We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but out of the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent but out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here 4 nights during the first week of Dec. 2104 and loved it. We had a suite though we never used the kitchen or the washer/dryer. The staff was helpful and friendly and we enjoyed breakfasts and dinners at the Blue Iguana restaurant. Our room was clean well maintained. We were able to buy snacks and soda in the lobby.

We did not rent a car, but relied on taxis, buses, or shuttles. We used the hotel shuttle to go to Georgetown, although the last run back to the hotel during the week was 4:30 pm (later on weekends), and taxi rate back in the evening was US$23. We also took the Turtle Farm's shuttle up to their facility. The driver from the Turtle farm even took us over to the Hell Post Office on the way back so we didn't have to walk there either. As other reviewers have mentioned, the Holiday Inn is a long walk from the Seven-Mile Beach, but the Inn's shuttle dropped off beach goers on our way into Georgetown and arranged the time to pick them up.

To see other attractions on the island (Queen's Botanical Garden, Pedro's Castle), we used the hotel's shuttle to go into Georgetown, then walked to the bus depot, where the dispatcher was very helpful to arrange for the drivers to make a side trip to drop us off. The botanical garden then called the bus for us, and it was only a short walk from Pedro's Castle to the main road to catch a bus. I think the bus ran US$15 for 2 from Georgetown to the botanical garden and US$5 each back from Pedro's (vs. US$40 for a cab). So, although the Holiday Inn is a bit isolated from the main road along Seven-Mile Beach, it wasn't a problem for us.

We didn't use the pool or the beach area and the wind was too strong so trips to Sting-Ray City were cancelled, but the hotel's location is convenient for water activities in the Sound.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
22
59
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Holiday in for 3 nights and wished it could have been longer. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and that was the most important to me. The food was excellent and the portions were much more than I expected and very fulfilling. I don't get all upset about the simple things - after all this is a hotel and not my home. Needless to say I shall return for a longer stay. Hats off to the staff!!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently celebrated our four year anniversary in Grand Cayman and spent our week at Holiday inn (10/25-11/1/14) What welcoming staff they have. We had a one bedroom unit with full kitchen which was clean and nicely decorated. Our first meal on the island was at Blue Iguana restaurant on the property. My husband tried their grouper which he said was excellent. The waitress was very pleasant. The morning we had a nice breakfast of course at blue iguana then we visited the reception to plan our week activities and met Torre the shuttle driver who took us over to Camanabay area which was very quiet since it was a Sunday. While on hotel shuttle we met other guests and we all talked about island tours. Meanwhile we finally decided on our dinner choice after talking with hotel staff. Every time we needed assistance the staff was there to help. At one point during our stay. Our clothes dryer in our room broke down we notified the reception desk andthey prompromptly arranged to have it fixed within a few hours while we out and came back and were able finish our laundry. We love going home with with clean clothes. We even met the manager at the hotel who created the guests and explained the new things happening at the hotel since they are under new management. Just anyone from the hotel we met was so nice from the guest shop to maintenance crew was fantastic. The place was getting new paint throughout and grounds were beautiful great pool area for swimming. They do not a beach area to swim in but they do offer use of jet skiing by Action sports co. Who does offer jet ski trips to stingray city. They are in progress on working on beach area but if you just like to sit by the water and feel the ocean breeze it is very area to do that. I would like to say thanks to great staff for our nice stay. Thank you to Sandra,Torre,Lloyd and Annette. Hope to come back soon

Room Tip: Try to get room overlooking pool area we had ours look at the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night in October, and all I can say is why would you ever stay here? It is on the 'wrong' side of the island and at best is mediocre. We had a self catering family suite on the ground floor, but with no outside access (??) and it reeked of fish when we arrived. Lock was hanging off the door as well. The best they could do for us was to send someone in with a can of air freshener!! The only good thing I can say is that we got to see plenty of iguanas, all shapes colours and sizes on the drive through the golf course to the hotel. If you do travel all the way to this island I would recommend staying on the other side, on Seven Mile Beach! The Westin is a great one to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 21cazza,
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman.
We appreciate your feedback - and are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as its our goal to provide exceptional guest experiences. Please know that I have shared this valuable feedback with the appropriate departments and actions are being taken to review our operational procedures and policies related to these areas. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and do hope that should your travels bring you back to Grand Cayman that you'll give us another chance. I will be more than happy to personally arrange accommodations. Yours in Hospitality, Brooke Meyer (bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were put into this hotel/condo location after a 14 hour delay on Cayman Airways which then meant we missed onwards connections by a day.

It's out by itself on a beach that looks man made, but you're not far away from the lovely seven mile beach which the resort provides a shuttle for.

Food is much cheaper than other hotels on the island so a positive and if you play golf, the resort is on a stunning looking links course.

The rooms were spacious with living room and kitchen spaces. If you like a bit of space and don't mind driving or taking a shuttle to the main beach or town, then it's worth considering.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came down for a dive trip and were told to stay here. We didn't care as we expected to be diving everyday. At check-in we were giving an upgraded room which was nice but that's where it ended.

Our room was on the left hand side which had a great view of an abandoned construction site. Unfortunately the gravel road directly beneath our room was not abandoned. We frequently would hear vehicles driving up and down the road to get to the beach. Since the walls are paper thin you get to hear it everytime.

Service was fair, but when we asked for something to be brought to our room it never happened. Towel s at the pool were a hot commodity and there was never enough.

The nicest part of the hotel was the suite which was decently sized with a washer and dryer.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear A S,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman.
We appreciate the valuable feedback provided and will certainly address these areas of opportunity with the appropriate departments to ensure appropriate actions are taken. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and do hope that should your travels bring you back to Grand Cayman that you will give us another chance to extend our true hospitality. I am happy to personally assist with arranging accommodations and can be reached directly at bmeyer@grandcaymanian.ky. Kind regards, Brooke Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1st stay at the Grand Caymanian.
Wonderful room on the very end of the building directly looking into the North Sound.
Facility is laid out to make access to the restaurant, pool, bar and beach deck very accessible.
Only down side is there is not any beach. Didn't affect us, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Every staff member was very friendly.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman

Address: 278 Crighton Drive | Crystal Harbour, West Bay, Grand Cayman (Formerly The Grand Caymanian Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern coast of The Grand Cayman Island, The Grand Caymanian Resort takes any ordinary vacation and will transform your trip into the ultimate restful, romantic, and fun getaway. Just off the beaten path in Crystal Harbour overlooking the beautiful North Sound, our resort provides quiet tranquility for those seeking relaxation. Lay out by the pool, or take a leisurely swim in the stunning, crystal clear ocean. Our property also features amenities for those looking for a bit of fun. Rent from our on-site Jetski rentals, or grab some bikes and explore the Island at a slower place with the entire family. Guests can choose from modern rooms and suites, featuring balconies and gorgeous views of our beautiful island. The sun rises directly over the center of the resort each morning, so catch the sunrise, and then catch up on sleep later with a little poolside nap. With a private, secluded location, rentals for fun in the sun, and close proximity to Seven Mile Beach, our Grand Caymanian Resort is the perfect vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and local staycations. We look forward to welcoming you with our warmest hospitality soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Caymanian Hotel Grand Cayman
Grand Caymanian Hotel
Grand Caymanian Resort
Hotel Grand Caymanian
Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Grand Cayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.