We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and atmosphere...but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Morgan's Harbour, 30319 SMB, West Bay, Grand Cayman
949-3948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and atmosphere...but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Calypso Grill. Not only is the food amazing, but the decor is interesting, the view is beautiful, and the staff is friendly and attentive. I'd give it five stars if it weren't so pricey. We went for lunch and ordered one appetizer, three meals, three non-alcoholic beverages and one mixed drink; and our bill was $91 without the tip. Glad we went for lunch and not a big dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nittany92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

perfect snapper, delish salads. yum cocktails. the ambiance is impeccable. favorite in cayman! deck seating is nice but indoors is great with the open french doors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been to several places in the Caribbean and the US. This is by far the best seafood we have ever had. Great service, great drinks, but were crammed into a small patio, but it was well worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the wrong-sided drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a harrowing experience driving from Seven Mile Beach to the Calypso - on the wrong side of the road AND on the wrong side of the car!!! - but it was worth it. I had the red snapper and it was fantastic. The service is just as good as the food - our waitress took time to share her story about how she ended up on Grand Cayman from Austria. Although the sun sets on the other side of the island, sit on the outside deck of possible. There was only one disappointment - no parrots were seen!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gleno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we tried on Grand Cayman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Calypso Grill looks fairly mundane--like an old shack almost--when you walk up to it, but once you get inside it is wonderful! The food (try the oysters moscow!) and service were top-notch, and the atmosphere looking out on the harbor through their French doors is as good as it gets on Grand Cayman.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afwmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing