We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yumyumyum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Kitchen

Heritage Kitchen
Boggy Sand Rd (Near the 4-way stop), West Bay, Grand Cayman
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in West Bay
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Local Cayman food at it's very best. Recommended by all who have eaten there. Written up as the place to go to in the Cayman Islands by the New York Times.Heritage Kitchen lies snuggled next to Boggy Sands Road in West Bay, serving some of the best local food.Fresh fish fry, fritters and fish tea are some of the most popular dishes.Diners eat at wooden tables outside the tiny restaurant or can sit on the sea wall a few feet away and watch the waves.The restaurant is behind the Heritage shopping centre at the four-way stop.Open Wed/Thu 10 pm - 6 pm Fri/Sat 10 pm - 10 pm Sun 10 pm - 6 pm Barbeque Day!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yumyumyum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Got there 5 minutes to closing. Had a very good meal of kingfish with all the trimmings. I'd go back again and again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    37
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Located West Bay behind a grocery store. The location is on the beach. Food is excellent local fare, fish tea, coconut grouper and BBQ on the weekends. Seating is outside with few tables but worth the try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visit Grand Cayman 4 or 5 times a year. We always eat at Heritage Kitchen at least twice every time we visit. Sunday's barbecue is the best in the Caribbean. The Cayman style grouper is excellent. Dining is outside and ocean front. For casual dining it is one of the best on the island. Islee's plantains are so good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“I was expecting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This review is written on behalf of 4 people (a couple in mid sixties and a couple in mid 40s and 50s). We ate here on Sun 5/26 at about 2pm. We arrived at Cemetary Beach around 11:30 and went snorkeling. Then around 1:30 my husband and I walked to the Heritage Kitchen. We walked 'there' on the road and we walked back on the beach. The road walk was about 15 min and the beach walk about 10 min.

I had wanted the conch soup but she said she didn't have any. We ordered pan fried grouper, the cayman style mahi, the pineapple mahi and the curry chicken. We also ordered several lemonades. The lemonade was very tasty. When we got bac to Cemetary Beach we all tasted each others food. I collected all 4 peoples feedback to write this review. The pan fried grouper was very good. The curry chicken was tasteless. We make curry chicken at home and its spicy and favorful and were very disappointed with this version since it was so bland. Both of the mahi's were good, the cayman style was better than the pineapple. I'm the only one that tried the homemade hot sauce and it was 'ok'. The plantains were great (we live in Florida and eat them often) and they were like the ones we are already used to. The rice was ok. None of us enjoyed the hot potato salad side dish. My dad is the only one who enjoyed the fritter. Mine was hard, cold and tasteless.

The service was GREAT. The lady was social and friendly and when she found out we had walked there, she offered to drive us back to Cemetary Beach since we were carrying so much food. We declined, but I felt that was a very sweet offer.

I truely wish I would have liked the food better since I know this place gets wonderful reviews and I was hoping to love it like everyone else does.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Island food at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great lunch here. Fresh food, and beautiful ocean view in just a small drive-up place. Great fish, and homemade lemonade were so good. Doesn't look like much from the road, but a great find.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Kitchen also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Heritage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.