We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Kitchen

Heritage Kitchen
Boggy Sand Rd (Near the 4-way stop), West Bay, Grand Cayman
+1 345-939-6671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Local Cayman food at it's very best. Recommended by all who have eaten there. Written up as the place to go to in the Cayman Islands by the New York Times.Heritage Kitchen lies snuggled next to Boggy Sands Road in West Bay, serving some of the best local food.Fresh fish fry, fritters and fish tea are some of the most popular dishes.Diners eat at wooden tables outside the tiny restaurant or can sit on the sea wall a few feet away and watch the waves.The restaurant is behind the Heritage shopping centre at the four-way stop.Open Wed/Thu until 8pm,Fri/Sat until 10 pm and Sunday until 8 pm which is our Barbeque Day!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited Heritage Kitchen after being recommended and reading about it in tour guides. We weren't very hungry so shared an appetizer of Conch (pronounced Conk) fritters and they were delicious. The lady who served us (possibly owner?) was really friendly and came over to chat to us. The views are amazing over looking the ocean. Will try to visit again, maybe on a Sunday when they do BBQ

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    50
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go here! Eat! Be happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The other positive reviews are correct about the location and the vibe. The ladies are very nice with a lovely sense of humor. But here's what you really need to know:
- Get the lemonade (homemade with brown sugar) - wonderful.
- Get the Cayman-style fish, either mahi mahi or grouper - tomato base with onions and veggies over rice with greens and a fritter. Everything is local and very fresh with hearty portions.
- Find the jar of homemade hot sauce!!! If it's not on your table, ask for it. Put it on everything! More like a very fine salsa fresca than a sauce, served with a spoon. Nice scotch bonnet zip but not overwhelming. We bought a jar to take with us (everything is available for take-out) and marinated the chicken we grilled the next night with it - fantastic!
We have spent TEN TIMES what we spent at Heritage Kitchen for meals on Cayman that weren't nearly this good. If real food prepared by real people is your style, go to Heritage Kitchen and be happy!.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Back again for the chicken and fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I had lunch one afternoon at the Heritage Kitchen. We had been there the year before and wanted to be sure to return. It’s located in West Bay, just at the northern end of 7 mile beach, just past the Fosters food store. You order at a window and the food is brought out in styrofoam containers. No beer or wine, but water and soft drinks available. There is only outdoor seating, but the picnic tables have a great view ocean view The food is both excellent and reasonably priced. I had a “stewed chicken” and my wife had a grouper dish. Both were larger portions than we usually eat for lunch so we had some leftovers for another day. It’s nothing fancy, but great food at a great value and the view can’t be beat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“good food, well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I ate The Heritage Kitchen last Friday night(February 8)We both had grouper, mine was Cayman style and hers was pan fried. Both came with rice, plantains and festival. All were quite good at $10 CI. The lady that runs the place is very friendly and accommodating. Nothing fancy but good local food

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing and delicious fish, from a tiny shack on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

so, it's a shack, with outside picnic style seating and eating on paper plates/Styrofoam containers. might be hot, might be sticky. once you're over that, you'll be fine. we had conch fritters and conch soup to start - the BEST we had on the island. then we had curry grouper and coconut grouper -- both super tender and deliciously flavored. while we were there, local construction workers and police came by to eat as well (that's a good sign if there ever was one, for authenticity, deliciousness, and value!). we were actually pretty full from breakfast, but made ourselves eat it ALL because it was our last meal in grand cayman. definitely recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Kitchen also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
East End, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Heritage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.