We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oasis
Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carenero Island
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A True Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

While traveling through Panama and Costa Rica, my brother and I stayed at Hotel Oasis for four nights. It was a wonderful experience. Big rooms with nice amenities (AC, cable TV) and a beautiful open air dining room, lounge and bar area. The complimentary breakfast provided a great start to each day. One of the nicest things about Hotel Oasis is the peace and quiet it offers. Instead of the incessant din that fills the air across the bay in Bocas Town, at Oasis, you are surrounded by the sound of waves and the breeze.

Our stay coincided with the beginning of the rainy season but we lucked out and had three days with nice weather. On each of those three days we took a tour of a different part (or parts) of the archipelago. It was all arranged by the owner, Jose and his wife, Maira. They were warm, attentive and responsive to any and all requests we made. On the rainy day, we sat in the lounge, read, played cards and watched some baseball in our room. Finally, there is a restaurant and it serves delicious food. The chef, Carlos, is one of the most amiable conversationalists I've ever come across. A real charmer!

All-in-all, I highly recommend Hotel Oasis. It was a perfect place to relax and a great base for our Bocas explorations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. It has been a pleasure atenderos, I'm glad that you and your brother enjoy our hotel and that you liked our restaurant too.
In the name of the entire team, a big hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Accommodations are simple and clean, with a great view of the water from almost anywhere you stand. The hotel provides the quietness you desire, but also has easy boat access to Bocas Town and its nightlife.

Staff is very helpful. Super responsive. They will take the time to show you different tour options or places you can visit on your own.

If you are looking for a trustworthy place to lay your head at night, then this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I'm glad you liked our hotel. In the name of the entire team, thank you for your courtesy to us. A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

So, my wife and I choose this hotel based on the tripadvisor ratings and the price. As stated in the other reviews, the owner is a nice guy and the food is very good. However, the room provided to us (Room #2) did not come close to what we were expecting. It was in need of some serious updating. Most disturbing was the sliding door with the broken lock. The available "lock" was a piece of bamboo wedged between the door and wall. The room was on the "ground floor" right next to a dock regularly used by the locals. After the first night we opted for the "suite" located on the second floor. This has been recently renovated and is well worth the extra money. The hotel has real potential if the maintenance is improved. The location is both good and bad...good because you are away from the noise of Bocas Town, bad because access to everything beyond the hotel is by water taxi only. All said, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go with the upstairs suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are always continuous renovations, maintenance, as we are over the sea it is always continuous. We are glad to return to our hotel. I hope your return trip home was pleasant.
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was warmly welcomed immediately upon entering the beautiful, open, breezy lobby by all three in attendance: 2 owners and staff. My name was recognized right away. Check-in was easily accomplished in very good English. It's a small hotel but includes a restaurant and bar. I was only there one night, and the dinner, while a fixed menu for that night ... a BBQ of filet mignon, sausage, salad and bread ... it was excellently prepared to order and came with a delicious pepper sauce over the beef. Breakfast was perfect ... two eggs, toast, jam and two large slices of very ripe and delicious pineapple. Coffee was available by 7:30, which provided the opportunity to relax and read a while, alternately reading and watching the warm rain. The restaurant tables are mostly inside the lobby, but that is fine, as the breezes are luscious. But that night, I dined on the dock, close to the water with great views. Very comfortable. Al in all a tremendous value. A/C in the room was excellent and the bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: The only way to get to and from is by water taxi from Bocas Town. But no worries, It's very quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you have a good time in our hotel.
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I enjoyed it so much I stayed an extra night! The owner was very accommodating and helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. The food was delicious. The open air bar area is a great atmosphere to get to know fellow travellers or just sit with a book and enjoy the breeze. The rooms are clean and comfortable (except that the sheets and pillows seemed old). The location is ideal, far enough from Bocas Town to get a good night sleep but only a two minute (1$) water taxi away. I highly recommend Hotel Oasis for a great stay in Bocas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you have a good time in our hotel.
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

PROs: Really nice owner and good staff. The hotel had spacious, clean rooms. The rooms have a spacious bathroom with hot water showers and even a balcony. The hotel is directly at/on the water and offers nice views. The onsite restaurant offers really good food for the price.

CONs: The fact it is on another island, like 200 m from Bocas town, makes you need to take a watertaxi each time you wanna go there for shops/food/drink.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello friends, thank you very much for your comment. I hope your return trip was pleasant.
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was my second stay at Oasis. I returned because my first experience was phenomenal. My second stay was just as wonderful. The hotel owner, Jose, is such a warm and friendly host who makes you feel right at home. I was welcomed with open arms and felt like I had returned to a second home. I never feel alone at this hotel despite being a solo traveler. The service and attention at this hotel is spectacular. He and Maira will help you with any tour or activity you would like to do in Bocas. What's even better about this stay was they have opened a charming restaurant in the hotel called Boca Boca. Carlos, the chef, is a charming host and prepares the best meals in town. I highly recommend the tuna, the filet mignon, the lobster and ceviche. I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Room number 6 doesn't have a balcony. I recommend the beautiful suite they have built on the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment. This was the second time Iyou came and hope to make many more if only to say hello. Already like family.
A big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique over-the-water hotel with the best breezes in Bocas. Suites with private balconies and private and shared rooms. Suites and private rooms feature air conditioning, hot water showers, SKY-TV, free wi-fi and complimentary breakfast. Our Tex Mex cafe and cantina have 180 degree views of Bocas town and the Caribbean and feature incredible sunsets over Bocas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.