We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal!”
Review of Calypso Grill

Morgan's Harbour, 30319 SMB, West Bay, Grand Cayman
949-3948
Update restaurant details
Ranked #4 of 18 restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
46 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    481
    139
    52
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Calypso Grill
See the most recent reviews
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not much to look at, but it was packed -- and we know why! Food was out of this world...great way to celebrate a special occasion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best meals on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Blackened Wahoo and Wahoo Escoveitch were both excellent and perfectly seasoned ....loved the crispy potato strands that came with the dish...restaurant a little out of the way but the view of the bay is beautiful

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family said best meal of the week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and son said this was by far their favorite meal of the week. We sat outside on the deck, had a wonderful meal on a perfect but breezy day. The atmosphere as the sun went down was beautiful. It was a bit "cozy" (tables sort of close together) but it worked. As others have mentioned...you MUST try the sticky toffee pudding. It was wonderful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Best atmosphere and food in Cayman. Sticky toffee pudding the best. Sit outside and enjoy the Grand Cayman air. Its only about a fifteen minute drive from Seven Mile Beach and well with it. A beautiful Cayman experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Calypso Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our generous friend had a gift certificate for this restaurant and invited my husband and I to go to dinner with him one night. I was very pleased with the level of service we received from our waitress (and the other staff).

While we enjoyed our appetizers, entrees and desserts along with a bottle of wine...I'm not convinced that it was worth the high prices on the menu.

The location of the establishment was nice but the physical space on the outside patio was limited.

Overall, I would go back if I didn't mind splurging a bit and if I was seeking a memorable dessert...sticky toffee pudding!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Grill also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Calypso Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.