We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining, but should put more effort in B & B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Marmora Inn

The Marmora Inn
29 Bursthall Street, Marmora, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Marmora
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Excellent dining, but should put more effort in B & B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great property with fine dining. Owner's seemed more concerned about their restaurant and should pay more attention to their B & B. The room we were in (# 2) looked a little better for wear. Past water damage to ceiling and walls not repaired and a very small shower (3'x3') A/C in room is portable and blows on you each evening with a bright blue digital display that looks like a spot light in your face. To bad the A/C didn't reach the bathroom, very warm. At times the water pressure was low or not at all. The Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the owners are very low keyed. Hopefully they will make some future improvements. We would be hard pressed to return otherwise.




  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Enjoyed this first time B&B experience! Hosts Kathy and Rui went all out to make our visit memorable. Dinner went beyond expectations... Hopefully, this will not be our last visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Onsite Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the omelet, with freshly made croissants, banana bread and home made jams. Delightful breakfast!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING DINING WHERE YOU'D LEAST EXPECT IT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought that a truly fine dining experience could be had at a B&B in the little town of Marmora, Ontario? But at The Marmora Inn that is exactly what you will find.

We had a family birthday dinner there this evening.12 people, including 4 children, in a spacious and beautifully furnished private dining room. The food was absolutely outstanding - some of the best food any of us have had in a long time. The service couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. And our hosts, Rui and Kathy are the most delightful people you could ever wish to meet. Thank you both for taking such good care of us all, especially Kathy, who was brilliant with our grandchildren.

The main restaurant was busier than normal, which made the period between courses a tad longer than would be ideal, but such outstanding food for each course, the wait was worth every minute!

Highly recommended, both for the dining experience and the accommodation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marvelous — maravilhoso — Marmora Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having discovered this Inn and Restaurant on ‘trip advisor’ – and then calling to check they would be open for lunch on a Thursday, sadly heard they would not. I was told they now only open for advance reservations and for parties of at least six people. We were only going to be four. I expressed my sadness – and how I had already been looking forward to trying their Portuguese grilled sardines. The owner chef Rui then simply said: “Come! We will feed you.” So we went and were most royally treated to one of the best lunches and restaurant welcomes I have ever had.

Just to consider that Rui and his wife Kathy were kind enough to open up for just four customers and attend on us as if we were their specially invited guests – was truly wonderful and amazing. But that the food itself was so delicious and beautifully presented proved the crowning glory. It’s about a two and a half hour drive from Toronto to Marmora – which is on the Trans-Canada Highway about 60 km east of Peterborough – but I am already looking forward to the earliest opportunity to return.

My grilled sardines were probably the best I have ever had – and came served on a lovely Portuguese hand painted ceramic oval plate. The only competition these grilled sardines have in my memory are those I had almost fifty years ago – when I was barely eighteen years old, and when I had been under the mistaken belief that sardines were only tiny fish that came out of a can – and was surprised to learn that the roughly six inch long fresh fish that had just been grilled on an open fire on a rocky beach on one of the Dalmatian islands in then Yugoslavia (now the Republic of Croatia) were actually sardines – and oh so tasty. Since then I have had grilled fresh sardines in a number of restaurants from Faro in Portugal to São Paulo in Brazil and in both Montreal and Toronto, where I now live. None of them ever compared to that first experience – until last Thursday’s lunch at the Marmora Inn in tiny out of the way Marmora, Ontario.

We had begun by sharing two servings of grilled squid (‘lulas’ / ‘calamari’) and a large Caesar salad, with Rui’s own special dressing, which was especially good. And for two of our company, who had only had those ubiquitous battered and fried calamari before, the simply grilled calamari proved a revelation. They were also perfectly grilled and served with slices of grilled red pepper and drizzled olive oil. Just like our hosts – it was a marriage of Portugal and Italy. But The Crowe and The Beaver – as the dining room is named – did not confine itself to its owner’s heritage delights; but impressed us with a ‘Curried Breast of Chicken’ plus rice and vegetables – while not perhaps as spicy hot as a native of the Indian sub-continent might desire – was as tender and tasty as we could have wished for.

The only misstep was probably more our fault than theirs. We had not realized that a main course ‘Grilled Shrimp and Cheese (served with a small salad)’ was actually a sandwich. But as soon as Kathy noticed the obvious surprise and disappointment on our part, she immediately offered to change it for something else. And the ‘Smoked Salmon Omelet’ proved a perfect substitute. We actually insisted on keeping the sandwich, which was later taken home and thoroughly enjoyed by the husband of one of our company, who had been unable to join us for lunch.

All of this was accompanied by a carafe of sparkling water and a bottle of Portuguese Vinho Verde – that dry but slightly effervescent and fresh-tasting ‘green (as in young) wine’ that so perfectly complemented our food choices. We ended with coffee: excellent Italian-style espresso – ‘doppio e corto’ (double and short) – together with the best and fluffiest ‘Dark Chocolate Mousse’ I have had in a very long time.

This review has been full of superlatives – but our experience of lunch at the Marmora Inn warrants every last one of them! Our only wish would be that more people discover this gem of a place and want – like us – to go there so much that one will not need to be granted a special and unique invitation – like we were – to enjoy such great food and hospitality. Thank you Rui and Kathy … muito obrigado e grazie mille!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Marmora Inn also viewed

 
Marmora, Ontario
Marmora, Ontario
 

Been to The Marmora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marmora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.