We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some people don' t know when they are well off.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan at Thatcham

The Swan at Thatcham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Swan at Thatcham to your Saves list
The Swan at Thatcham
Station Road, Thatcham RG19 4QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Thatcham B&B and Inns
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some people don' t know when they are well off.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, 20/02/12.
I must say that after reading some of your reviews I was very apprehensive.
My room was number 6, yes it is small, compact even, but nontheless, clean and self contained, with more than adequate facilities.
What exactly do some people want for their money, you pay 4 * you can expect 4*, and I do stay quite a lot in the 3,4 and even 5 * establishments.
The staff were friendly and polite, the food was cooked exactly how I wanted it, I can only think that some people who complain here are professional moaners.
Enough said, rant over, and yes I would recommend this place and definitely stay here again.
GrumpyIvor

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    11
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
22
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Sraff in pub very unhelpfull/unhappy. stayed in rooms outside. modern but dirty. stayed for two nights. the room wasnt cleaned or new towels, bed unmade, no tea/coffe top ups. because they hadnt een in the room whilst I was out. the rooms themselves are modern, BUT with dirty walls,light didnt work bathroom. Didnt eat in the pub, if they cant be bothered to clean the rooms then they cant be bothered to clean anything else.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thatcham hotels

Lancs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

A superb location directly across from the station. The rooms were in a separate building, each with their own front door, like little cottages. Although very small inside, they were extremely clean and had everything you need - nice comfy bed, modern bathroom with lashings of hot water, flat screen TV with sky, hairdryer, tea/coffee, lots of mirrors and power sockets etc. The small size did have one disadvantage - I could hear the residents in the room above banging about, which woke me early in the morning. Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and was excellent, freshly cooked and a lots of choices. The staff were very friendly and efficient. I'd have no hesitation recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed for 1 night on way down to south coast. Service ok, food nice, the only thing that really let's this place down is the noise that can be heard from room. Trains, cars, lorrys and chavs getting drunk.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Swan- Thatcham
We managed to eat and Pay £31-00 with no more than 30 words from the staff approximately a £1 per word of service. They were as follows
“Sit where you like”
“What can I get you?”
“How would you like that cooked”
“Thirty one pound s”
“Cheers”
“Chicken tikka”
“Can I get you any sauces?”
“There you go”
It was close to the worst service I have ever had, I could have been on fire and I do not believe the staff would have considered engaging me in conversation, which was a real disappointment.
The food was average, but when the chef came out of the kitchen to discuss something with the bar staff, I felt that I should stop eating as it seem that he had been wearing my dinner prior to it been served, his crisp grey/ black/ white (at this stage I believed I was losing my sight) as there was so many different shades of Dirt on his Chef Whites (Use Loosely) , both my partner and I Left , unnoticed by the staff of course as I believe they were going for the world record of stacking as many dirty glasses as humanly possible, on the bar so you could actually get to the bar. I would recommend that if you are ever driving in the Berkshire country side and come across the SWAN DO NOT STOP!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We visited this B & B because we were going to a family wedding. The noise from the upstairs rooms was appalling, couldn't sleep all night. The morning after we had all to get up early to shower etc and discovered there was no hot water at all. The person in charge was unhelpful and said this happened regularly, no telephones either so we could not ring through to the main building to report it. On checking out the receptionist was unsympathetic. Would never go back here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

After reading reviews on this hotel i wasn't really looking forward to going, however it is absolutely delightful! The Swan is literally dead opposite Thatcham train station, providing easy commuting to and from Reading. I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. It was quaintly decorated, very clean and cosy. The room wasn't massive but you don't need a mass amount of space when all you are doing is sleeping and showering there. The beds were comfy and all the ammenities required were supplied. Lovely little touches like tea/coffee/biscuits and ear plugs, as well as Neutrogena soap, shower gel and shampoo were provided. The food in the ajoining hotel was lovely and the service from all of the staff was faultless. Breakfast in the mornings was varied and you can choose between normal cereal/yoghurt/fruit or a cooked breakfast which was perfectly cooked every time. The only down side, and i wouldn't place much emphasis on it, is that there is a tendency for it to be a bit noisy as the Swan is on a main road but its really not that much of a big deal. Also, the rooms are not within a building as such, you open the door from the outside and it opens onto the room, meaning the only thing separating you from the outside is a single door. I still felt safe though. Definite recommendation!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan at Thatcham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan at Thatcham

Address: Station Road, Thatcham RG19 4QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Thatcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thatcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old style coaching Inn, situated next to Thatcham Rail station and the Kennet & Avon canal. Ideally located for Newbury races as well as travel into Reading, London or to the southwest. The pub has Six bedrooms in converted blacksmith stables, four doubles and two twins rooms all en-suite. The restaurant & bar serves traditional ales as well as food all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan at Thatcham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan at Thatcham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.