We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the dirtiest hotel on the island” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Probably the dirtiest hotel on the island”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Upon entering the building that housed our unit we noticed a very stale odor. It just got worse from there. There were food stains on the ceiling, food that appeared to be from the breakfast in the hallways for two days. Our trash was left in the unit after housekeeping came. We consistently received two bath towels for a two bedroom, two bath unit. Two people could not shower at the same time due to lack of water pressure. At checkout Brenton Parsons asked if everything was as expected in the room, I let him know about the food stains on the ceiling. He just grunted a response. Also, beware if you call a local cell phone from the room, it is processed as a long distance call and charged as such. I have attached the "ocean view" from my room with the lawn mower and other maintenance tools obstructing the ocean view.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    59
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
31
73
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room good, enjoyed beach area. Water sports fun. Restruant a little slow but what I expected. The wifi was good. The only thing I didn't like was the $20 resort charge which was not disclosed until check out

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Cayman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an awesome time there we had the best room right by the beach, we loved the room service as we called to order they were right there with our food....

They are very friendly all the restaurant staff are awesome and the best place to get your Mudslides

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I enjoyed this property very much. The rooms were clean and it is a very relaxing atmosphere. The Restaurant service is horrible. Not just once but every day! The servers and Manager are very unorganized. Took a long time to get your drink or your food. No follow up. For breakfast,we ordered eggs, toast & pancakes. Toast came long after the eggs were ate. Syrup was not brought over until we asked twice, and it was not even busy. Next day, waited more than 10 mins to order a cocktail. There is no sense of urgency from this staff. Step it up HI workers and you will have more business. I will say however the dinners were cooked great ( once they were finally delivered). This wait staff needs serious training!! We would like to get in, order, eat and get out with a smile. Unless a diner says "take your time" . Also deliver the meals to the table at the SAME TIME. Holiday INN you need to TRAIN, or RETRAIN your staff.
PS. please update your WIFI, it is very slow.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Cayman C,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. It is very nice to know you found the rooms clean and our location very well to your liking. On the other hand, we are very sorry your restaurant experience did not live up to your expectations. We take complaints We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a "resort day" off a cruise from an online source. It sounded like a good deal, it provided lunch, drinks and access to the resort for a day. We were looking for the beautiful beaches of Seven Mile beach. Unfortunately this is on the windward side (VERY windy) of the island and only provided a rocky "beach" (too rocky to get in the water) with rough waters. The pool was decent, but small. We ended up taking a taxi to seven mile beach and spending the day there. This is not the place if you want to use the ocean for anything other than admiring. In addition, after we were here for an hour, we found out it is mostly timeshare property, not a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear VAWineLovr,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We purchased a day pass to the Holiday Inn Grand Cayman while visiting Grand Cayman on a Carnival Cruise ship. The day pass allowed us to use the beach, pool, chair, towel, adult beverages(outstanding rum punch), chips and one meal. The cost was $79.00. Asisah was our server. He was outstanding. He was polite, friendly, professional, and observant. He kept our chip bowl and drink cups full. He was always anticipating our needs and was a fantastic asset to this facility. The facility had a great pool and comfortable chairs. The restrooms were close to the pool and very clean. The beach was pretty, but the water had a lot of seaweed. Therefore, we stayed at the pool and enjoyed the atmosphere. A day pass from a cruise ship to Holiday Inn Grand Cayman was an outstanding deal with everything we needed for the day.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once we arrived we waited for 45 minutes for check in even when there was only 1 person ahead of us.
Once we started the process Sheerly tried to get the other couple as close as possible to our room. She was obviously upset. Like we were asking to make a miracle happen. Bad attitude.
Then the restaurant. You can go in and sit down in a table. Yes sit down and wait. Because even though they are standing in the waiter area they won't show up for a while. Feels like they are doing you a favor rather than provide a service. No matter the service, the 15% gratuity is always included.
The facilities are clean and the pool and dock areas are OK.
Guys it's kind of ways out east from 7 mile beach. Don't plan on walking to 7 mile beach or anywhere else. There's no beach. Only a rocky shore and a nice dock. Very windy but ok. I don't know but it seems like the attitude issue is spread out through the entire islands with few exceptions.
Otherwise that's what you get for paying less than other hotels.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Bikemen,

We appreciate the candid review you have left for our property. It is nice to know that you found our facilities to be clean and sufficient. However, kindly accept my sincerest apologies if the service you received at our restaurant made your stay less than satisfactory. We take all comments seriously and your feedback will help us improve on what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.