We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Locals Go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Morgan's Harbour, 30319 SMB, West Bay, Grand Cayman
949-3948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
San Mateo, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where Locals Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by several locals and proved to be the best meal we had all week. Great food and service. Only negative was that a Jet Ski was making a lot of noise for a while right off the dining deck, but if it bothered us enough we could have sat inside. Great meal and experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    197
    75
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, excellent food, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food was excellent - all four of our party were thoroughly impressed with appetizers and entree. The prices were modest - in fact, looking at the menu and the prices, I thought we were going to be disappointed. Nope! Excellent value here!

Dessert (homemade sticky toffee pudding) was astounding, and you must try it. Even if you don't have room, order it anyway. We loved it, and I'm usually not into desserts...

We enjoyed the nice bar and conversation with the bartender while we waited for a table (about 15 minutes on a busy Friday night with no reservation). The selection at the bar was again excellent, with reasonable prices.

We actually came here twice in our three night stay on the Island. The second time was to enjoy the dessert and the bar after a disappointing dinner experience around the corner. The second visit really cemented the idea of 'warm' and 'friendly' in our minds - we all agreed that this place was special, and the manager greeted us personally and thanked us for coming back. Nice to see that they were paying attention to us!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Still our Favorite for Dinner on Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Eat outside overlooking the North Bay. Food always excellent. Our favorites are the house salad and any of the fresh caught fish that can be prepared in different ways. I especially like the Wahoo escovitch. For desert the sticky toffee pudding or the mango crepes.
Expensive but a great special night out restaurant

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great View and Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went to Calypso Grill for lunch while visiting Dolphin Cove. The food was delicious, the wait staff was very polite and helpful. The restaurant is right on the water with a great view and has outdoor seating. I can't wait to go back to Grand Cayman and try the dinner menu!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Overrated- very disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We dined at the Calypso Grill based on reading the reviews and a friend's recommendation. We were very disappointed. Upon approach to the restaurant, the exterior isn't much to speak of,and it caused us a little concern that our choice might not have been a good one. Upon entering, the restaurant's interior was much better, and the place was bustling with activity. We were seated and placed our drink orders. Our server brought a chalk board over to cover the dinner specials for the evening. He spoke very quickly and was extremely hard for any of us to understand. Between the five of us, we figured out what we wanted to order. The appetizers were very good so we expected to enjoy the entrees as well. We seemed to have lost our server after that point, and we had to keep asking where our entrees were. He knew were were waiting, but he tried to avoid our glances. We had to almost yell to catch his attention. We waited 45 minutes after our appetizers for our entrees. That is unacceptable, especially given no one ever asked if we were doing well or if we needed anything. We finally received our entrees,and they were just OK...nothing special. We had heard so much about their Sticky Toffee Pudding, but given the lack of service,we just asked for the check and left without having any dessert.

There is a great deal of rushing around to nowhere in this restaurant. Lots of noise and motion with no results. This is not a place to relax over a nice meal.They cram as many tables as close to each other as possible. There was only two inches between our chairs and the next table, and we are a very thin family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.