We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Buccaneer Resort to your Saves list
Buccaneer Resort
Cayo Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed there for 5 days and we loved it.

We had the Cabana next to Bibi's - great ocean view and everything (hot water, toilet, AC, etc, electricity, fly-screen...) worked well. Room got cleaned every day including new towels!

We ate at Bibi's every day - due to the very good quality (try the lobster) and the execellent cocktails (try the Pina Colada) - and of course the short way :-)

Bram (the owner) was very kindly to us and helped us a lot, e.g. to find a chiropracticor (I had severe backaches) or to show us Isla Bastimentos (visit the Red Frog Beach!). If you have any problems, he will surely help you.

Take care about the sand flies. Be sure to protect yourself (e.g. with NoBite or just use the oil you can get at Bibi's), than there is no problem. Sand flies are not only at Buccanner Resort, they are at the whole archipel, just for your information...

If we are in the area again, we will definitely come back and enjoy the good atmosphere.

Thanks a lot for your help, Bram! Hope you enjoyed our farewell present :-) We are so much looking forward to come back again!! :-)

Jana and Steffen

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    6
    8
    20
See reviews for
11
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night. The room was nice, had a great view of the water, and had AC. It was literally steps from the water and Bibi's on the Beach! We had a really good dinner experience at the restaurant - the food and our waitress were outstanding! The room was very quiet at night, which was super relaxing, especially since it rained and you could hear the ocean waves.

The only downside to staying here is you are pretty isolated from everything - which might be a plus for some people. There aren't many places to eat on the Island besides Bibi's. You are a short $1-2 boat ride from Bocas Town, though. The other downside is there isn't really a nice beach, it's beautiful to look at, but no so great for swimming or lounging. The water wasn't so clear, and had a lot of leaves and seagrass since the beach is situated between two islands, it kind of accumulates there. And the sand fleas were horrible! My legs were literally COVERED in bites from walking around the beach. I later found out that using baby oil on your legs keeps them at bay, but I found out too late :(.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Thanks to Lisa and Bram, very nice couple and very friendly
Such a lovely and peaceful place, very nice restaurant and great staff
Ask for the ocean view cabanas just beside the bibi's restaurant
2mn by boat to bocas town wher you have very nice restaurant (OM and El pecado are great !!)
Very relaxing place, just hear the sound of the sea..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Thank you Lisa and Bram for your hospitality. You made our vacation unforgettable :)

If you travel to Bocas - Caranero Island, THIS is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

You probably remember Tom Hanks in Cast Away. Well, the Island of Carenero, where the Buccaneer Resort is located, is similar to where he 'stayed'. It's just 3 min by boat from Bocas del Toro but completely different: quiet, relaxed and private. Don't expect too much luxury at the Buccaneer Resort, but it's great value for money. A lovely retreat for couples! Best wishes to Bart & Lisa (the owners)

Room Tip: There is a discounted rate during the low season. Just email/call Lisa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Nice bungalow in the white sand in front of the sea.
Good breakfast with strong coffee.
Perfect spot for snorkeling just in front of the hotel.
Cute little pier to enjoy the stars observation, or take a taxi boat :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Traveling several weeks in Panama, a beautiful country, The Bocas was the destination for the last week of our trip, and though Bocas a great, sunny place with lots of accommodation, it took us a few days to find THIS place, a wonderful homely beach-resort just two minutes with $1 beach taxi from Bocas town. We are a fun loving couple in our early 30's, and love to enjoy the bars and the fun, but we don't want to sleep in the middle of it, in dirty hotels or hostels.

The Buccaneers Resort was paradise, and we would recommend it to anyone over 24 years of age. It's a bargin for what you get, a wonderful place a few meters from the beach. The management was the best, and as for the sandflies; If you want to stay near the beach in the Bocas, there's gonna be sandflies! Buccaneers provided free citrus-oil, use it and the sandflies is not a problem!
This is the palce to stay when you're on a budget, but want to feel the luxury.
/Josefin & Daniel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Resort

Address: Cayo Carenero, Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small resort/hotel on Isla Carenero across from Bocas on Colon Island. Recently purchased, and being completely renovated. A white sandy beach on the south-east stretch of the island provides a great starting point for many local activities. A new Royal 2-bedroom suite has been added with a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Buccaneer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Hotel Carenero Island
Buccaneer Resort Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.