We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Acuario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carenero Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Casa Acuario
Save Saved
You added Casa Acuario to your Saves list
Carenero Island | Bocas Del Toro, Carenero Island, Panama   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Rate Book Direct
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I can't say enough about this place. First off - Joan was amazing with correspondence prior to mine and my boyfriend's arrival. She answered all of our questions, and offered me a good rate for staying more than two nights. There was never even an hour delay between her response to my emails.

We don't have a lot of money, something like this is way over our budget, but we decided to spend the money because our trip to Bocas was special. We walked in the room and were really taken aback by how unbelievably beautiful and immaculate the room was. Everything was spotlessly clean and so cozy....and the bed and pillows were AMAZING.

On top of the perfect location, spectacular views, and superior room, there is a family that takes care of the place and cooks breakfast. I had a hankering for some hot tea about 8 p.m. one night, and the lady's son was cooking dinner and watching tv with a group of his friends. He saw the teabag in my hand and got me a mug and put on some hot water for me. As we sat in the kitchen waiting for the water to boil, the kids just made jokes with us and treated us SO FRIENDLY. The next morning a really nice woman cooked us breakfast (I can't remember her name, but I think she is the aforementioned kid's mom). I feel SO at home at this hotel, that I automatically offered to help her wash dishes when we were finished with the breakfast she cooked us. Naturally she declined, because it is her job, but the point is that this isn't like a hotel at all. This place truly gives you the feeling that a family is inviting you into their perfect home over the ocean. My boyfriend and I are young, but have no interest in the bar and party scene that occurs down at the Aqua Lounge. Casa Acuario is perfect, absolutely perfect - and if we ever come back to Bocas del Toro, we will absolutely stay here - and you should too!!

We have to pack to leave tonight because we leave in the morning, and I think we are more sad to leave Casa Acuario than we are Bocas del Toro itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Room was spacious and very clean. Wifi and TV were nice to have. Hot shower was great- a lot of places dont have heated water. There were always beers stocked downstairs :-). The owner Joani was very sweet and fun to talk to! She was extremely helpful! The other people that work at the hotel are also very sweet and helpful. There is a lady that works there (Joani's manager when she is gone) and her son took us to snorkle and to Red Frog beach. The hotel was very quiet and it was very nice to be able to wake up and just jump right into the ocean. It is across the water way from Bocas Town and the water taxi is only $1 per person to go back and forth. It was nice to be out away from Bocas town because it was pretty noisy at night. There is a little bar on the same island called the Pickled Parrot. Highly recommend! Also Red Frog beach is a must. So pretty! Thank you Joani for a wonderful stay! We will be back!

Sincerely,
Shyla and Brett

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

After much searching, we felt like we found the best spot here at Casa Acuario! The owner Joanna was a lovely host, very interesting and welcoming. The room was spacious, comfy and clean and the price is right. All of the rooms open directly on to the dock, where you can see dolphins, starfish and tons of fish in the turquoise water outside your door!! The rooms also had a/c and a t.v., which were added bonuses! Our room was on the main level, next time we will ask to be on the top level, better view and then people will not be walking by your window. There is not a ton of things to do on Isla Carenero, but luckily it is only a $1 boat ride to Isla Colon. It is worth walking around the island, but parts of it are a little dingy. For us, it was a much better option that Isla Colon though as it was much quieter and more relaxed. Was never a problem to get a water taxi, just flicker the light on the dock and one will speed over! We had an early morning flight, and even at 6am, we had no problem.
Breakfast was available for purchase, but fresh coffee is free every morning. We felt so comfortable just hanging out in the common area where there is internet and little kitchen stocked with beer and water. We enjoyed getting to Joanna as well. Joanna's staff is friendly and helpful in assisting with excursions and even did our laundry!!
We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, better view and people will not be walking by your windows and fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I were incredibly lucky to find this hidden gem! Price was very reasonable. Eclectic decor and beautiful view made this our best vacation stay ever. Owner and her staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Cannot recommend Casa Acuario highly enough. My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here in March and it was perfect. The room was large and spacious with a large balcony perfect for lazing away in the hammock looking at into the ocean. You can swim right off the casa into the sea which is great or there is a small sandy beach right next door. The owner Joanie is really friendly and has a really interesting life story! Plus Edgar who works there is really efficient as well. The lounge area is quiet and there is water/fruit/honesty bar all there. Also Toni the local fisherman works with the hotel and he tooks us out for a whole day on his boat for just $70 - an amazing day.

Carenero island is much quieter than Bocas Town and is a great option for couples. If the sun shines and the sea is aqua blue there is nowhere I'd rather have been! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Stayed in two different rooms, both beautifully decorated and made you feel like you're staying on a boat. We came here without reservations. The hotel is overlaying the water. There's a lot of boat-traffic in front of the hotel which makes it a little noisy. Only a meager continental breakfast is included and if you want eggs, you'll have to pay for them.
They should give you a nice breakfast for the amount you're paying for the room.
Staff is friendly, especially the lady that works here daily. She speaks great english and is very gracious. All in all a very good experience and sad to leave!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Great choice if your heading to bocas. Great location. Close to town, close to breaks, bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Acuario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Acuario

Address: Carenero Island | Bocas Del Toro, Carenero Island, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King suite overlooking crystal clear water abundant with tropical fish and sea life. Great swimming and snorkeling spot with pretty sandy beasch.This spacious suite situated upstairs offers one king bed and one double bed with A/C, Cable TV, WiFi, private bathroom with hot water, hardwood floors and french doors opening out to your own private patio overlooking water with mountain views, hammock and seating. Full and continental breakfast with local fruits offered. Enjoy the covered leisure terrace wired for wireless internet and kitchen area. Guest fridge is avaialble for guest use. The Inn is located on a tropical island, Isla Carenero, directly across from Bocas del Toro and a three minute boat ride. This island features world class surfing, hiking nature trails, pristine beaches, restaurants, bars, kayak, surf board and paddle board rentals and other amenities. We will help you arrange your island adventures, diving trips and surfing tours with a pick up at the inn. The price of the rooms is as follows: King suite double occupancy $99. Per night . Queen suite double occupancy $88.Chrildren under 10 for free. Extra adults $10. Each . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Acuario Hotel Carenero Island
Casa Acuario Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Acuario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;