We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort to your Saves list
Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   18 Sea Fan Drive, West Bay KY1 1401, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Experience Valet-Diving!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was the most relaxing short vacation I have ever had, thanks to the hospitality and friendliness of Arie, Dora, and their team at Cobalt Coast. The resort was very helpful in organising any activities in which I wanted to participate, and ensured that I was having fun at every point. The fact that Divetech is located at the resort is a big bonus!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora V, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Trina, So here we are, located on a beautiful stretch on Grand Cayman away from the hustle and bustle. All we can do is compliment our surroundings. Happy you tracked us down and catching us at what we like to do best. Really appreciate your kind comments. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing and perfect dive vacation, go to cobalt coast and dive tech. Everyone is very accommodating, lovely, but not intrusive. We could not have had a better week - everyone from a seasoned diver, a 19 year old getting certified, a 14 year old fish and a not-so-coordinated and challenged 50 year old newb.... We all were well cared for and loved it! Ondrej was a terrific dive instructor. My son is going back for his advanced open water certification...

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room/suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora V, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Nancy, A diving family will always be together and with so many sites more to discover, we expect you back before to long. Thanks for your nice comments. I posted your comments already on the employee poster board. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with my diving buddy in the middle of April. Would recommended it as a smart well run hotel in a quieter part of Grand Cayman. In fact, so quiet that we had difficulty finding it in our hire car. We booked one of the larger suites with two bedrooms and found it very comfortable and clean. There is a friendly bar and restaurant downstairs next to the pool. We did not use the dive operation at the hotel as we had prearranged to dive with a smaller operator, Cayman Turtle Divers, so cannot really comment on them (DiveTech).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear John, Travelling all the way from Scotland, finding our resort had to be a happening all by itself, off the beaten track as you experienced. We are proud of all the things mentioned in your write up and we like to thank you for your observations. Of course you had to dive with your friends from a long time ago, but you promised to dive with Divetech the next time you visit with us again. Can we count on that. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at one of the garden cottages for spring break week. they are a very nice place to stay, not a whole lot of frills, but an all around good place. we did not do any diving from the resort so I can not review them, other than they were friendly and helpful when I was talking to them about diving. the restaurant has a limited menu but the items that are on it are good, and they have a good selection that everyone can find something for there taste buds. The staff was always friendly and outgoing, I would stay here again, when I get back to the Caymans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryklukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora V, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Barry, I do appreciate your nice comments about your stay with us. Not sure you did any shore diving while you stayed with us, if not you missed something special. It sounds like you are keeping us on your list for the next time, I like that. Thanks again. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sorry this is a belated review as we stayed for 2 glorious weeks in late January. Arie, Dora, Mike & all of the staff were incredible! We arrived yet had to go to a "foodie" event on 7 mile beach & as it appeared that the cab wouldn't make it on time Mike offered a ride & got us to the event---wouldn't take a penny! Mike is a true gem as is Arie the most attentive resort owner- quite hands on - we have ever experienced & Dora is a doll!! The Cottages are Great! Cool set up all you need to feel like you are in an island paradise that could be your 2nd home----if you could be so lucky! Food at the resort is great as are the yummy drinks. If we weren't going into town as often we would've gotten the all-inclusive as it is a great deal. Fresh fish for all fish meals--daily catch type menu- Lunches are fantastic---don't miss the Fish Taco's...I did say we are foodies didn't I ??? We don't dive but the pool & beach were/are fantastic to relax & soak up the sun & ambiance...Those that do dive really must go to this Resort as we saw so many enthusiastic Divers & the in pool training given to 1st timers by the Divetech Staff...really made me want to try...well almost---would need to diet a bit for that wet suit! We had absolutely no trouble using public transportation when we wanted to venture out to 7 mile beach, Georgetown, etc. & did so on several occasions , swam, went snorkeling, shopped...but it was great to then"come home" to Cobalt Coast!! My husband brought his painting supplies & a few canvasses with him and created a few pieces of art, as this place will inspire you with it's beauty!! We did leave an iguana picture & a picture of the Resort upon arrival...Hey Ari , Dora & Mike the other pictures he painted won him a spot in a juried art exhibition here at home...folks were saying "Where were these done??"...we don't hesitate to tell them of Cobalt Coast...anyway anyone who wants a wonderful Cayman Getaway simply must come to this place! We hope to return next year...& the year after, and the year after...!!!! Brian & Rose

Room Tip: Cottages were great but the resort has really nice rooms some that overlook the ocean as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dora V, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Rose, Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience with all of us. You picked a great time of the year to visit, during Cayman Food Festival. You caught up with Mike and Dora, doing what they do best, taking care of guests! Have the paintings up in the office. Not surprised the other paintings won awards and we look forward to your return for more next year. More chefs will be in Grand Cayman in January for culinary month. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I just returned from a five-week stay at Cobalt Coast Resort – and I can’t wait to go back. We were personally welcomed by Dora when we arrived. She, Arie & the entire staff went out of their way to make sure we felt right at home. Any concerns we had were addressed immediately & satisfactorily. Located on the NW section of the island, we loved being away from the bustle, but within a short drive of Georgetown & Seven Mile Beach. I strongly recommend renting a car, but driving on the left takes some nerve.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath cottage for 4 weeks & a 1-bedroom, 1 bathroom cottage for one week. Both cottages were very clean & very well equipped. Both were located across the road from the main lodge, & were built up off the ground, (so plan on a few stairs).

