We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans Harbour - CLOSED

Morgans Harbour
Botabano Road, West Bay, Grand Cayman
1-345-946-7049
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

How lucky as a family were we to go to the Cayman Islands. It can only be described as a paradise island so much to see and do. After a busy day swimming with the dolphins we turned the corner to find a lovely little restaurant right on the harbour....Morgans Harbour. The food was very reasonable but amazing and as said by my 7 year old the bestest food he had ever tasted. My husband had the seafood pasta...so fresh. I had the melt in your mouth steak, the children had lovely pasta dishes. Nothing was too much trouble ice cold water topped up as soon as needed. The best mojito in town !! But nothing could compare to the peanut butter icecream cheesecake Amazing

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    79
    21
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Sterling, KY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Be patient, be kind, smile and enjoy! It's worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Why is it that some Americans have such a grand sense of entitlement? We are Americans and we had a delighful luncheon at Morgan's Harbout on July 13 even though we arrived almost an hour before our scheduled reservation. This was our first trip to Grand Cayman, thus we failed to realize that the island is on what we call Central Standard Time (one hour slower than Eastern). We kept watch on ships time as we were on a cruise. We arrived by taxi at Morgan's at around 10:30 (central) when our reservation was made for 11:30. Never mind that the restaurant wasn't even open at that hour; we were made welcome and seated at a table under a covered roof looking out over the bay to Rum Point. The staff didn't seem frazzled by our early appearance nor did our waitperson. Ice water and the local beer arrived post haste. Our order was taken with a warm smile from our waitress and the order delivered to the kitchen which we hoped would honor it despite the hour. As we waited, one of us took a walk about, taking numerous pictures of the local color (including a delightful dog that was oh so friendly). The chief was at the top of his game! Our meal was lovely. One of us ordered a seafood curry and the other a Thai green curry seafood. Delicious. Another round of the tasty and thirst-quinching local beer (Caybrew) served to finish off the eats. No room for desert. We sat, satisfied, for several minutes enjoying the view. Thank you, Morgan's Harbour for serving us early and so well. Cab fare back to town was a bit steep. TIP: Try to share a cab going and coming to West Bay and the area north of George Town. The ride to Morgan's was only $8 for two, but $30 back to town when we were the only passengers. Still, it was worth it. Another tip: Get out of George Town and the crowds, especially if you are a first timer, and see some of the island. There's more to do here than shopping.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Took some friends from Atlanta on a Wednesday evening and they just loved the venue. Only downer was the mosquitoes but they soon disappeared. Food was good and the five of us had a lovely evening. Will definitely go back, it's good value for money, their Chicken Schnitzel is the best and their risotto is pretty awesome. Thanks to all for a great evening.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs new owners who appreciate customers.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My wife and friends who went with us after a morning fishing trip decided to try this place since it was open and right beside another restaurant where we had a great experience.
Forget it. We were previewing the menu and deciding where to eat when we were told it was too late they gave someone our table. Keep in mind the place had been open for a half hour and there were 4 occupied tables out of 20 or so They then stated all the covered tables were reserved for the "locals" who have called in reservations for lunch. We then pushed on to see if we could bear thru the experience.
Apparently because we weren't local and we were American, we did not deserve to be there. Fortunately, the great restaurant "Calypso Grill" opened and we canceled our order to walk next door and be treated with respect. Grand Cayman's tourist council should be embarrassed to have a place like this on the Island. Locals only, you can have it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant in Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My family has lived on the island for over two years and this is by far one of our favorite restaurants. They server all local fish purchased from fisherman as they return to the harbour. The jerk burger with brie is my favorite dish and it's very spicy! The dining is outside looking over the dock on the sound side of the island. They do have indoor seating in case of rain, but I've always sat outside. It's a little pricey (although everything on the island is expensive) so it's our special occasion restaurant. And we always find some occasion to celebrate so we have an excuse to eat there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgans Harbour also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.