome, private haven. Spectacular views of the sapphire blue Atlantic or the majestic El Yunque, the Caribbean National Forest, complement the island-styled décor in our 600 guest rooms and suites, all featuring Westin’s renowned Heavenly Beds® and Heavenly Baths®. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, plush fabrics and preferred amenities surround each guest with privileged comfort. A beachfront paradise for recreation, the resort offers an array of pleasures from championship golf and extensive watersports to night-time excitement at the Rio Mar Casino. Amenities include two beachfront pools, two world-class golf courses, the exclusive Mandara Spa with fitness center, 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, water sports center, scuba diving, bicycling and a variety of specialty shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.