We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College dormitory, but with more artwork.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara to your Saves list
Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Real Acueducto 360, Col. Puerta de Hierro | Frente a Centro Comercial Andares, Zapopan 45116, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Zapopan
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“College dormitory, but with more artwork.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is convenient if you have business in the Puerta de Hierro/Andares zone, otherwise it is probably not worth the effort. The access is very difficult, the motor lobby/valet parking area is very small and frequently very congested. While the hotel has an Acueducto address, is does not actually face Acueducto but instead, real de Acueducto. The rooms are smaller than your average hotel room (definitely not 35 m2) and there are not many amenities. The lobby is very small and the front desk is not overstaffed, so you might need to wait to check in or out. However, if you need a clean place to sleep and want to save money this is an option. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance, including a Johnny Rockets downstairs. There is a Starbucks within easy walking distance in the adjacent Unicenter, also a supermarket Superama). There are more than a dozen table service restaurants (including California Pizza Kitchen, Chili's, Outback Cafe and PF Chang's plus a lot of great local restaurants) in the adjacent, mammoth, open air, two-level regional fashion mall known as Andares (and two department stores and many mid level fashion stores, even a few affordable luxury stores such as Burberry and Coach, plus de luxe luxury cinemas).

Room Tip: Chose your rooms carefully, those facing north to real Acueducto can be very noisy at night, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPGerente, Gerente at Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Huesped:

Antes que nada agradezco su preferencia y la sinceridad de sus comentarios, los cuales nos ayudan a mejorar y a trabajar en una mejora continua, el compromiso de su servidor y de esta empresa es el que si nos favorece con su regreso, encontrara una propiedad diferente con un sentido de servicio en favor de ustedes, nuestros huespedes.

Sinceramente.

Lic. Jesus Peguero Macias
Gerente General
Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    21
    22
    35
See reviews for
21
19
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you pay 50,- to 70,- USD per night, don't expect too much even though it ranks as a 5 star hotel. Well located next to the Andares shopping center, it's a rather practical and functional hotel. Rooms are ok for Mexican standards, the beds are of quality and the shower runs a fair amount of water. The hotel restaurant (italian) has a limited variety of choice, but it tastes good ! Just 2 elevators which are quite busy and a reception desk which does not fit nor the size of the hotel nor the number of rooms - waiting 10 min can happen... You can have access to the hotel terracee on top floor, but there again, no chairs (maybe because it was December ? but 25 degrees and sunny...) or pool or anything.

Overall, it was ok for me given the price I paid...

Room Tip: Request a room which doe snot give on the street - much more calm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPGerente, Gerente at Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Huesped:

antes que nada agradezco el que haya elegido el hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, su casa en Guadalajara; sus comentarios son importantes para nosotros pues nos ayudan a mejorar dia a dia, el compromiso existe por lo que le comunico haremos nuestro mejor esfuerzo por subsanar los detalles que nos señala y usted lo pueda corroborar en su proxima visita.

Sinceramente

Lic. Jesus Peguero Macias
Gerente General
Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is too simple, it has a moisty smell on hallways and room, the lobby is small and some how not inviting, very uncomfortable pillows. Lack of amenities. Cheap feell of furniture. No smoking on entire building. Poor service. Anoying ac noise all night. Will not use it again. Location is a plus on the good side.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPGerente, Gerente at Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Señor:

antes que nada le ofresco una disculpa por las incidencias presentadas durante su visita a esta su casa, creame que valoramos sus comentarios y haremos lo posible por ser una buena opcion en Guadalajara y que usted nos pueda tomar en cuenta en sus futuras visitas.

Esperamos verlo pronto en casa.

