We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Tree

Save Saved
You added Cotton Tree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotton Tree
375 Conch Pointe Road | PO Box 31324, West Bay KY1-1206, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bay
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Heather, Letitia were wonderful and very helpful. We have been going to the Cayman Islands for the past 26 years. I thought I have been there done that until now. Cotton Tree is the culmination of everything you love about the Cayman Islands, peaceful, beautiful and friendly. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Heather Lockington is a truly gracious host and this lovely boutique resort is exquisite. Each cottage is wonderfully arranged with a spacious living area and full kitchen and lovely sitting porch. Bedrooms are very sexy and you'll love the showers! From the moment you are invited in through the gate (no doubt by Heather or Leticia) onto the lush grass drive, you will realize you have arrived a very special place. After settling in our room we took a dip in the pool, beautifully situated near but not on top of the cottages. The ample well-kept grass areas are a delight to walk on and add to the charm of Cotton Tree. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner, prepared and served by Chef Jason (young, charming, very talented and obviously well-educated in culinary art) on our private gazebo next to the sea and just steps from our cottage. The entire experience at Cotton Tree was delightful...we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Every cottage is ideal! Each is situated next to the sea with beautifully manicured lawn and flora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband, 4-year-old son and I just returned from our 2nd stay at Cotton Tree. We enjoyed 8 wonderful days soaking up the sun, splashing in the wonderful pool, taking long walks on the beach and playing in the sand. I was fortunate enough to also enjoy a fantastic outdoor massage which the staff helped set up as well as an unforgettable horseback ride on the beach. Chef Jason prepared an awesome meal for us one evening. I highly suggest hiring his services is you plan on visiting. You will not be disappointed. Returning to the same destination can sometimes be boring but this was not the case for us. Cotton Tree continues to deliver and our 2nd visit was just as great as the first…if not more!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our main reason for holidaying in the Cayman Islands was the diving (which was fantastic), and to be honest, the rest of the trip was a bit of an after thought. Initially, we considered staying on 7 mile beach in one of the larger hotels, but when when we came across Cotton Tree we thought it it would be much more up our street.

And we definitely did not regret this decision. The entire property with the four houses is absolutely beautiful and laid out in a way so that you feel like you're the only people staying there; our house (Almond) was perfect for our family (having a fully equipped and modern kitchen gave us so much flexibility in terms of needing to eat in/out); and the pool was absolutely divine. Another great aspect of Cotton Tree was its location on the island. Being away from the main tourist area meant the beach was completely empty most of the time, and the wildlife reserve next door was stunning.

Cotton Tree was perfect for us because it was so relaxing and so beautiful. And if we ever return to the Cayman Islands we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I can’t say enough about Heather, Letitia and the staff of the Cotton Tree. I surprised my girlfriend with a trip to Grand Cayman where I proposed. Heather and Letitia helped me plan a fantastic day that we will remember for a lifetime. Heather even went so far as to use her connections to make our flight on Cayman Airlines extra special. We started out the morning with a private horseback down the beach with Niki (a hundred yards from The Cotton Tree) and swam in the crystal clear Caribbean with the horses. We returned to The Cotton Tree where a delicious boxed lunch was waiting or us. A short cab latter we were at the marina jumping onto a 46 foot sailboat with Neil of Sail Cayman. We swam, snorkeled, fed stingrays and enjoyed a perfect day of sailing. Neil did a great job of keeping my secret until I popped the question as we sailed off into the sunset. That night Heather greeted us back at The Cotton Tree where she helped arrange a private chef, Jason, to cook us a glutinous celebratory candle lit dinner on the beach.
The accommodations at The Cotton Tree are fantastic. There are only four individual high tech homes on the property. We felt like we had our own private resort. Anything we asked for was taken care of immediately and with a smile. The grounds are immaculate, which include a stylish spa beach hut in which my fiancé enjoyed a massage with the natural sounds of the ocean and Caribbean bird songs. We have stayed at many other 5 star hotels and resorts and The Cotton Tree has now become our favorite. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have been to Grand Cayman four times and Cotton Tree is "hands down" the nicest resort on the island. How many times have you ever stayed in a place where the pictures on the website didn't do the reality justice? The surroundings were impeccably maintained, the cottage was spacious, bright, clean and fully stocked, and the pool area was gorgeous. We extended our stay because we couldn't tear ourselves away. All the staff at Cotton Tree were extremely helpful and the customer service was outstanding. We can't wait to return. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Not the Ritz, not the Westin, not the Beach Suites, nowhere but Cotton Tree. Thank you, Heather, for providing a wonderful experience and plenty of family memories. See you soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, texas, USA
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
12,169 helpful votes 12,169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was our first trip to Grand Cayman and, enticed by the lure of Seven Mile beach, we divided our stay between the Cotton Tree and a large luxury hotel on that beach. After staying at the Cotton Tree we realized that leaving was a big mistake. The Cotton Tree offers peace and quite in a beautiful location with superior service. Breakfast on the porch of our cottage looking out at the sea was a great way to start the day and knowing it was to be followed by a walk down the beach and a dip in the pool made it even better.

We rented a car during our stay and if you are staying at the Cotton Tree I would strongly suggest you do so (The roads are great and driving was never a problem.) as only one restaurant is within walking distance and the beach in front of the Cotton Tree is for wading not swimming. Another reason to have a car is to take advantage of and nearby national park which when we visited on a weekday was deserted - we walked more than a mile along the beach without encountering another person. Great dinning is to be found in the Morgan's Harbor area which is less than a ten minute drive away - far better dinning than anything we found along Seven Mile beach including dinner at Blue.

If you don't want to drive and do want to bar hop up and down Seven Mile Beach, or you want to stay at a hotel with a "kids club", then this may not be for you, however if you want superior service in a wonderful peaceful location then try the Cotton Tree and I think you will find as we did that it is the place on Grand Cayman that you will want to return to.

Room Tip: Only one of the cottages does not front along part of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotton Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree

Address: 375 Conch Pointe Road | PO Box 31324, West Bay KY1-1206, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique cottages set along the Caribbean Sea in Grand Cayman, Cotton Tree embodies the spirit of the Caymans while offering a distinctive oasis of relaxation and indulgence. Four, two-bedroom cottages provide classic contemporary furnishings, old-plantation style architecture, state-of-the-art appliances and design, and the latest technological comforts coupled with options such as a private chef, Caymanian cookouts, a fresh water pool, spa, and individualized tours and excursion services. Independently owned and operated, Cotton Tree is committed to providing guests with a tailored, unique Caymanian experience. Cotton Tree is closed yearly during the period of September 1st - October 15th. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Cotton Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Hotel West Bay
Cotton Tree Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.