We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip - Aug 3rd - Aug 8th 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Tree

Save Saved
You added Cotton Tree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotton Tree
375 Conch Pointe Road | PO Box 31324, West Bay KY1-1206, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bay
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip - Aug 3rd - Aug 8th 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I visited Cotton Tree for one week with our 15 month old son. We had a tremendous time - Heather was very accomodating (she brought us games and toys for our child - also a swimming float etc). We had the private chef prepare a lunch basket for a trip to the beach - it was fantastic. We have spent many vacations at Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton's throughout the world - I would place Cotton Tree on the same level of service, quality of grounds, quality of food etc. Stay at Cotton Tree - You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at Thatch - although - all the cottages looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I were invited to spend an evening at Cotton Tree with some friends who had booked one of the cottages for a birthday celebration - the location is fabulous - the cottages are absolutely perfect - beautifully done with absolutely everything you might need for a brief escape or a lengthy vacation - each cottage is nestled amongst such lovely landscaping that lends the perfect amount of privacy for your stay - there is a beautiful cabana overlooking the water where you can book a massage (which we did and I would highly recommend) - this was followed by a leisurely dinner served oceanside with many tasting courses all thoughtfully prepared by the in-house chef, Chef Jason. Chef Jason hails from Jamaica and was happy to work with us prior to our arrival on our likes and dislikes in addition to any special requests we might have - we enjoyed duck confit with jerk pineapple, bacon wrapped plantain, conch pepperpot soup, beef tenderloin and rack of lamb - a very memorable meal beautifully prepared and served by Chef Jason and his team - I would highly recommend a stay at Cotton Tree whether you live in Cayman and just want a weekend getaway (you really feel as though you're 'away from it all' without having to battle with airports and immigration!) or are looking for somewhere special to spend your time in Cayman and are looking for somewhere far more interesting than your bog standard impersonal hotel - I cannot recommend it highly enough and will be sure to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

In mid-July, our family of four (incl. two teenagers) spent a week at Cotton Tree ..
This was our first trip to the Cayman Islands, and we wanted beauty, and peace and quiet in a luxurious setting. Cotton Tree was everything we wanted, and we could not have been happier. The cottages are beautiful, functional and perfectly cleaned and maintained - so many small details have been thought out and implemented, and the entire gorgeous property felt like home in no time at all.
Heather and Letitia provide wonderfully personal and caring service, happy to help plan everything and anything.
Most of our dinners were out, at local restaurants, but on two nights we were fortunate enough to enjoy in-House Chef Jason's creative meals -- local Caribbean fare as requested by us. The meals were a delicious luxury, served to us in our cottage.
Along with scuba diving, trying out various water sports, and endless hours in the stunning sea, we also spent many hours in, and around the lovely pool.
I also enjoyed an outdoor spa treatment - there is nothing like a good massage, accompanied by the sound of waves and a sea breeze ...
Our family cannot recommend this property any higher - and we would love to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here in Thatch with our two children. We can't say enough great things about this place. The accommodations were perfect, lots to do for the kids and just complete relaxation with a perfect view and plenty of space for the kids to stretch out. It's kid-friendly but not over-run by children. Heather and team are fantastic -- they will take care of anything you need. Heather helped plan our trip months before we got there. We will indeed be back and you will regret going to Cayman and not trying Cotton Tree. It is one of those rare experiences that perfectly blends luxury, fun and service all in one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked this rental after viewing multiple places for our family of four to have a good week long vacation in the Cayman Islands. We like to have a suite or a two bedroom place so we can all get a good night's rest-which is hard with two children in the room. We decided on Cotton Tree after viewing all of the good reviews and after having correspondence with Heather and Letitia. From the get-go, I was pleased with their prompt answers, thorough explanations, and genuine care of everything I asked about. Everything you see in the pictures is exactly what you will get when you arrive.

We rented the Seagrape Cottage. I was unsure of the difference of the cottages but once I was there, I saw it was the same layout, just a different view. Each cottage has their own lanai, lounge chair area, and is very private. We didn't encounter any other guests until day #4 and that was just coming and going. It is a gated area, so I felt safe having my 11 and 12 year old roam around and I could leave them to go get groceries. The gate was easy to use with their remote control, and the cottage was protected as well.

The cottage is just breathtaking. It is so beautifully decorated, I would just live there if I could! The housekeeping ladies clean the place so well each day that it looks like it is ready for the next guests to arrive. They definitely went above and beyond all of my expectations.

I am usually sore after sleeping in hotel beds of any kind, and I was pleasantly surprised with these beds. Even my kids commented on how comfortable they were. The linens are very high quality, towels are heavenly thick, and the soaps and shampoos they supply are wonderful. We have rented a few homes in Florida before and they do not supply different items such as paper towels, dish soap, and detergent for clothes washer. Cotton Tree supplied all of these things, which was a nice touch. They also supplied cereal, milk upon arrival, limeade (that was wonderful!) aluminum foil, saran wrap, etc. It was nice to cook a meal and have everything we needed right there. The kids were happy to have Mac & Cheese in the middle of a vacation too!

Renting a car in the Caymans was just fine. This location is easy to get to and from major areas and we enjoyed the short drive to and from our destinations. The restaurant nearest is Pappagallo's and it was just wonderful-we went there twice! Letitia told us about Al Frescos as well and that was a great location with a beautiful view! Don't let the location deter you-get a jeep, have fun touring the island, and come and go easily from this wonderful place!

I cannot say enough good about Cotton Tree and their staff. Everyone and everything was just perfect. If you stay here, I promise you won't be disappointed! My only regret was we didn't stay long enough-we never got to use the pool! We will be back and look forward to our next stay with Cotton Tree!

Room Tip: All cottages are the same setup, 2 Bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Thatch has the best ocean view, Seagra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heather, Letitia were wonderful and very helpful. We have been going to the Cayman Islands for the past 26 years. I thought I have been there done that until now. Cotton Tree is the culmination of everything you love about the Cayman Islands, peaceful, beautiful and friendly. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Heather Lockington is a truly gracious host and this lovely boutique resort is exquisite. Each cottage is wonderfully arranged with a spacious living area and full kitchen and lovely sitting porch. Bedrooms are very sexy and you'll love the showers! From the moment you are invited in through the gate (no doubt by Heather or Leticia) onto the lush grass drive, you will realize you have arrived a very special place. After settling in our room we took a dip in the pool, beautifully situated near but not on top of the cottages. The ample well-kept grass areas are a delight to walk on and add to the charm of Cotton Tree. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner, prepared and served by Chef Jason (young, charming, very talented and obviously well-educated in culinary art) on our private gazebo next to the sea and just steps from our cottage. The entire experience at Cotton Tree was delightful...we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Every cottage is ideal! Each is situated next to the sea with beautifully manicured lawn and flora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotton Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree

Address: 375 Conch Pointe Road | PO Box 31324, West Bay KY1-1206, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique cottages set along the Caribbean Sea in Grand Cayman, Cotton Tree embodies the spirit of the Caymans while offering a distinctive oasis of relaxation and indulgence. Four, two-bedroom cottages provide classic contemporary furnishings, old-plantation style architecture, state-of-the-art appliances and design, and the latest technological comforts coupled with options such as a private chef, Caymanian cookouts, a fresh water pool, spa, and individualized tours and excursion services. Independently owned and operated, Cotton Tree is committed to providing guests with a tailored, unique Caymanian experience. Cotton Tree is closed yearly during the period of September 1st - October 15th. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Cotton Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel West Bay
Cotton Tree Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.