We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the holiday inn on business for 6 nights and while it is not on the seven mile beach strip it was worth it for a considerably cheaper price (2 and a half times cheaper than the ritz carlton!) and what was a much bigger room. I had a kitchenette and living room area. It could easily cope with a family with two and at a push three kids.
There was a shuttle bus that runs all the way to George Town which is complimentary which meant there wasn't too much of a hassle in getting to and from the beach
The hotel itself is very quiet. So if you want top party it is definitely not for you but if you want calm to relax by the pool without being bothered this is it.
If you want to scuba dive the dive operation from there(divers down) is also very good. You either get the
Must say, if you are coming back from the beach or somewhere else be wary of the taxi drivers. A considerable number look to rip you off as there are no metres. So ask the rate before you get in.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    60
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
31
73
16
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Every negative review about this hotel is 100% acurate.

Restaurant staff=incompetent, restaurant food=nauseating, property=living nightmare.

Best advice I can give you is do not stay here, do not stay here, do not stay here and do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 2 days ago
AH Mike,
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Resort. I am so sorry to hear that the level of service during your stay with us was less than stellar. We strive to provide the most comfortable accommodations and overall best guest experience possible; however, your feedback has helped us to identify areas of opportunity. I've taken note of each of your concerns and will certainly address them with the appropriate departments to ensure the necessary actions are taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Upon entering the building that housed our unit we noticed a very stale odor. It just got worse from there. There were food stains on the ceiling, food that appeared to be from the breakfast in the hallways for two days. Our trash was left in the unit after housekeeping came. We consistently received two bath towels for a two bedroom, two bath unit. Two people could not shower at the same time due to lack of water pressure. At checkout Brenton Parsons asked if everything was as expected in the room, I let him know about the food stains on the ceiling. He just grunted a response. Also, beware if you call a local cell phone from the room, it is processed as a long distance call and charged as such. I have attached the "ocean view" from my room with the lawn mower and other maintenance tools obstructing the ocean view.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room good, enjoyed beach area. Water sports fun. Restruant a little slow but what I expected. The wifi was good. The only thing I didn't like was the $20 resort charge which was not disclosed until check out

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Cayman
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an awesome time there we had the best room right by the beach, we loved the room service as we called to order they were right there with our food....

They are very friendly all the restaurant staff are awesome and the best place to get your Mudslides

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed this property very much. The rooms were clean and it is a very relaxing atmosphere. The Restaurant service is horrible. Not just once but every day! The servers and Manager are very unorganized. Took a long time to get your drink or your food. No follow up. For breakfast,we ordered eggs, toast & pancakes. Toast came long after the eggs were ate. Syrup was not brought over until we asked twice, and it was not even busy. Next day, waited more than 10 mins to order a cocktail. There is no sense of urgency from this staff. Step it up HI workers and you will have more business. I will say however the dinners were cooked great ( once they were finally delivered). This wait staff needs serious training!! We would like to get in, order, eat and get out with a smile. Unless a diner says "take your time" . Also deliver the meals to the table at the SAME TIME. Holiday INN you need to TRAIN, or RETRAIN your staff.
PS. please update your WIFI, it is very slow.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cayman C,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. It is very nice to know you found the rooms clean and our location very well to your liking. On the other hand, we are very sorry your restaurant experience did not live up to your expectations. We take complaints We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a "resort day" off a cruise from an online source. It sounded like a good deal, it provided lunch, drinks and access to the resort for a day. We were looking for the beautiful beaches of Seven Mile beach. Unfortunately this is on the windward side (VERY windy) of the island and only provided a rocky "beach" (too rocky to get in the water) with rough waters. The pool was decent, but small. We ended up taking a taxi to seven mile beach and spending the day there. This is not the place if you want to use the ocean for anything other than admiring. In addition, after we were here for an hour, we found out it is mostly timeshare property, not a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear VAWineLovr,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.