We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place at Bocas del TOro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Oasis to your Saves list
Hotel Oasis
Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place at Bocas del TOro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We went there about one month ago, we did not have booked the hotel in advances and a local person recommend us this hotel as the best one and in fact he was right, we looked for some places in the area before looking at the Balcones but the local person was right the best one was Los Balcones, is near the main Island, Colon and also is in a quiet island close to everything, the place is clean, beautiful and you should not miss the Mexican's nights, they have the best Piña Coladas :O).

The service we receive was very nice and Linda was lovely. My husband and I work in the Turism industies and we would recomend this place to anyone is looking for a quiet place.

Thank you linda for your host and we hope see you soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
74
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

stayed for 3 nights , owners and bar staff very friendly even have their own drink , food very good Tex Mex style in the carribean... using local ingredients !!!! Bar setting amazing very chilled , looking out into bay towards Bocas Island. murals on walls of bar great fun..... My room nice and big . Get to hotel by water taxi runs 24 hours only 2mins back to bocas Island for 1$

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We came for a day and stayed for 12. Great location, great rooms esp., for the price and wonderful host Karl, Lloyd and Linda. We felt so at home, and they were a wealth of local information. We can not say enough about the staff, great cooks, bartenders and owners so glad we found you. Great rooms, location and host plus great Tex Mex food, who could ask for more.
We will be back, no other place measures up like here. We would not even consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Me and 2 of my buddies stayed here over New Year 2009. Despite the fact the whole of Bocas was booked out, Gabriel (the manager) managed to sort us out with bedding for a couple of nights before a room got vacated- he really did get us out a massive hole. So off to a good start.
The hotel is 1 minute away in a water taxi from the centre of the island. The rooms were lovely- the whole place was great actually- it had just been renovated and did look fantastic, very plush- the food great, staff all very helpful and in my opinion was in a perfect location. There is the peace and tranquility here but if you wanted to go have a party everywhere was only 1 minute away. Another major bonus about it was the jetty where you could sunbathe if you couldnt be nothered going to the beach- every beach in Bocas was quite far away in a water taxi. So this was perfect when we all felt a little worse for wear. From the jetty you could cool off and jump into the sea also which was wicked.
We all had a wicked time here and if I personally came back I would definately stay here again- prices were really competitive. Gabriel- thanks for letting us stay and finding accommodation for us- you are a good man!
Doug

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

is just a 5 min water taxie ride across the harbor is Los Balcones on Isla Carenero. It is, in my opinion, the best place to stay in the islands and one of it's best kept secrets. After suffering 3 nights of slovenly service and overpriced rooms in Bocas town we moved to Los Balcones. What a plesant surprise!
Los Balcones is built over the water like a lot of places down there. Don't be put off by it's appearance when you first approach it. It was still under construction when the global recession hit so it looks unfinished but once you get inside The owner, Gabriel Esteban is the most gracious host you can imagine, the rooms are huge and reasonably priced compared to places just across the bay and Gabriel's wife fixes a wonderful breakfast each morning which is included in the price of the room.

We spent 10 days there and hated to leave when it came time to go. If you are planning your trip now you can phone Gabriel at:(--) and reserve a room and he will meet you at the airport in Bocas.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Despite being off the main strip on Isla Colon, this hotel is a fantastic place to stay, especially in the off season. Rates were extremely fair, and water taxis are plentiful if you feel the urge to spend any time on Isla Colon. The ride takes less than a minute and if you give the taxi driver 50 cents or 1 dollar, that's all you'll need. There are also a couple of bars on the island so a few nights per week you won't even need to go to town at night. The hotel is on stilts in the water, you can jump right off the dock into the warm waters, or take a quick walk to the other side of the island to a set of small beaches. There is a small little town behind the hotel, a little bit of a shanty, but it's typical of this region and completely harmless. In my mind it provided a little Caribbean flavor to the experience.

The food is great, the staff is friendly, and rates are fair - give this place a shot.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Address: Carenero Island, Carenero Island 323232, Panama (Formerly Los Balcones Bocas)
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Bocas del Toro Province > Carenero Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carenero Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique over-the-water hotel with the best breezes in Bocas. Suites with private balconies and private and shared rooms. Suites and private rooms feature air conditioning, hot water showers, SKY-TV, free wi-fi and complimentary breakfast. Our Tex Mex cafe and cantina have 180 degree views of Bocas town and the Caribbean and feature incredible sunsets over Bocas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oasis Panama/Carenero Island, Bocas Del Toro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.