We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aqua Lounge is an epic place to stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carenero Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel
Save Saved
You added Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel to your Saves list
Isla Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aqua Lounge is an epic place to stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Aside from the one female bar tender who was incredibly unfriendly to females it was an amazing experience staying at the Aqua Lounge. The food was really good, great kitchen facilities & a super rad location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    28
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
15
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

hope the owners r reading this...the black girl behind the bar with all the tattoos and piercings should be fired. she was nasty, rude, gave us dirty looks when we asked for drinks when she was bartending. We left because we felt so unwelcome!We were talking to other ppl in town about the hostel and they mentioned how rude the same girl was! the rooms stink and r stuffy and full of bugs. we were really looking forward to aqua too bad we didnt ejoy ourselves there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was one my favorite places in Central America. The people there were really friendly and the parties were awesome! We met so many people from around the world there and swam all of the time. There are so many places to see there and so many people to go with! Jumping off of the trampoline into the clear water was probably my most favorite thing there. The girls were super cute and fun! I recommend staying here. Also, there is a walking trail from the Aqua Lounge to another little hotel on the island called the Cosmic Crab which is an amazing place as well. I recommend both! DO IT!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: If you can't get a room or hammock at the Aqua Lounge then look into the Cosmic Crab hotel, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is insane and the people that come here know how to party! I've never stayed here so I cant say anything about the accommodations or the sleeping arrangements. But they have a great happy hour, amazing DJ and perfect ambiance for a good time. Take a quick boat taxi over from Bocas which is literally less than a minute and you're in for an amazing party. While traveling thru panama mostly on my own this was a great place to go and meet people that were on holiday from around the world. The stories and good times I had here will not be forgotten. I would mainly recommend the ladies night, the late night parties and the happy hours here. I'm not sure I could convince myself to actually sleep here seeming how this hostel is in CONSTANT party mode... but hey whatever floats your boat right!?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed in hundreds of hostels all over the world. Aqua is no doubt at the very top of the list. Stayed on the main island in Bocas for first few days, but found myself going to Aqua Lounge every day so decided to move there the last few nights of my trip. GREAT DECISION!! Boat ride back to town is all of 30 seconds and super cheap. The staff Carrie, Hannes, Christian, Taylor, Jay Jay, etc were all incredible people. Nothing better for a hangover than being able to step out of your room and immediately be in the water (via trampoline or swing). If you are in Bocas and not staying there (you are making a mistake) but at least MAKE SURE you make it over for Aqua Wednesday's and Saturday's. They know how to throw a party at Aqua!! Made a lot of memories and friends during my stay here. No doubt I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

My best friend and I spent 4 days in bocas del toro and I can honestly stay it was the best part of my trip. The aqua lounge brings together the most amazing people from around the world together with the locals. The pool and the view from the aqua lounge is surreal and the little island itself is pretty cool. The beds were pretty comfortable too. There's no air conditioning but huge fans and it cools off at night so I had so problem sleeping (when I finally got to bed). Don't expect to go to bed before 3 on the party nights of you're staying in the dorms but don't worry you won't want to. The whole hostel had a routine of late night/early morning swims which was so much fun. Whether you stay here or just visit make sure you try jj's poutine!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Aqualounge, where to begin! We ended up finishing our 2 month trip in central America here, and it was the perfect place to do so. Arrived on Wednesday to the infamous Wednesday night party which was just as good as everyone raved about. It's the perfect place to hang out and make friends, chill on a hammock, take day trips, laze around and swim in the sea. Really has the best of every world! The only hostel I've been in that I can say yes, this is made for travellers and ticks all the boxes - friendly staff, has a kitchen, has a cafe if you're feeling lazy (smoothies are amazing), loads of games, the best music is always being played, trampoline & swings into the sea - need I go on! Also the time we were there, one of my friends came down with a 24 hour bug and the staff could not have been more considerate or nicer to her - the kitchen guy Jayjay even went out of his way to make her chicken soup, while another guy brought us in green coconuts. Amazing. Stay here, or risk missing out!
P.S. stayed up all night, watched the sunrise and swam with a dolphin on my 3rd night here. Some things in life that are worth doing, and staying at this hostel is one of them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel

Address: Isla Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only entirely over the water hostel in Bocas del Toro. Just 1 minute boat ride away from Bocas town, lies in wait the best time in Bocas. Walking distance from the beach and 3 surf spots. Comfy dorms, 3 and 2 person private rooms, hammocks....starting at 12 dollars a night, including free breakfast, free wifi, towel and snorkel rental, onsite laundry and in dorm lockers. We offer safe swimming areas, sea swings, ocean trampoline, sundeck, lounge chairs, hammocks, beer pong tables, indo boards, tour arrangements (fishing, spearfishing, beach, surfing, day trips, etc.), sister surf school, delicious restaurant, tasty beverages and a staff that loves their life is just the beginning. So come and enjoy Bocas del Toro in the best way possible, in a happy place for happy people. AQUA LOUNGE.... Paradises Playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aqua Lounge Bar And Hostel
Aqua Lounge Bar Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Lounge Bar & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.