We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Bocas Del Toro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Verde

Save Saved
You added Tierra Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tierra Verde
Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Cocoa Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best Place to Stay in Bocas Del Toro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A group of 4 families, with a total of 15 people, traveled to Bocas del Toro in June 2012 and stayed at Hotel Tierra Verde. First of all the location is perfect! It is on Isla Caranero which is right next to the big island. It is literally close enough to swim to, but far enough away to get a true island feeling. It was just a 5 minute boat ride to Bocas.

The owners took great care of us securing transportation and excursions both day and night. The rooms were comfortable, clean, cool. We began each morning with coffee and fruit under the bohio out in front. We ended each day sitting on the dock relaxing and enjoying the view. We were lucky enough to time our trip when a surf swell came in. The owners were very helpful pointing us in the directions of the best surf spots.

We hit the typical tourist spots but were also pointed towards more local spots. We snorkeled, hiked, surfed, went kayaking and enjoyed dining and beverages. Perfect vacation! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    16
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
22
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Tierra Verde was exactly what I was looking for on my solo adventure to Panama/Costa Rica last January. I flew into Panama for NYE and spent 3 days with a friend of a friend. I told my friend I was on my way to Bocas del Toro, after a quick stop in David. She told me of a her friend Cookie, who owns Tierra Verde. It was a long journey on multiple buses to get there from Panama City, but so relaxing once I finally made it.

Bocas is a unique archipelago of small islands, where you commute back and forth by way of $1-2 water taxis. Carenero Island is very short hop of the main island of Colon. It's nice to be away from the madness across the water in this beautiful bed & breakfast, but still be close enough to the action if you so desire.

Cookie provided me a good size one bedroom with private bath for a very reasonable price, which included a nice continental breakfast in the morning. He provided terrific tips on where to go and when, and even came out for an evening on his night off. I also met two Brazilian brothers who were staying there for two weeks enjoying the terrific waves around the various islands, as well as an older gentleman who was staying at Tierra Verde for an extended period as he built his own private residence just around the corner. Only downside of Bocas was the sand flies, mean little suckers that pack a big punch around the ankles. Wear your bug spray.

I personally enjoyed visiting the various islands and renting a bike on Colon for a nice long cruise, even right along the beach at one point. Great waves, three toed sloths, and plenty of flora and fauna. Tierra Verde was the perfect location for everything.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, which was fine. But the upper floors do have balconies, which would be coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We traveled to Bocas del Toro just to visit Tierra del Verde. We had received a recommendation from friends who have been going there for years and it did not disappoint. We were greeted by the owners on the dock and immediately shown to our room. The hotel is small and homey and the room was very clean and had a nice AC unit.

The hotel has an awesome wraparound balcony that gives you great views of the ocean. One of my favorite activities was relaxing in the hammock at the end of the dock.

The staff was very nice and attentive. They gave us suggestions for activities everyday and give us recommendations for the best places to eat and drink.

While this hotel may not be for fussy travelers, it gives you a great Panama experience and a great price.

We will definitely be returning in the future!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Isla Carrenero is a sweet little island. Is is RIGHT across from Bocas Town. All you have to do is pay $1 for a water taxi and you are there in 2 minutes! Tierra Verde is owned by 2 surfer brothers. Both were raised in Panama and speak perfect English. Ivan and Cookie They were always around to help with tours or if you had any questions The rooms were a little small, but very clean. The AC worked fine. But.....we were ever in our rooms anyway, except to sleep. There was a small dock on the water, with a hammock and chairs to relax in . The pelicans were hanging out every day and 'fishing" Great place to relax and enjoy nature too. There are even a few places to snorkel off the beach, if the water is clear. There are a few good places to eat right down the beach with good happy hours and views of the ocean. Bibi's was one and it is good!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room and you could walk out on the balcony to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have travelled to Baocs three times and can tell you this is the BEST spot on the BEST island in Bocas! Staying here really gives you that sense of island living, as there are no cars (unlike Colon). The owners Ivan and Cookie are great and know the area as they have lived there full time for well over a decade. Whether you are there to surf, explore the natrual resources, or just sit back and read in a hammock - this is the place! The hotel is clean, comfortable and all around awesome. However, what makes it special is the exceptional quality of the hosts - who make you feel like part of the Tierra Verde family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Tierra Verde will not disappoint you. Its located on one of the smaller islands of bocas, Carenero which adds to its charm and relaxing feel. There are great restaurants for any meal and drinks (Fresh caught fish from the boat) and even kayak and water rentals if you wish, which is just a few minute walk from your room. Hang outside on the dock and look at the orange starfish in the water or dive into the crystal blue water and snorkel for a bit. The best part is that the owners Tierra Verde are so accommodating and sweet that it really feels like you are staying at a friends home. The best part was when other people talk to me about bocas, i had a different experience and saw more, off the typical tourist path because of the people at Tierra Verde. I 100% credit my unique experience in Boca because of Cookie and Stephanie. You can tell they love their hotel and they love seeing people enjoy where they live. You came to bocas to relax.... so get off the main island of colon and hang at tierra verde and feel as if it's your home on your island :) and respect it as such.

Room Tip: Super clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Perfect little getaway in Bocas del Toro. Quaint hotel with clean rooms, with AC and private bathroom. Owned by two brothers who host surfers, families, and groups of people who just like to get away and relax. Have stayed there 4 times over the last 8 years and each trip is a little different, but their hospitality remains the same and keeps me coming back. You can do everything or nothing and Cookie and Ivan will help you organize and schedule your day trips. I really enjoyed taking the boat over to Dolphin Bay and have always been amazed at how curious they are. Starfish beach, Red Frog Beach, drinks at sunset, La Gruta bat cave, taking the boat to Bastimentos and other small surrounding islands, snorkeling, walking through Colon Town and just reading a book on the hammock on their pier. Can't wait to come back this winter! :) Thank you Cookie and Ivan for providing a consistent little hideaway over the years!

Room Tip: I love the rooms on the second floor with the ocean view. Beautiful to wake up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Verde

Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Tierra Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Tierra Verde Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.