We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Bay Condo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Bay Condo
West Bay, Grand Cayman   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great space and well kitted out. 3 bedrooms and 3 and half bathrooms is so much better value than the hotels in town. Great shore diving. Cracked Conch next door for food. You do need a car and it is a little way from town but this is the only issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

After researching several condo rentals on or near Seven Mile Beach, we decided on a townhouse at Coconut Bay. The complex is situated on the ocean with access by ladder for snorkelers and divers. Just remember to wear water shoes when getting into the water, because of prickly sea urchins that hang out on and around the bottom rungs of the ladder. For those who prefer sand, there is a man-made sandy area back away from the rock shoreline, where the kids can play or where sunbathers can stretch out.

The complex has two swimming pools: one smaller, patio accessible pool in a lush jungle-like setting; and a larger pool closer to the ocean. Most in our party used the smaller pool more frequently because of the convenience of quick off-the-patio access. The tropical ambiance of that locale couldn't have been better!

The townhouse was spacious--3 bed, 3 bath--and certainly adequate for three married couples and two small children. The kitchen appliances were modern (stainless steel), and all necessary dishes, utensils and cooking equipment were provided. There were some small problems encountered: one clogged bathroom drain; one difficult shower faucet (corrosion because of sea air is common); tiny ants in one of the bathrooms; low supply of toilet tissue; and a strong unpleasant odor coming from the garbage disposal (grinding up some ice in it solved the problem). These, however, were minor inconveniences that were quickly remedied. The air conditioning on all three floors worked perfectly.

Although a rental car would be recommended for that area, Coconut Bay is serviced by local buses, making traveling to and from George Town (and points in between) quite convenient.

Our one week stay at the townhouse was very pleasant, and we would definitely return if Grand Cayman once again becomes part of our vacation plans.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This location is perfect for both divers and non-divers with access to shore diving on site, 2 pools, beach, a restaurant with a deck on the water and the Turtle Farm within walking distance. A rental car is definite though so you can run around the island as this complex isn't close to any shopping and only the one restaurant. HIGHLY recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We recently took a week-long trip as a group of six friends and wanted to rent a house or condo with a patio and grill. We found the Coconut Bay condos online through various owner-maintained websites and ended up booking a three-bedroom poolside unit (as opposed to the beachside units). It was an easy 30 minute drive from the airport and we were all immediately pleased with how large and clean the condo was. The kitchens, bathrooms, living room, etc were all spotless (minus some stains on the carpeting upstairs) and all the rooms are very spacious. It is decorated with the typical island-style linens and furniture (not too gaudy but certainly nothing like a W hotel). The kitchen was modern and had all the utensils/pans/cups we could have needed. The complex itself is well-maintained and quiet. There is a great patio with a gas grill. The pool felt a bit small when there were other guests (read: kids/families) using it at the same time, but it was generally pretty empty and we often had the whole area to ourselves. There is a man-made beach next to the solid-rock shoreline and the sand is actually pretty nice and we watched amazing sunsets from the beach chairs every night. There is a ladder down into the water from the rocky shore and we swam/snorkeled every day. The water was beautiful and warm with lots of interesting fish, although it could get a bit choppy on windy days. There is a great bar (the Cracked Conch) within a 1-minute walk from the condo and we often went for cocktails in the evening before coming home to barbecue. There is an upscale restaurant next to the bar but we never tried it. Seven Mile Beach is only a five-minute drive away and it was easy to park along the road or at a public access lot whenever we wanted to spend time there. My only complaint about the whole trip was that there was only a tiny bit of toilet paper in the house when we arrived (spread among four different bathrooms) and a handful of other staples (dishwasher soap, laundry detergent, paper towels, etc) were not provided. There were Wi-Fi signals available, but there were all too weak or locked so we did not have internet access (no landline either -- which I personally enjoyed a great deal). We all agreed that it was the perfect place to stay for our group and would definitely recommend it to others. We might consider paying extra for a beachfront unit if we return -- they are right on the water.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2004

We spent seven weeks at Coconut Bay and loved it! Very Caribbean architecture, huge condo (3 bedrooms/2 bath). Fabulous with pool out the back overlooking the ocean. We dive and dove right from shore, down the dive ladder and 30 feet out to the mini-wall which was 40-70 feet! Another 50 feet to the BIG wall...and wonderful coral heads, sponges, all untouched because no dive boats anchor there! It was a 2 minute walk to Dive-Tech Dive Center for our gear. So we could literally put our gear on in our condo then walk to the dive ladder and hop in! Was great not dealing with dive boats and early morning schedules. The condo was family-friendly and many residents showed us the ropes. We loved West Bay -- a small village of very friendly people -- away from the crowds of Seven Mile Beach. Our unit had ADSL but there was an Internet Cafe right at the 4-corners to send faxes. Many nights we took our dinner to West Bay Beach and ate, had champagne and watched the sunset! Already made plans to go back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Bay Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Condo

Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Condo Hotel
Coconut Bay Condo Hotel West Bay
Coconut Bay Condo Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Address: West Bay, Grand Cayman
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty lodging in West Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut bay is a luxury ocean front development nestled around two large pools amid lush tropical landscaping.All houses have high class furnishings and a private patio area.We have the best shore diving and snorkeling on the island right out of the front of the complex and we have an onsite dive operation.All houses have gas fired barbeques and twin zone a/c. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Bay Condo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coconut Bay Condo to your Saves list