We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make the best of it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Make the best of it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Go prepared if you've read the reviews. keep in mind that paying $220 doesn't include much other than pool use and towels.. but there really isn't much to do other than the pool, the beach and maybe the gym.

Most guest bring food from outside the hotel with them, I saw lots of people with personal coolers, and their own drinks and food at the pool. I can understand being that per person if you were to have breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel you would need at least $75 per person per day. And that would be being cautious.

There are 5 on site restaurants, Palio (Italian - Fine dining up to $45 per plate) ,Marbella (Puertorrican - casual up to $30 p/p) a japanese restaurant under $30. There is s poolside restaurant that has an amazing menu and is more affordable but is almost never open. The have the pool bar open most of the time. There is also a small cafe next to the casino were you can get decent coffee for about $5 and lost of pastries. There are also two other at the country club.

The thing is if you have all your meals outside of the hotel will take up all of your day, meaning you spent $220 a night to not enjoy the hotel.

The way i see it. Either come ready to pay $75 dollars a day p/p or Bring it with you. You might want to research and see if there is any place near that has delivery.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. If you are with kids Ask for a room overlooking the iguana feeding pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    1,667
    1,011
    539
    278
See reviews for
1,504
1,511
70
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Before staying at the Rio Mar I read many poor reviews from people that reviewed the resort on this site. Well now here is the true review. The food was excellent and very large portions for the money. I am a huge eater and still couldnt finish there meals. The hotel staff was very friendly and took care of there guests to the fullest. My wife and I got paint on our shorts when we were taking pictures in the front of the resort because nobody put wet paint signs up. I informed the manager and he gave us $100 dollar credit towards dinners and also gave us are room refrigerator for free which was a $ 60 dollar savings. Not a bad deal for ruining $40 dollars in shorts. People also stated the rooms and resort were not clean. I did not notice anything that was dirty and the house keepers were also very friendly and did a great job cleaning. Some people stated there was mold on the curtains and rust on the furniture. Well the reason things like that happen is due to these guests leaving the patio door open with the air conditioning running which causes the room to condensate due to the high humidity outside. Over all the resort was beautiful, excellent service and will for sure go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I just checked out yesterday and the trip is fresh in my memory. I dont normally write reviews, but wanted to do it this time as I was really dissatisfied with the service and the experience as a whole.

Several things make me write this, from the

- Poor and very very slow service of food and drinks on the beach
- dog feaces by the swimming pool (completely unhygenic)
- 17% resort fees (not sure what this is for..service was crap)
- unfriendly and unhelpful parking lot attendant who didnt have a credit card machine and made me go back up after express check out over the phone (17% resort service fee???)
- rooms not very clean
- first aid bandaids not being delivered to the room and they made us buy bandaids in the giftshow
- make 'as much as money as possible' culture without providing value
- older property and needs some renovation
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
- great view and great location - seems like the hardware is there, but the software (management and employee culture) needs serious overhauling.
- until that happens, i will not stay at a wyndham again

50 mins for a mango margharita on the beach?? doesnt make any sense... simple fixes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were looking forward to posting on this sight that our stay had been just wonderful, but as with the other reviewers we experienced the same issues with staffing issues and lack of cleanliness.

We are not demanding and we can overlook alot but not at this place. We got a fabulous rate but even with that we didn't feel we got our money's worth. The rooms were not clean. I don't believe they have mopped the floors since the hotel was built. I wouldn't have let my worst enemy walk on them barefoot. The shower curtain was soiled. The sun came in our window in late afternoon and reflected off the door to the room. Should have kept the curtains closed as it was the most disgusting thing to see..........don't believe the back of the door had ever been wiped down. Thousands of fingerprints, dirt, and grease. Towel issues were the same as others, sometimes we got them and sometimes we didn't. We requested all new towels one day and when we came back to the room late at night we found 2 washcloths and that was it! No kidding! We had just returned from a day of hiking and we were not happy.

We tried to eat at the Tiki Hut 3 times and finally gave up. On Thursday night we arrived to find it closed at 6pm. Our fault since we hadn't checked the times. They told us they would be open until 7pm on Friday and had a great menu so we came back on Friday at 5pm. We were then told they weren't serving the entire menu only "appetizer type" food. Told us to give it a try on Saturday when they would have everything. Ok so we tried again. (Don't ask us why we just did.) We found out they really don't have a "full menu" the items we tried to order which are printed on the menu weren't being served. Apparently they are only offered at special times. We gave up on that one. We decided to try the Asian Restaurant instead and guess what? It's closed on Sunday evenings! We ate at the Mirabella twice and the food was ok, but the service was not. No smiles, friendliness or professionalism. The best experience we had was at the Italian Restaurant. The servers were great and the food was fantastic. We were the first couple seated after the restaurant opened that night and rather than give us a table at the window we were put behind a wall and post. REALLY? Are you serious....not acceptable! They did move us to a new table. We ate all of our breakfasts and two lunches down the street at a bakery called Rico Pan or Panaderia Bakery. It's on Highway 3 just west of the road to the Rio Mar. Even though it's called a bakery they serve hot breakfasts. Try the omelet sandwich for breakfast and the puerto rican sandwich for lunch. Best place ever and favorite of the locals.

The best time we had at the hotel was on Friday night when they had local Puerto Rican couples dancing in the lobby bar and we watched them for most of the evening. They were fantastic and appeared to be having so much fun!

The grounds were beautiful and the beach was wonderful. But that just doesn't make up for the lack of service and cleanliness. If you had a great time consider yourself one of the lucky few that did.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I'm not going to knock the views and the beauty of this place but damn its expensive. Some staff was super nice, some came off as incredibly rude. They get your money regardless if you take their shuttle for $150 round trip per/person or get your own rental car w/ a $15 a day parking fee. Drinks, bring your own booze unless you want to drop $100 on 4 drinks at the bar. Also during the week all of the 4 bars in the hotel all close by 11, which was a complete shock. Finally there is a sneaky charge they get you with when you check out $18 per/day for cleaning regardless if you actually used the cleaning people or not. The overall experience was good but beware of the hidden charges, if you sneeze to hard they might charge you....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed @ Rio Mar May 12th - 16th. I was a little concerned based on some of the reviews that I read. I was not as disappointed as I had expected. It's obvious that the resort is fairly old; however, Wyndham has done a great job in maintaining the facility, inside and out. The room was nice, I felt comfortable. Maid service came daily. Some of the staff members could benefit from taking some people skills classes or some etiquette classes from the staff at the Tiki Bar, Juan in the restaurant or from the gentleman who does the morning power walk. Things to know before you go: 1) the resort charges for EVERYTHING and it's not cheap. 2) you definitely need a car unless you plan to spend your time exclusively on the resort or pay the crazy tour fees. 3) If you are from the states, your GPS might not work in the area of Rio Mar.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms where the balcony face the activity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile



The all staff was very friendly, the room is clean and very comfortable. The food is average, but I don't understand why on the pool and the tiki bar the menu is from Hawaii...... Hello we are on P.R, the food on the kiosks are better and also more flavor. The bartenders are amazing on the TIKI BAR Victor, Ivan and Xavier they have and excelent customer services skill and are a very hard worker.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean National Forest, The Westin Rio Mar Beach Golf Resort & Spa in Puerto Rico presents the ultimate Caribbean resort experience! This luxurious resort is secluded on a 500-acre estate framed by lush green mountains and a mile of palm-lined beach. From the moment you arrive, you are reminded that The Westin Rio Mar Beach sets the world's standards for hospitality service. Richly appointed tropical luxury makes each guest room a welcome, private haven. Spectacular views of the sapphire blue Atlantic or the majestic El Yunque, the Caribbean National Forest, complement the island-styled décor in our 600 guest rooms and suites, all featuring Westin’s renowned Heavenly Beds® and Heavenly Baths®. Rich, natural woods, Italian tile, plush fabrics and preferred amenities surround each guest with privileged comfort. A beachfront paradise for recreation, the resort offers an array of pleasures from championship golf and extensive watersports to night-time excitement at the Rio Mar Casino. Amenities include two beachfront pools, two world-class golf courses, the exclusive Mandara Spa with fitness center, 11 Har-Tru tennis courts, water sports center, scuba diving, bicycling and a variety of specialty shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.