We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my recent stay at the Grand Caymanian. My sister, husband and I rented a two bedroom, two bath condo. The resort is very peaceful.We rented a third floor condo which overlooked the golf course and ocean. I enjoyed sitting on my balcony watching the sunrise and the chickens strutting their stuff on the golf course. . The hotel is located in an upscale residential area and is a five minute drive from seven mile beach and 20 minute walk. During the afternoon, my husband and I would sit on their beach on very comfy recliners and watch the iguanas. They also have a nice pier that you can snorkel off of. I was also able to look down from the pier and see starfish and other marine life. The resort has grills which made it a great option for cooking dinner. While grilling, we met lots of friendly people stayng at the resort. Their seems to be a lot of repeat travelers that stay at the resort.

Room Tip: I like the golf course/ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
29
65
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night before going to a rental apartment. It would be nice if we rented a car, but they do have a shuttle that leaves until 5, and comes back until 7? (one guy at the front desk wasn't even sure of the times). There isn't much around, and The Blue Iguana restaurant wasn't great, so you really need to get out. It is right on the golf course if you are here to golf.

One side of the hotel is an abandoned construction site, one side is a golf course, and the other is the bay, so no sand beach. The beach area seemed to be random tables not well taken care of.

Service was quite slow at times, and definitely seemed to be run more like a time share.

Room Tip: South side has a rooster that lives right outside, so expect to be woken up early unless you are a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear TheColoradoTravell,

Thank you for your recent review the Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than stellar. Please know that your feedback is appreciated and the concerns mentioned have been shared with the operations team for immediate action.

We strive to provide our guest's with the best experiences possible. Should your travels bring you back to Grand Cayman, we hope that you'll give us a second chance!

Kind regards,
Brooke (bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had seen mixed reviews on this place (Interval International rated them with a gold seal) and remained hopeful that it would meet our standards. Unfortunately, we ended up very disappointed.
• First glance of property
o Abandoned construction site on Northside of property. (see picture)
o Foul ball netting from golf course falling down. (see picture)
o Front view of property (by lobby) has a large archaic satellite antenna. (see picture)
o Some security doors have duct tape over security readers
o Some entryways are filthy with stained walkways (spilled food/drink??) on them. (see picture)
o Outside BBQ area was an eyesore. (see picture)
• First impression of staff at reception desk
o Unpleasant and unprofessional staff
o Not very informative/not well trained.
o Seemed frustrated with having to make excuses regarding;
 Lack of beach towels
 Limited amount of bathroom accessories; soap, shampoo, toilet paper, etc.
 Inadequate/spotty Wi-Fi
• First impression of our connecting rooms (1322 & 1320)
o Extremely outdated
 TV’s were at least 15 years old. (see picture)
 DVD/VCR combo at least 15 years old. (see picture)
 Curtains that are so old/dry rotted you can see light through them. (see picture)
o Extremely filthy.
 The smell in the hall outside our room was horrific.
 The floor was so dirty and sticky we had to wear flip flops when walking around inside our rooms. (see picture)
 When my daughter went to take a shower there was a used bar of soap and shampoo not thrown out from prior guests.
 Many of the plates, bowls and utensils look like they were not cleaned prior to putting them away.
o We had to go to the store to get Clorox wipes, Windex, Paper towels, etc. to clean the place so we felt comfortable sleeping there.
o We washed all the dishes and also all the towels since we were concerned they weren’t cleaned properly.
o There was a power spike that occurred on Thursday, December 25th that knocked out the A/C units from 4pm – until sometime on Friday, December 26th. As you can imagine…..not a very great night sleep when your room is 83 degrees.
o Main patio area had major water damage on single door. (see picture). The slider had quite a bit of rust and was extremely hard to open and close by anyone but myself.

I hope this helps others see the true state of the property. If you have above failing standards, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear thoove,

Thank you for your recent review of the Grand Caymanian Resort (Timeshare Property shared with the Holiday Inn Resort). We strive to provide excellent guest experiences and will certainly use your valued feedback for improvements. We're disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and hope that should your travels bring you back to Grand Cayman, you'll give us a second chance! Kind regards, Brooke (bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have visited Grand Cayman many times always staying on seven mile beach. We were a little concerned about the hotels' distance from the "beach". However, the other features of the hotel more than made up for a 10 min. drive to the ocean side of the island. First, our room was enormous and clean and very nicely decorated. We had a suite, and the large kitchen allowed us to cook many of our meals. Grocery stores are nearby. Second, with the hotel being on the "Sound" side of the island, you don't have much of a swimming beach, but you do have a nice pool, jet skies, and boating options off the pier.
You will need a car to have a relaxed stay unless you are just visiting for a few days to go diving with pick up from the hotel.
My only disappointment was the lack of espresso coffee on the property. But, you can drive 5 Min. to several nice coffee houses. The staff was very friendly and the onsite restaurant was actually good and cheaper than many others on the island.

Room Tip: Corner have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for only 2 nights on business and had a nice and comfortable stay. If you are going to stay in this hotel consider that the beach does not have sand to lay down on. The beach is rocky.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The exercise room if very small with only 4 machines; two bicycle, 1 climber and one treadmill, no weights.

The food is... Ok, the people are very nice and try to make your stay a good experience but my servers forgot items in my orders and brought them in the wrong order.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 bedroom suite is a basicallly a huge apartment. Makes you feel like your at home
Staff very nice.
Everything/one is inviting.
Makes you feel like your at home
Would stay here again


Reccomended

Only thing i didnt like is the price at the watersports (ripoff to the max)

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at Holiday Inn Resort, wonderful friendly staff, went out of their way to details of our stay. Very friendly atmosphere, rooms are huge, shuttle service was tops! Everywhere we went we have no complaints, Met some wonderful folks from around the country and Europe. Dexter, made me special drinks everyday, very pleasant man. Front desk was outstanding! We would consider another trip and stay at this hotel. It was very quiet and lovely to see from our balcony. The restaurant had great food, a wonderful Chef outdid himself. The staff attended to all our needs, Can't say enough about Holiday Inn Resort. Most pleasant and cleanest place we have stayed at of all our other Island trips.

Room Tip: Take a room with the pool and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.