We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis
Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms have air conditioning and hot water. The bar is on the water, the beer is cheap, and the food is good. Jose and his girlfriend are some of the nicest people in the world. They helped me negotiate with the taxi drivers and recommended places to go. I will definitely stay here next time I am in Bocas del Toro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, it helps us a lot in our daily work. I hope it's true that you can return and enjoy more with surfing.
A hug friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
74
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Jose the owner and his wonderful wife made our entire trip. The Hotel is clean and quiet, breakfast is included and the Bar is always open! Very friendly and knowledgeable about where to go and how to get there. Will stay there again when we go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, it was a pleasure to serve. I hope when you get back, hopefully soon.
A big hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a great time and stayed the entire month of January at Oasis over the Sea Hotel. (formerly Los Balcones). The hotel is very nice and has best views and best breezes. I checked out many other hotels on Carenero and Colon and was always glad to return to Oasis at the end of the day after a walk around the islands. I was very pleased with the rooms. Rooms are very large, well furnished, and bathroom with excellent hot water was great. The Hotel has large dinning, lounge, and bar area with kitchen near at hand. Food was very good and reasonably priced. If you want to get away for some quiet reading time, there is a nice lounge area at rear of hotel complete with some used paperbacks that visitors have left for others to read. The Hotel is built out over the water and has great views from the lounge\dinning\bar area. Out the back door is access to foot paths around Isla Carenero. Transportation to other islands is via water taxi boat at $1 US one way and Isla Colon is a stones throw away from Carenero.
I feel this hotel is best location as it is on the quieter Island of Carenero but just a few minutes by boat to Colon.
Jose the new manager is a great host and during my last 2 weeks I can see that he and his wife will continue to provide great services to guests and they will be making some additions to menu and services to improve upon an already great place to stay. Best of Luck to both of you in your new hotel adventure.

Tom Linder
www.CountrySideNet.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose R, Gerente at Hotel Oasis, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much my friend, was a pleasure to serve you and you know that this is your home forever. Thank you very much for your wishes, I also wish that it may go well with your loved ones. A big hug.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Everyone that works here made our trip so much more amazing. The rooms were HUGE, CLEAN and had AC. We had a room for 4 days, and ended up staying for 3 more. We will never forget our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We went there about one month ago, we did not have booked the hotel in advances and a local person recommend us this hotel as the best one and in fact he was right, we looked for some places in the area before looking at the Balcones but the local person was right the best one was Los Balcones, is near the main Island, Colon and also is in a quiet island close to everything, the place is clean, beautiful and you should not miss the Mexican's nights, they have the best Piña Coladas :O).

The service we receive was very nice and Linda was lovely. My husband and I work in the Turism industies and we would recomend this place to anyone is looking for a quiet place.

Thank you linda for your host and we hope see you soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

stayed for 3 nights , owners and bar staff very friendly even have their own drink , food very good Tex Mex style in the carribean... using local ingredients !!!! Bar setting amazing very chilled , looking out into bay towards Bocas Island. murals on walls of bar great fun..... My room nice and big . Get to hotel by water taxi runs 24 hours only 2mins back to bocas Island for 1$

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We came for a day and stayed for 12. Great location, great rooms esp., for the price and wonderful host Karl, Lloyd and Linda. We felt so at home, and they were a wealth of local information. We can not say enough about the staff, great cooks, bartenders and owners so glad we found you. Great rooms, location and host plus great Tex Mex food, who could ask for more.
We will be back, no other place measures up like here. We would not even consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique over-the-water hotel with the best breezes in Bocas. Suites with private balconies and private and shared rooms. Suites and private rooms feature air conditioning, hot water showers, SKY-TV, free wi-fi and complimentary breakfast. Our Tex Mex cafe and cantina have 180 degree views of Bocas town and the Caribbean and feature incredible sunsets over Bocas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.