We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cove

Dolphin Cove
9A Garvin Road | Beside Calypso Grill & Morgans Harbour, West Bay KY1-1301, Grand Cayman
345-946-3396
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book Now
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Encounter Program: This program is specifically designed for young children, non- swimmers and those keen to get an up close encounter with a dolphin. Guests stand waist high in the water and interact with the dolphins. You will get to touch, kiss, dance, sing and learn all sorts of fascinating facts about your dolphin. The dolphins will also perform some high energy behaviors guaranteed to thrill and delight. No minimum age – however for safety reasons, young children must be accompanied by one adult per child. (Children under 11 years of age must be accompanied an adult). Dolphin Swim Program You will receive a life vest before getting into the deep water, where guests will get to interact, touch, kiss and enjoy an up close experience. You will get a thrill out of our famous belly rides, where you ride belly to belly with one of our amazing dolphins. At the end of your program, see your dolphins fly high in the air with their spectacular jumps. Minimum age 5 years or older and must be strong swimmers– however for safety reasons, young children must be accompanied by an adult. (Children under 11 years of age must be accompanied an adult).
Hampstead, Maryland
1 review
“top notch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wow! The stingray and dolphin swim was an experience of a lifetime. The staff was very polite, experienced, and the encounter was soooooo exciting and fun. Our group was varied ages and there was no worry about participating. The staff made it an easy, safe, and fun experience for all. The trainers were top notch!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    115
    35
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were so impressed with our experience at the Dolphin Cove. After arriving on the Navigator of the Seas, which anchored a little late, we found that the Dolphin Cove bus had already left. No problems! We called the office and they explained how to take a taxi to the venue, which cost only $10 per person. They were able to accommodate us on a later tour. The grounds are incredible, don't miss the parrot trail (just across the street from the main building) and the touch tank while you wait. Ultimate Dolphin experience was amazing - four activities with the dolphins in a very small group (5 people). The trainers were fantastic, funny, personable and knowledgeable. Dolphins seemed comfortable in their "natural" environment. Definitely be able to swim - even though we wore life vests, we still had to swim a little to the actual dock, no big deal but this was difficult for older guests in our group that were not aware they would have to do this. It's not a simple dip in, get out activity. Overall an incredible experience that we would definitely do again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best of Grand Cayman 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just got back from a cruise and this place was the highlight! I did the "experience", which did not require swimming but did immerse you in the water up to your waist. Getting a kiss from, and being kissed by a dolphin, touching it, and seeing the animals up close and personal was terrific. I'm looking forward to doing it again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lots of Smiles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My sister and I did the "Ultimate Swim" today. It was good fun! The dolphins are all captive bred in Jamaica. They seemed in good spirits, though I'm not an animal behaviorist. It was neat to see the dolphins respond to hand commands from the trainer. There's the usual press to buy photos, Cds, and DVDs. The facility looked much better than the dolphin swim at the turtle farm. At the Cove, the manmade lagoon is open to the sea, though there are barriers that cannot be crossed by dolphins. They have huge tanks that can hold all 6 of their dolphins for 48 hrs and withstand a Force5 hurricane. Seemed expensive overall, though worth it for a fun treat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family loved the experience of swimming with dolphins. We used a discount code from one of the book from our condo. Saved a bunch of money. Plus we got a discount off entrance to the Turtle Farm.
I wish I had know that that getting quality pictures myself would have been impossible. If you want good shots, you have to pay the $ for their photographer. Other than that annoyance, it was fun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cove also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Dolphin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.