We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, but we DO NOT want to buy a timeshare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks, but we DO NOT want to buy a timeshare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico. On the advice of a friend who had visited last year, I booked outside of the San Juan area as he said that’s what they would do if they went back again (they are actually planning on getting married in PR in 2014). The Wyndham Rio Mar had fair reviews on Orbitz and Yelp and was within our budget for a five night, six day stay so I went for it. We truly needed a nice break to escape DC and job stress, and we absolutely got that. But I wasn’t thrilled with the staff at the hotel. The only people that were friendly and helpful (at the concierge desk, at the tour and travel desk, at the towel hut) were the Wyndham reps that were trying to sign us up for special “invite only” lunches or breakfasts to learn about timeshare options. The reward for sacrificing two-three hours of your vacation were tempting, spa credits, room credits etc. But that isn’t what we were in Puerto Rico to do. The rep at the concierge desk even told him we were going to be wasting our money on spa services by not going to his lunch. Note: I don’t think we wasted a dime on our 80 minute Swedish massages, those were great. We were asked each day by at least one person to sign up for a timeshare meeting. Thanks, but no thanks. We also found the waiters were very inattentive at both breakfast and lunch at Marbella and dinner at Shima. However, Lisa at Iguana’s Pub at the golf course on our second to last day was very sweet and attentive. We wish we had gone up to the golf course earlier in the week. The staff at the Dragonfly tour desk was so unhelpful and unenthusiastic that we went upstairs and booked tours on our own based on Yelp reviews (which we should have done all along). FYI East Island Excursions did a great catamaran snorkel tour. I also paid a little extra for an ocean-view room, which ended up being an end, corner room with distant ocean views, mountain views, and a view of the service entrance to the hotel. I wouldn’t pay extra for that again without clearly saying “ocean front” room. Otherwise, the room was always clean after maid service and it served our purpose for relaxing. We did greatly enjoy lounging by the adult pool and the proximity of the hotel to El Yunque. The hotel was also very close to the food kioskos where we enjoyed monfungo and other local treats (too much fried food!), and chatting with the owner’s son. If/when we go back to Puerto Rico, I would rather stay closer to San Juan to partake in more nightlife and dinner options. As a young couple without kids, I think that is more our scene. That being said, I think the Wyndham is a fine option for families that are not planning to leave the resort much. Or families in the market for a timeshare.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    1,891
    1,118
    589
    289
See reviews for
1,734
1,718
78
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (972)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

First, the grounds are beautiful and the workers are exceptionally wonderful, friendly and honestly doing their best.

We were there over the president's day weekend, we didn't expect the world, but they sure made it hard for us to spend money with them.

The pool and pool bar area is tremendously understaffed to the point where you have to hunt someone down to get a menu and order everything at once because you may not see your waiter again for a very long time. It's not by any means the fault of the staff, but management really needs to consider giving the staff a hand with additional bodies on deck. You could see the stress the waiters were experiencing, as they could only do their best. Such an easy thing to fix, but really makes me not want to go back.

The grounds are beautiful but again, because it is understaffed by the pool area, there little bits of trash here and there left behind by other patrons that didn't get picked up. The staff is exceptional, but they do need more help.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Wilmington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice resort. Pleasant staff.

Our housekeeper (Marcos) was the best we have ever encountered. He was proactive in his service. (He noticed that the tea bags were used and not the coffee. He placed extra tea bags in dispenser for the rest of the week) He also introduced himself and asked if there was anything he could do to make our visit more enjoyable. The room was spotless every day after his cleaning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Your compliments to Marcos are appreciated. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My sister got married here 5 years ago and we were there for about 3 days, just got back today from our 2nd trip there and had a great time again with our kids. The staff was very nice and helpful. Food was good with decent dining options(Richie's is a must, they provide free shuttle to their restaurant that is right outside the resort, high above with great views of the ocean). Weather was great. Beach incredible. Golf courses were in great condition. This resort is definitely our favorite in Puerto Rico. It's not a huge resort, but big enough so theres lots of people and kids around to play with.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1012 and our friends in 1010, ground level over looking the main pool area. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A solid 4 star resort with beautiful beaches, pools and amenities. The location is pretty remote if you want to do some sightseeing, you will want to rent a car which is available in the lobby ofthe hotel. Only 5 minutes from El Yunque that was a plus. About 20 minutes to the bio bay if you wanted to do some kayaking. The prices for food and restaurants are pricey for what you get. $24 for the breakfast buffet. The drinks were $10.50 each, so we purchased a bottle of rum in the gift shop and made our own cocktails. The golf courses seemed in good condition and hydrated. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean suites are worth the extra money. You get a much larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I traveled to this hotel resort for a convention, so the rate that I paid was very reasonable. I say that because I cannot comment on whether this would be a good value for the recreational consumer, given I don't know what the rates are.

