We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner - CLOSED

Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner
32 Town Hall Road, West Bay KY1-1001, Grand Cayman
(345) 946 8000
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had to wait a bit for our snapper, but were amazed when we got an entire fresh fish, deliciously prepared. Great little roadside stop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    73
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looks aren't everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This tiny purple building sitting on a busy street that never seems to have any cars around appeared to be some place even the locals avoid but we were wrong. A conversation with a local patron piqued our interest as he said it was his favorite place on the island to eat. We decided to take a chance and found a real gem.

The food was incredible. Everything on the menu is based off of: chicken, beef, pork or seafood. It is served in several variations: with or without veggies, curried, as a fried rice or as a wrap. Some items even offer different sauces. Four of our party tried something different from one another. Two kids picked the same beef and pepper dinner (and one of them is an extremely picky eater!). Everyone one of us went home full and satisfied.

Our choices that day: curried grouper, pork and vegetables with BBQ sauce with white rice, same thing but as a wrap and with a salad, curried chicken with vegetables made spicy with white rice, two orders of pepper steak with vegetables over white rice.

I'd give the place five stars if it were a little nicer looking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ordered carry out from this restaurant today and really enjoyed the curry grouper...great flavor and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local Food churned out quick”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great homemade bread. Otherwise standard rice, noodle, meat selections. They do not taste fresh made daily, but a home recipe with a reheat taste. The menu looks huge but it is essentially the same thing listed several times with each meat option. Decent but not great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delivery Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We knew we wanted to eat here based on the reviews, but we decided to try the free delivery instead. Lemon Garlic Snapper was outstanding as was the Pepper Steak.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
West Bay, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tim-Buc-Tuu Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.