We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fing awsome!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tierra Verde to your Saves list
Tierra Verde
Carenero Island, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
“This place is fing awsome!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Tierra Verde is a must if you plan on staying in the Bocas del Toro area. the rooms are super clean. the staff is super friendly and helpful. its as centrally located as can be for the area. the views are amazing.i recommend staying there .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
5
26
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were staying at another hotel on Colon Island that turned out to be horrible, contrary to the pretty pictures we saw on their website. Luckily we had the good fortune of meeting Stephanie (co-owner Cookie's wife) who whisked us away to Carenero Island and Hotel Tierra Verde. Their spot is so much quieter and more serene than anything we saw on Colon - while still within walking distance of some great restaurants and bars - and only 10 minutes and $1 water taxi from Bocas Town. Our room was comfortable, the showers were hot, the breakfasts delicious, and you are right on a stunning beach with crystal blue water and a gorgeous island view. I wish we had know about Hotel Tierra Verde from the start, it would have made a huge difference in the enjoyment of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocracoke, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This is is the place to stay if you come to Bocas for surfing or just to relax and enjoy the islands. The owners Cookie and Ivan are native Panamanians. These guys know the place and will give you the best advise as to where to go and what to do while in Bocas.
The property is beautiful and laid back. If you need anything just asked them and they'll do their best to make it happen.

Room Tip: The top suite is pretty sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely little hotel, very clean, quiet rooms with ac. Very serene and peaceful setting. Spent many hours with drinks and book on the front porch looking out at the sea. Very easy to get there from Colon Island, $2 water taxi from jetty to Colon and $2 to get to Carenero point break and you can walk back. The owners are surfers and can get you a boat in 5 minutes. They are full of info and set you up with trips, tours, places to visit. For surf trips by boat ask for Cedar or Madison, they have a great boat and will take you to the best spots. Service was excellent. The only reason it's nt 5 stars is that the breakfast whilst lovely and continental is insufficient for surfers. Would be great if they would offer something cooked and more substantial.

Room Tip: No real need to pay extra for an ocean view since its right there in front of you when you walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I highly recomend Tierra Verde at Carenero Island. Nice Hotel and location, good breakfast, nice rooms, covered sheltter for hamocks! excellent service and responsability from the owners to make your vacation enjoyable, also very helpfull!! Taxi ride to Colon Island is 5 minutes away and $1 dollar.
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Me and ny boyfriend stayed at Tierra Verde for 6 nights.
We got there accidently when we met the owner in Bocas. We were a little shocked by the ugly hotels in Bocas and we were looking for something more relaxing than some sleezy cheap hostel.
Tierra Verde is on Carenero island which is a 5 minutes boat ride from Bocas but it is much more beautiful and peacefull than Bocas.
The place is very beautiful, has a nice terrace and is very green and relaxed.
The greatest quality of this place is the owners. They were so nice and helpfull and we can't thank them enough!!! They have definetly made our stay in Bocas much more interesting.
I totally recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilyaPanama, Owner at Tierra Verde, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are offering for the month of October the low season prive of $55.00 per night for a dbl. The price includes continental breakfast, use of internet or wifi, and tourism taxes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Tierra Verde on Isla Carenero is a short water taxi ride from Bocas town but a much more serene setting. With its own dock and covered shelter for hammocks, it's a great place to hang out on a lazy day. Narrow beach out in front, but for swimming walk 10-15 minutes down the shore to a beautiful beach and around the corner from that is a great surfing beach. Simple wood-framed 3 story building. We stayed in the top floor 2-bedroom suite which has a small sitting roof with refrigerator and flat screen TV and a wrap around covered deck with great views to the water. AC in the bedrooms worked well. Plenty of hot water when we were there. Friendly and helpful hosts who lived onsite. Limited help-yourself breakfast (toast, fresh fruit and coffee) but more ample breakfasts available at Dona Mara 2 doors down. Easy access to Bocas town for restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Verde

Address: Carenero Island, Panama
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located into a lush, tropical setting, and carribean ocean to view. Each room comes with Ac, Cable Tv, hot water and wifi. A stretch of beach and restaurants are in walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Tierra Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Verde Hotel Bocas Del Toro Province
Tierra Verde Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.