We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery and interesting fish dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails on the Bay

Sails on the Bay
15 Elwood Foreshore, Elwood, Port Phillip, Victoria, Australia
(03) 9525 6933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 42 restaurants in Elwood
Price range: $22 - $88
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and interesting fish dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Sails on the Bay at Elwood has a beautiful view. Just outside the window there's a snady beach and beyond that there's the water. The restaurant is chic and modern with smart tiles, feature mosaics as well as sails stretched across the ceiling.
Our group of 9 family members enjoyed the meal as well as the views of the sunset across the bay. Food was slow in arriving even though the restaurant was not fully booked. I ordered mushroom and chestnut soup which was superb, followed by pork belly and a tasty passionfruit sorbet.My partner ordered a cold meat charcuterie followed by an eye fillet. He enjoyed both these dishes.There was a large mark up on the wines we ordered( Mornington Peninsula wines)which were priced at double the bottle shop price.This made the meal quite expensive for us.
However the food prices were good value.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    21
    21
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We were given a $200 voucher for Christmas for this restaurant and decided to use it on our 20th Wedding aniversary (29/2/12). Service was excellent, we were warmly welcomed, drinks and water refills frequent yet not fussy.
Food however was a major disappointment. We were expecting superior seafood but received some very small dishes that were made to look nice but were lacking in both substance and quality. The Sardines for entree amounted to 3 bits of blue bait (I am a fisherman who uses same for bait) with swirils of multiple sauces. Partner had scallops (3) that were supposedly "seared". The larger of the 3 was still semi frozen. The mains did improve a little but certainly nothing to write home about.
The total came to $170 odd, which is when we handed over the voucher.
Then the wait staff were nowhere to be seen, no offer of change from the voucher was mentioned. I was so annoyed I did not even demand it. (which I regret)
We just got in the car and was annoyed that our special day ended on a sour note.
I don't expect to go to this type of establishment to eat like hogs but seriously, we got a hamburger on the way home.
Will not be going back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Top Contributor
518 reviews 518 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 200 cities Reviews in 200 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Better view than food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Exceptional place, mainly because of location on the beach with fabulous view on the bay. The restaurant is arranged in the ascetic style with domination of white colour, and lack of any decorations. The food was rather average and bit overpriced. The service is faultless and we enjoined the peaceful atmosphere and good wines.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic meal at sails on the Bay. The view is to die for and the food and service matched it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely - Must go there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We recently had our first trip to Melbourne for 2 nights pre-cruise. We were catching up with friends, who booked us lunch at this glorious spot after I requested we have lunch looking over the water.
Well I wasn't disappointed. Could not get any closer to water if we tried.
Looking out to the Bay was glorious.
The service was friendly, attentive without being intrusive, and with a very lovely happy Canadian waitress.
The food - well it was superb
We selected from the set lunch menu where we get a selection of about 3 meals, 2 or 3 courses for $40 or $45.
My barramundi was delicious. My husband drooled over his Risotto and tender beef.
The Citrus desert was to die for.
Thoroughly recommend this restaurant for it's lovely atmosphere, superb food, great service, and lovely water views.
We will return whenever in Melbourne, and we thank our friends for taking us there.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails on the Bay also viewed

Elwood, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Sails on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.