We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wrong-sided drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Grill

Calypso Grill
Morgan's Harbour, 30319 SMB, West Bay, Grand Cayman
949-3948
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 restaurants in West Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the wrong-sided drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It was a harrowing experience driving from Seven Mile Beach to the Calypso - on the wrong side of the road AND on the wrong side of the car!!! - but it was worth it. I had the red snapper and it was fantastic. The service is just as good as the food - our waitress took time to share her story about how she ended up on Grand Cayman from Austria. Although the sun sets on the other side of the island, sit on the outside deck of possible. There was only one disappointment - no parrots were seen!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    539
    156
    57
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant we tried on Grand Cayman!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Calypso Grill looks fairly mundane--like an old shack almost--when you walk up to it, but once you get inside it is wonderful! The food (try the oysters moscow!) and service were top-notch, and the atmosphere looking out on the harbor through their French doors is as good as it gets on Grand Cayman.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You must go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Food, setting, and service were all a "10". We will eat at Calypsos every time we visit. Eating outside was a delight but it would be fine eating inside as well as the decor is elegant. Don't get hung up angling for a sunset meal as the restaurant is east-facing on the water and you won't actually see a sunset, but it is awesome eating outside no matter when.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service in a fun setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I ate at Calypso Grill with my wife and friends a couple of weeks ago. It was our first time to the restaurant and we were all impressed with decor and view. It is set in Morgans Harbor which is a lively setting with small boats taking tourists out to swim with stingrays and also local fishermen bringing their fresh catches straight to the door.
I had the fish of the day over the house salad which was perfectly cooked and also tried the fish and chips which was delicious. Our waiter Fabio was excellent and thoroughly explained the menu. He also made me the best Mojito I have ever had. We will definitely come back when we next return to Cayman.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place was very upbeat and fabulous. The atmosphere was eclectic and the food was fresh and gourmet. Love the shrimp!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
West Bay, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.