We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who puts breaded fried onions on pasta bolognese?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palio

Palio
6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
+1 787-888-6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 37 restaurants in Rio Grande
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Indulge yourself with superior service and exquisite cuisine in our Italian restaurant. Palio combines an intimate atmosphere within an elegant setting for an unforgettable experience.
Westbury, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Who puts breaded fried onions on pasta bolognese?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Since the bad hotel reviews were wrong, we ignored Palio's. The appetizers (ossubuocco and calamari) were fine. Our meals were inedible including the pizza, YUCK! Would never go back. Just thinking about the onions makes me nauseous.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    29
    18
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to Palio's a few times before. I heard that the lasagna was back on the menu and went with a group this past week end. Totally disappointed. The food was bland. Will try it again in a few weeks and see if it has improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Pretty food but really overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and i made reservations here for Valentines day because we were staying in the hotel. The appetizers and the desserts were amazing. If we ever go back i would just go for coffee and dessert. The main course was just ok. The problem is everything is ala carte which is ok but the pricing is out of line. Use your coupon for free dessert to defray some of the cost!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Service is slow. My husband has the filet mignon, he ordered medium rare and it was done. I had the snapper and it was overcooked for fish. Very disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lords Valley
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went to Palio with another couple twice this week. They offered a selection of 1/2 price bottles of wine. Both nights they did not have the Argentinian Malbec for $20 and gave us an upgraded Malbec for the same price. Both were excellent.
The first night we started with a calamari for the table. It was crisp, plentiful and with a great sause. The women each has ossibucca appetizer as a main course which they raved about. It was so good they repeated last night. I had a 3 fish plate of salmon, tuna and cod with pasta and it wasn't great. My friend had the steak which was expensive, $44 and he thought it was excellent. He works in NYC and goes out alot so he should know a good steak when he has it.
I had it last night and mine was great. The best meal in PR in the last 10 days.
In summary, the food is expensive and very, very good I would recommend Palio for fine dining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palio also viewed

 
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.