We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Relaxing Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Gainesville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Relaxing Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited this property back in September 2014! Staff was great especially the shuttle van driver. He was awesome! The property is a bit off the beaten path, but the rooms are spacious and the property's restaurant is excellent. I ate breakfast there every morning and never had a bad meal. Had dinner there a few times that week and the bar is awesome! Great drinks and happy hour every evening! You can't beat that when you're on vacation!

The business office is small and I had problems with wifi in my room. So, do be aware of those issues if you need to do any work while there. I checked email each day in the business office and tried to make sure that I didn't stay in there very long. At the time they had two computers. Luckily while I was there, there weren't many others on property so I didn't have to share my time in the business center. There is a dive group on property and I saw others utilize them.

I went downtown and went on a tour with some folks from one of the cruise ships in port. The Holiday Inn Shuttle driver and I had arranged for a pick up time. So, it was a great and I did this two days in a row.

I didn't care too much for the Cayman Islands so I doubt that I'll go back, but if I do, I will stay at this resort!

Room Tip: Rooms are great. This used to be a timeshare that they converted to the resort. All the rooms are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
69
15
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely decorated hotel. Restaurant pricey for mediocre food great view of the ocean. Hotel room moderately clean. Main problem was the terrible 3 hour 20 minute wait from checking in to being able to use the room. Keeping in mind my check in time was not in the morning but in the afternoon well after 1pm. Other than that the property is in a nice area of Georgetown

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Scuba-ray3000,

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Grand Cayman. We value your feedback.
To better assist us with addressing the long wait, can you kindly let us know if you were checking in with our timeshare property or the hotel? Because we operate two properties in one, we'd like to be able to address the departments responsible for the delayed check-in to ensure better efficiency and speedier check-ins. Overall, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly apologize for the inconveniences caused upon your arrival. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you during future stays! Thank you again for feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Brooke Meyer (bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladd, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hello again all..! This trip took us to the island of Grand Cayman, where we stayed at one of our favorite chain hotels, the Holiday Inn. This facility was absolutely no disappointment! First time in this wonderfully original country and the highlights were the people. The citizens were wonderfully courteous in every contact. Even th lady fighting a cold at the car rental agency.

The Holiday Inn held up to my hopes and expectations. Lovely spot on the beach. Great atmosphere for vacationers (families or newly weds). Isolated from th city of Gearge Town, however the hotel offers free shuttle service for your shopping / visiting interests. Dive shop on site can provide anything for divers and for those with less demanding water interests, you will find jet skis and kayaks available for rent. The hotel offers a great little restaurant, with an equally good selection of options.

Economically speaking, this hotel is likely the best deal on the market. We visited during their tourist season and found it to be very reasonable. Check the current rates on this site. Great stay!

Room Tip: I had an Oceanside / poolside room and enjoyed the view. Wifi signal was weak in my room, but impro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We purchased a day pass to the resort and enjoyed the pool, beach and delicious fare from the restaurant. Celine attended to our needs and was very pleasant and gracious. She didn't hover or make a nuisance of herself. The common areas were very clean and tidy. The occasional appearance of the iguanas and chickens provided some comic relief for our group. Note that the beach on this part of the island is a bit rocky. The ocean temps were too cool for our comfort in January so access to the water wasn't really an issue for us. We just relaxed on the beach hammocks and chaise lounges.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is a little off the beaten path but it's nice and quiet. If you like to golf you're just about on the golf course. They offer free shuttle service around the island on the hour so you can get to the touristy places. All of the staff we came in contact with was VERY nice. Very important to me is the place was clean. If you are looking for a huge luxurious resort this is not the place for you. If you are looking to stay somewhere that won't cost a fortune but gives you access to all Grand Cayman has to offer this is the place for you. One thing we loved about this place is there is a wave runner launch on site that will take you to Stingray city and snorkeling. Very convenient. The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 stars is the fact that the hotel does not have the "wow' factor when you walk into the lobby and it is not on the nicer side of the island. But again you can take the shuttle to wherever you want to go.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 1 week exchange as a timeshare. This was a 2 bedroom place that was 2 adjoining units that were wonderful. The furnishing were in exceelent condition with all appliances working. The pool and beach facilities were great and the bus to shopping/7-mile beach was nice. A car is far more convient especially if wanting to visit restaurants. The only restaurant on site was adequate but not super dining.The resort is in a quiet out of the way location and if a golfer is right next to ?2 courses.
Had wonderful relaxing,quiet,peaceful week that will be remerberd for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Holiday Inn Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. I much preferred that the hotel was not directly on the 7 mile beach. It was less congested and more peaceful. A friendly chicken and iguana roamed the grounds. The pool area, hammocks, deck, and pier are nice amenities. The hotel also offers water sports/activities onsite. We rode jet skis, swam with stingrays and snorkeled. The hotel provided a free roundtrip shuttle to the 7 mile public beach, Georgetown, grocery store, and several restaurants and other hotels between 8am-8pm. We went to the 7 mile beach each day that we were there. So, we got to enjoy the beach for a fraction of the cost of those that stayed in hotels directly on the beach. Our room was clean and nicely decorated, and we had a great view of the pool area from our balcony.

Although we had a great experience at this hotel, there are a few areas in which it can improve. Their WiFi was very spotty. It only consistently worked near the lobby. The food in the restaurant was overpriced and it tasted okay...nothing special. We ate ate Sunshine Grill (restaurant at another hotel) as often as possible. Sunshine Grill's food was well priced and delicious! We also wished that this hotel offered more to do in the evening (Fri & Sat) such as music and dancing in the bar area.

Nonetheless, we would definitely stay here again. We had a great experience and you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a garden, pool, or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.