We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't eat went snorkeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cracked Conch by the Sea

The Cracked Conch by the Sea
North West Point Rd., West Bay, Grand Cayman
+1 345-945-5217
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Parker, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“didn't eat went snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We didn't eat at the restaurant but they have a nice access to the reef for a shore dive or snorkel. There are showers and the dive staff will give you info about the reef.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    149
    42
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, ma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and ambiance but steep price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The title really says it all. The food was fantastic but the price tag was way to high. Our dinner for 4 adults and two children was over $300 U.S.

Hint: call for reservations

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The view from the desk is one of the best I've seen for dinner. The seafood is very fresh and well prepared. The conch ceviche is some of the best I've had. Great place for a Sunset Dinner.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Magic by the Sea! Not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my third trip to the Cracked Conch in the last year and half after discovering the magic that is conducted here. This restaurant, as most in Grand Cayman favors seafood which is artfully prepared with a flair but not over the top and snooty. As a classically trained Chef, I tend to be slightly more critical but I cannot say anything that we ordered had any room for improvement.

We shared butter poached Lobster that was succulent and accompanied by a wonderful array of vegetables and vanilla infuses mashed potatoes. We also ordered their Diver Scallops, with Cauliflower mashed and spring veggies. All perfectly seasoned and displayed each was presented perfectly.

The only thing (which is beyond their control) to mention or be aware of the mosquitos may like to dine on you as you dine with them. However, our server Jennifer offered up some Cutter and we were golden. A true pro!

The dessert and after dinner drink menu was also (like the dinner menu) was ample and offered a sweet for any palate.

This is another not to missed restaurant in Grand Cayman.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dine on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We ate here after a sunset horseback ride, so we did not get to enjoy the view. We did sit on the deck and it was lovely outside. The food was good, but we had better on Grand Cayman. Service was a little slow - I don't think we would have minded except that it was late and we were hungry. Overall, I would return but it isn't at the top of my list.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cracked Conch by the Sea also viewed

West Bay, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to The Cracked Conch by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cracked Conch by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.