However, the facility is excellent, with a grounds that are maintained to the nth degree. There are two golf courses, the Ocean and the River course which are both excellent, not crowded, and have their own characteristics that make them a joy to play. The pools are wonderful, particularly because there is a quiet pool (for adults, and enforced!) and a children's pool which is larger with more amenities (water slide, service, access to snack bar). Both are in a very beautiful setting, with landscaping and coconut palms everywhere. The beach is very nice, and just steps away from the rooms and the pool areas. The beach is serviced by staff, providing everything one could want (chairs, umbrellas, cabanas-at extra cost, and service from the bar). The ocean is very clear and slopes at a shallow angle from the beach so swimming even for kids is not a problem, though I wouldn't let them go in without an adult because waves can be large, and there is always the possibility of undertow in an ocean environment.

The rooms are great, large and having all of the amenities you would expect. The facility is older, so some of the upscale amenities that you may have seen in other newer properties are not present (marble baths, etc.) but the bathrooms are large and have everything that you could want in a hotel room. The rooms have HD TV's of an adequate size, and the channel offering is fairly extensive. Furnishings were getting a little tired, but everything worked, and was adequate, and the beds were as good as I have experienced anywhere.

There are every type of offering that you would expect in a resort/convention hotel environment: casino, convention center, business center, store, car rental, excursion desk, helpful concierge, vast lobby, valet parking (slight premium over self park, but worth it). the staff genuinely tried to help with every request that I had, and I never had a less than prompt response. They were extremely helpful, and ready to please, and gave tips on how to do and what to do that were valuable to the enjoyment of your stay.

There are many, and varied eating alternatives on the property, none what I would call inexpensive, but some that are reasonable like the Iguana Pub at the Country Club (free resort shuttle to this). A lot of nearby restaurants have shuttles, though. Eating off property is an adventure, but rewarding. There are a great many options relatively nearby, and I would suggest doing your homework before you arrive. Using this website is a good resource for that. The kiosk area in Luquillo is an experience, and you will be rewarded with great food if you don't let the appearance drive you away: the burger shack and pizza place are wonderful!!

Having said that, here's the downside: It is a VERY long way into San Juan, not so much in distance (25 miles) but in time and cost. Traffic on the road is unbelievable, and doesn't let up much whenever you go. It costs $75 each way by taxi, and the shuttle to the airport (18 miles) isn't much less. The main issue is it will take hours to get there, no matter when you go. Making a flight is an exercise in proper prior planning, and returning a rental car can be an experience in and of itself. I would say that you need a car at this resort to really get anywhere (shopping, attractions, food alternatives), but you are not going to enjoy that experience. I've driven everywhere (even Paris) and I have never seen some of the things that I saw driving in Puerto Rico. The roads are crowded, drivers are distracted and aggressive, the roads are mostly narrow, not well marked, and road signs are few and sometimes incomprehensible. Suffice it to say that it is a challenge and you better pay attention, and have your best game day when you leave the resort property. There are things very close to the property that are world class, don't miss opportunities (rain forest, eastern beaches, phosphorescent bays).

Overall, the property is a good place to go. You really wouldn't have to leave to have a great experience, but having the option to see some of the area is preferable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


Warm regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean National Forest, The Westin Rio Mar Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico presents the ultimate Caribbean resort experience! This luxurious resort is secluded on a 500-acre estate framed by lush green mountains and a mile of palm-lined beach. From the moment you arrive, you are reminded that The Westin Rio Mar Beach sets the world's standards for hospitality service. Richly appointed tropical luxury makes each guest room a welcome, private haven. Spectacular views of the sapphire blue Atlantic or the majestic El Yunque, the Caribbean National Forest, complement the island-styled décor in our 600 guest rooms and suites, all featuring Westin’s renowned Heavenly Beds® and Heavenly Baths®. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, plush fabrics and preferred amenities surround each guest with privileged comfort. A beachfront paradise for recreation, the resort offers an array of pleasures from championship golf and extensive watersports to night-time excitement at the Rio Mar Casino. Amenities include two beachfront pools, two world-class golf courses, the exclusive Mandara Spa with fitness center, 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, water sports center, scuba diving, bicycling and a variety of specialty shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.