We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
571 Northwest Point Road, West Bay, Grand Cayman
+1 345-526-0128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Harvard, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was there when it first open, they knew how to treat people with Great Service, What a Fantastic View

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clark, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great light food - caters to gluten-free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is an awesome little spot! The Greenhouse has delicious food and really caters to the gluten-free, organic, or paleo friendly crowds. We went here for lunch and had a very nice time. The service is kind of limited but the view is so nice that it doesn't really matter how long it takes, though if you're in a hurry it might not be a great option. The personal pizzas were awesome (gluten-free included), the smoothies were refreshing, and the sandwiches were quite good. Everything is fresh and fulfilling. Excellent spot for a light lunch.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious fresh and locally sourced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Chef Jen does a superb job in putting out great tasting food in her kitchen which overlooks a beautiful ocean view. She takes great pride in all she makes and pays special attention to those of us who have special dietary needs. Her willingness to accommodate our constraints were beyond what we ever expected. Her wish to make her restaurant a place where people can go and eat well and not worry about ingredients,nor worry about food sensitivites was incredibly refreshing. Her gluten free pizzas were delicious, as were her homemade salad dressings and the moringa tea she gets from a local tea maker. I love that she uses as much local ingredients as she can and helps this island to be sustainable. I highly recommend anyone visiting Grand Cayman to make a trip out to see her and take advantage of what she has to offer. Great place to know about especially for those with gluten sensitivites, but don't limit yourself if that isn't your concern. It is just a lovely place to go where great food is made and a beautiful view can be had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food with an amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Little restaurant with amazing view.
The chef is trying to get as much fresh and local produce as possible and they make lot of gluten-free and other speacial food.

Make sure you bring your snorkeling gear. The restaurant is right next to a Divetech diveshop where you can snorkel, dive etc.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An accidental discovery we treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Wile staying on Grand Cayman February 34 to March 3, 2013, my husband, I and our two friends happened upon this food gem. We were walking and a woman walking a dog said hello. We asked her if there was anywhere nearby to eat. She told us to go to the Green House. If she hadn't, we wouldn't have gone there. And our trip would have been less for it. Chef Jen obviously loves her place with passion for fresh and natural foods. It is small and not easily noticed so you need to go looking for it.
We sat outside on her porch and saw the most fantastic sunset while enjoy fantastic food. The view is part of the stop, but you'll come back to try more food. The menu is limited, but if you understand she is cooking farm-to-table (or sea-to table) and works with local, whole, good foods as much as possible, you know it is a great menu.
Food is priced wonderfully and you'll snack for betweek $2 and $6; and get a meal for $8 to $11 CI.
The venue would be a fantastic one if someone was seeking a perfect spot to be wed.
On-site are beautiful condos to rent as well as dive masters. This is a great spot for shore diving as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.