The 2-bedroom had a king bed in one bedroom, 2 full beds in the other and a flip-out couch in the living room, a full-sized refrigerator with ice-maker, full-size gas stove, a washer & drier right in the unit, and a nice porch with table & chairs out front. The kitchen had a microwave, toaster, blender, coffeepot, plenty of dishes & cookware and everything else we wanted. Very roomy & comfortable.

The 1-bedroom had 2 full sized beds plus a flip-out couch in the living room. The fridge was smaller without an ice-maker, no washer & drier and no porch.

The free wifi is not available in the cottages. But, it’s just a short walk over to the ocean-side patio where you can pick up the signal. We walked over every night to watch the sunset from the dock & check our email on the patio. The pool is clean & nice with plenty of chairs. There is no hot tub. There is a sandy area with chairs & shade.; but, no sandy beach. To get into the water, you walk to the end of the dock & go down the ladder. Some decent snorkeling right off the dock.

Outstanding dive shop – DiveTech – right on the property. I LOVED diving with them – 18 times! Incredible staff, great boats & super dive sites.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom cottage is WAY nicer than the one bedroom-duplex unit. Two bedroom unit includes wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheriDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Cheri, Thanks for putting up with us for 5 weeks, even I was jealous of you. Great description of the two-bedroom cottage. I could not have written it better myself! You know that the cottages can only be booked through Global Vacations one of our great travel partners as they handle the availability of the cottages.. Off the beaten track, we provide a glimpse of what island life may have been like at one time, but then with modern conveniences and a great dive shop. Thanks again for letting everyone know about Cobalt Coast Resort. I expect that you are making plans to come back next year. Looking forward to meet you again. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We selected Cobalt Coast Dive Resort for a small group conference/dive vacation.

Without a doubt, one of the best experiences in customer service I have experienced in a resort. Arie and his staff pay unrelenting attention to detail and consistently exceeded our expecations. For example, at check-in, the owner, Arie, walked us to our rooms and made sure that everything was perfect. During the stay, they looked for opportunities to organize trips into town. He prepared a special Happy hour for the last day of the trip and prepared Lionfish Ceviche, Champagne, and other delicious Hors d'oeuvres. Finally, as we were departing, they arranged transportation, monitored and kept us informed of any flight delays.

They serve delicious meals with Carribean, Mexican, and Indian influences. Awesome fish tacos, wonderful fish and chips, and tasty curries can be found on the menu. In addition, they service high-quality coffee (Illy) and a large variety of cereals, eggs, jams, and juices for breakfast.

This is basically a small dive resort, so if you are expecting pristine sandy beaches, look at 7-mile beach as the shore here is rocky, but very close the prime dive spots.

Overall, an excellent resort experience!

Room Tip: The dive shop starts preparing tanks in the morning and that can be a little loud as they are loadin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kujhawk91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CobaltCoast, Owner at Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest, You stumped the jury! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences at our resort and I would like to share all of your accolades with the 20 person staff we employ. Together the staff makes the difference and I am just a proud owner, working with everyone. Some of the staff have been here since day 1. They know more than me and together we make an honest effort. The idea was to create an Island Treasure. We promise to keep on trying. Arie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
3.9 mi away
Sunshine Suites Resort
Sunshine Suites Resort
#4 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
4.3 mi away
Caribbean Club
Caribbean Club
#1 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
Comfort Suites Seven Mile Beach
#6 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Resort
Marriott Grand Cayman Beach Reso...
#3 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,752 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mi...
#7 of 10 in Seven Mile Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,465 reviews
20.7 mi away
Wyndham Reef Resort
Wyndham Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort

Address: 18 Sea Fan Drive, West Bay KY1 1401, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman offers the ultimate diving vacation in a luxurious tropical haven. Located on the Northwest Shore, the resort provides unrivaled access to some of the island's best diving. Just off their shore, the resort guests can shore dive a large pristine dive site, the North Wall. Whether boarding a dive boat from their private dock or diving from shore, this resort grants guests a rare opportunity to explore both iconic dive sites and hidden underwater treasures. Enhance your vacation by experiencing the resort amenities, such as a full service restaurant and open-air bar with oceanside dining. The fresh-water pool is convenient for lounging or for dive training. Our resort is complemented by Reef Divers Valet Diving, which takes care of all of the lugging and loading of your dive gear so you can enjoy a carefree dive. As you ride on our custom-built Newton dive fleet to the island's premier dive sites, relax as our diving staff carries, changes, and cleans your gear throughout the day. This special resort service is a courtesy and convenience to guests, creating the most memorable diving experience. For a true one-of-a-kind diving adventure, the choice is Clearly Cayman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobalt Coast Resort And Suites
Cobalt Coast Hotel Grand Cayman
Cobalt Coast Grand Cayman Resort Cayman Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing