We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carenero Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buccaneer Resort
Cayo Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Carenero Island
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hmmm.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was not really sure what to expect and I'm still not sure how I feel about this place. We took a boat over with no reservations. The place we wanted was booked so walked over to the Buccaneer. Elisabeth at the desk was very helpful and showed us a few different rooms to choose from. We choose the yurt. It was clean and functional but like most places in Bocas, it had a musty smell. We also had crickets (or something) living in our roof, which was quite mouldy. We were only there for the night so we didn't worry to much. It's was raining (surprise lol) so I did slip and fall on the stairs. Was not hurt though. The restaurant was great. We sat and had drinks with some other guests and enjoyed it immensely. However, no fault to the establishment, the mass swarms of sand fleas ate me alive. Would not go back to Carrenero for this reason alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    6
    8
    19
See reviews for
10
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I've stayed there with my girl during April 2013.

The island it's "virgin" , i mean you still can find a very nice nature and small "human intervention".

Now talking about Buccaneer:
First impression was "Where the hell I am". Last impression was "This is the best place in the Island". People was extreamly nice (not easy in Bocas) , the breakfast simple but great (amazing Pineapple!!!!). Rooms where clean and provided of everything you might need in a place like bocas.

Vram (the owner) gave us a room update for the same price and some very good advices about the island and bocas.

Feel free to ask me anything , i'll answer as soon as I can.

PS: My first review, fully motivated by the great experience there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family stayed in a suite, that had two rooms. One was closed-in, had AC, and it was where the bathroom was. The other was an open room with two twin beds, a table, sink area with small fridge, and was easily open to the beach/ocean by moveing the partition like doors.
The area is amazing, along with the views. Bibi's restaurant was on the property, and it is great. Plus, each guest gets a $5 breakfast coupon, which pretty much took care of breakfast. Also, for every $10 spent at Bibis, you get 1 hour free for the Buccaneer's kayaks, paddleboats, etc.
My only complaint was that there was a leak in the rook (it rained every morning we were there) and the open room did not have AC, but the kids didn't mind. The staff also cleaned any rain up, and were very helpful.
Note: this is a great area, but a little rougher than you would think of when considering "resorts".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Probably the best place to stay in Bocas, especially if you value cleanliness which is lacking in the rest of Bocas del Toro. The main town is dirty and dilapidated so this will be a gem in the chaos as it's a peaceful escape. The rooms are all a few steps from the beach and there's a great restaurant with a large menu and pleasant atmosphere. They also offer surf and paddle boards as well as Internet service so you need not even leave the island. Bed matresses and linens could be stepped up in quality for a better rating.

Room Tip: During mosquito season get a bungalow with a screened porch. Take deet with you regardless of the ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night when traveling to Panama for a 2-week trip with a friend. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but decided to leave after the island lost power and we weren't comfortable. We stayed in a beautiful cabana overlooking the water with 2 bedrooms and a porch with a hammock but the mosquitos were annoying and the cabin felt sticky. Bibi's, the restaurant just a minute away, was convenient and had a nice menu and great fresh juices. Buccaneer is a unique property but we preferred staying in Bocas Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

It's perfect if your looking to get away from "normal" life. The beach is good, the views are amazing, and the staff that i encountered were great and more than accommodating. (Elisabeth and Bram) I think people need to understand what you should be embracing about being off the radar. If your looking for a secluded island get away in Panama this is it. Safe travels...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Weird, but I'm not sure who this horrible owner is that everyone is talking about - unless he's had a complete personality transformation. The man I met was perfectly lovely and accommodating. We weren't all that thrilled with our accommodation - specifically, we felt it was grossly over-priced. The "one-bedroom suite" in the bungalow is not a suite by anyone's standards. It is a very small, dark, dingy room - much too small for three people for three nights. At, say, $60 a night, I might have accepted it, but not for nearly $100 a night ($88, to be exact). Its saving grace was the attached screened in porch that was literally 30 feet from shore. That was the awesome part. So if you're only one person or a couple, the room might be ok for you. But I still contend at $88 a night, it's too much. While the owner tried to convince me "well, that's the going rate in Bocas in high season" he was immediately responsive to my concerns and offered us a discount on the room. He was very, very nice. Don't get me wrong - I actually really liked the Buccaneer. Bibi's restaurant and the Pickled Parrot right there were both super (beautiful setting) and you can kayak, surf and paddle board right there because the entire resort is literally ON the beach. It is a beautiful setting. My only beef was the wrong price point for that room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buccaneer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Resort

Address: Cayo Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small resort/hotel on Isla Carenero across from Bocas on Colon Island. Recently purchased, and being completely renovated. A white sandy beach on the south-east stretch of the island provides a great starting point for many local activities. A new Royal 2-bedroom suite has been added with a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel Carenero Island
Buccaneer Resort Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buccaneer Resort to your Saves list