We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me feel right at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Verde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carenero Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tierra Verde
Save Saved
You added Tierra Verde to your Saves list
Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Made me feel right at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from Feb. 21st to March 3rd, 2013. Four friends and my husband and I rented the top floor and one room on the second floor. From the moment we arrived, Ivan went out of his way to accommodate us. If we needed snacks, beer, etc., he would have it delivered if we didn't feel like island hopping. When we wanted to venture out, he would make calls to make sure we were in the right hands and all according to our schedule. He introduced us to some of the locals who we became fast friends with. Breakfast was perfect with fresh fruits, toast, and steaming hot coffee. Rooms and linens were always clean.
In reference to some posts made before we went: yes, it sometimes rains on a tropical island, hence, "tropical".
yes, you will have bugs on a tropical island with high humidity, don't be stupid, bring bug spray or stop at the Pickled Parrot( about 150 steps down path) and purchase George's amazing bug repellent oil( and have the best burger ever as well.).
If you like to travel to the hidden spots, you're not into all-inclusive cattle ranches, you like to hang with the locals and meet new people, then this is the place for you. Ivan hooked us up with a great dive outfit, showed us where to surf and snorkel, and was the ultimate host!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
5
24
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norristown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tierra Verde is probably the best place to stay on Carenero Island.....safe, quiet, clean but convienent to everything. Host and staff went out of their way to be accommodating--"It's a long story"....a very laid back place. Water taxis are the way to travel ($1 per person) to almost anywhere you need or want to go and arrived within minutes of a phone call by Ivan (owner) of Tierra Verde. Don't miss a meal at the Cosmic Crab on the island.....very good food. Two notes worthy of mentioning: Vacationing in Bocus del Toro is for people with an adventurous nature; and, "sometimes" it rains in Panama. Had a blast! Best bang for the buck!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a super chill place to stay and have a realxing vacation, Tierra Verde is your spot. Im currently here for 2 weeks with 5 other friends and we are having the time of our lives! Ivan, who is one of the owners is beyond gracious! He has shown us an amazing time since the second we stepped foot at Tierra Verde. He goes above and beyond for his guests. The place is extremely clean and kept everyday. If you are uptight and unwilling to live a little outside of the Ritz Carlton then maybe you should chose a different spot but if you are up for an adventure and enjoy meeting people from all over the world then this is your spot!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Firstly, the hosts are great. Very helpful and pleasant, making sure you get the best out of your holiday by arranging for boats, tours, etc.

We were disappointed with our room, and in particular our bed. It was a poor mattress with old threadbare and stained sheets, no mattress cover, and the fitted sheet wouldn't stay on the slippery mattress (ended up numerous times waking up on the bare mattress...)
The room was small and dark with nowhere to sit, so we didn't hang out in there at all. It also wasn't very clean...the floor was sandy and hadn't been swept...

There were a lot of things that needed attention or fixing: overhead bathroom light didn't work, door frame needed repair and could barley lock, a panel in front door of hotel was missing, general cleanliness...just a bunch of little stuff.
Breakfast was a fruit bowl and some very stale bread that got staler each day we were there. Ew.

Also, Isla Carenero is mostly a dirty poor area, smells like sewage, lots of garbage...and sand fleas!! I would not swim anywhere near the hotel...there is a beach a short walk from there that is ok. You do hear the club music until about 2am.

In spite of those negatives, there was a bit of charm about the place....but really just a bit....

I would definitely recommend this place over staying in Bocas Town itself.

Tierra Verde needs an overhaul...more attention to detail would make it so much better. But then again this is Panama, not California.

Do make a trip to Bluff Beach about 10 kms north of Bocas Town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilyaPanama, Owner at Tierra Verde, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for you reponse and critique about the hotel. We have fixed all the problems you have mentioned about the room. It just would be nicer if you told us directly since the owners are the managers of the hotel and are always here to accomadate or help in anway. If you wanted a bigger room well you could of asked for a bigger room, we are always around tthe hotel to acoomadate our guest needs.

In regards about the island being so poor and smelling like sewage that its totally off, hotel is no where near that area. From your comments you make it sound like we are right in the middle of the sewage and the garbage which we are not. We are actually in a very quier area of Caranero Island.

In other words you should have to came to us with any problems you have had. Problems cannot be be fixed if the management is not advised of the situation. Communication is key.

Thank you,

Cookie Evans
Owner-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you're in for a relaxing getaway and desire top class surf, this is the place. Cookie and Ivan are great hosts. Honest, straightforward and always available to help make your stay as good as possible. We had 5 days of terrific surf, fantastic food and great laughs. The hotel is convenient to all things in Bocas...while giving you a remote island feel. Water taxis are the way in Bocas and help make it such a unique gem in the Caribbean. I take a lot of surf trips around the world and this one goes into the Top 3. Hoping to get back sooner then later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are the irritatingly boorish ex-pat type who has no qualms about approaching diners in restaurants to berate them for taking too long to finish their meal, then PLEASE AVOID staying at Hotel Tierra Verde. But if your idea of a great vacation is staying at a charmingly rustic local establishment that is considerably better than a hostel and consciously less than a cheesy all-inclusive resort then you may have found the one. If all you need is some sun (& a little rain, too), surf & beach and maybe a Ron Abuelo & pineapple at your side, then this is the place for you. Staying at Hotel Tierra Verde has the added benefits of getting to hang out with smokingly hot, surf-minded Brazilians, Dutch, Americans and other world travelers who care less about what you do for a living and more about whether you can spin a good yarn or just chill in a hammock for hours on end without a care in the world. If you are lucky, the proprietors, Cookie & Ivan will fill you in on the secret surf spots, inform you which nights are ladies' night at Aqua or The Iguana and let you drop their names at any number of restaurants in town. Would we go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

spent 5 days here over christmas holiday and had an amazing experience. it's on a more chill island away from the noise and craziness of other islands. the owners are brothers and are hooked into all the action from where to surf, how to get a boat, where to go out, and pretty much anything else you may want to do while staying at this amazing island paradise.

they are also located a short walk to bibi's which has the freshest seafood, amazing service and chill patio on the water.

i cannot say enough good things about the owners, the place, location, and overall vibe.

oh - we also enjoyed hanging out with pretty much every single person that stayed with us. great community vibe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Verde

Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Tierra Verde Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.