Atentamente

Lic. Jesus Peguero Macias
Gerente General
Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

So i was really scared of staying in this hotel after reading the reviews... so my wife and i decided to stay here anyway...

the actual experience made me rethink about tripadvisor! my experience was GREAT!
- Location: Perfect! i think we saved over $200 USD just in taxis if we had stayed elsewhere
- the lobby is horrible (yeah i give you that) but who cares!
- the rooms are ok, they are clean, not too big but comfortable (i've stayed in much smaller ibis style and so)
- the service is not that of a 5 star hotel (which is supposed to be) but its not as horrible as some people put it i mean they always gave me a smile, i never had any problem (in general)
- the elevator is slow but i mean... i can live with that...

so I WILL STAY AGAIN IN THIS HOTEL, 90% of the time was around the property, there are this brand new night clubs and bars right across the street, i loved my time here...

i wont say its a 5 star hotel but i payed arund $60 usd per night... i really think is worth the price...

PLEASE, DONT THINK ITS A LUXURY HOTEL, its not! but i think is perfectly well for a weekend, i went with my wife and she is way pickier than i am and she said she would stay there again..

my conclusion was that i should not always trust tripadvisor... honestly!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side that there is no road, this will help with the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPGerente, Gerente at Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped:

agradezco enormemente sus palabras, estas nos comprometen a mejorar en los aspectos que nuestros amables huespedes nos señalan, creemos en que lograremos hacer de este hotel una propiedad digna de todas las personas que nos honran con su preferencia, le reitero; esta es su casa en Guadalajara...Muchas gracias.

Sinceramente

Lic. Jesus Peguero Macias
Gerente General
Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalaja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located in front of the best and newest mall in Guadalajara with excellent places to shop and dine but its service leaves a lot to be desired. It is part of a mid price chain that has been successful in other cities by offering clean rooms and good facilities at reasonable prices. The Guadalajara hotel is far from the chain standard. At the time of my stay they had a large group of kids participants of a national karate tournament and the staff was absolutely incapable to manage The many guests. The lobby was a mess, they ran out of clean towels and I end up with a rag. The light of my bathroom was out and maintenance never responded. A very bad experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPGerente, Gerente at Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Google Translation
Apreciable Huesped:

antes que nada le ofrezco una sincera disculpa por las malas experiencias recibidas, por otro lado le comento que en el hotel Mexico Plaza estamos en una etapa de cambio en cuanto al servicio se refiere por lo que espero nos pueda dar una oportunidad mas de poderle servir y usted note la diferencia, esperamos verlo pronto por esta su casa en Guadalajara.

Sinceramente.

Lic. jesus Peguero Macias
Gerente General
Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Needed to find a hotel in the area so thought we'd give Mexico Plaza a try...whoops made a mistake. On first appreance the hotel seems to be more than what it actually is. First off check in was a bit frustrating, they asked for a 200 pesos deposit for the remote control and room key (we expect that in lower end hotels but not in a so called business hotel). Second, we needed parking, that will be another 50 pesos and to top that off we needed to be escorted to the parking (forget something, so I had to track down someone to take me back to the parking lot). Third, had a shower...no bath mat, no place (other than the floor) to put the soap or shampoo. Forth, wanted to have a glass of wine in the room...not a glass to be found. Fifth, lots of TV channels but not a single channel was clear. Fifth, the first room they checked us into there was actually someone in the room.
They only good things I can say about this hotel is the beds are very comfortable and the internet is good, other than that this hotel is a complete miss.
We paid 958 pesos + 50 pesos for parking...way over priced, not good value. I'm sure we could have done so much better if we had only done our research. We use Tripadviser all the time but for some reason didn't use it prior to checking into this hotel, it we had we would not have checked in.
Do yourself a favour look around

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a large group, so it may not apply to individual travelers. We made the reservation directly with the hotel by phone. Our room was exactly as reserved.

Hugo did a wonderful job, tried hard to keep us happy.

The rooms as mentioned are very sparse. There was no coffee table so we pulled the bench from the bathroom (we had a junior suite) into the living room so we had somewhere to put things - food, our feet :) while watching TV.

Mexican hotels aren't overly generous with towels, but we managed to keep at least one extra each day (my routine here in Mexico is to snag one and hide it so that we have it if we need it).

Wifi was acceptable.

The bed was amazingly comfortable even though more than once I hit my shin on the bed base's sharp corner protruding into the room farther than the mattress. It seemed that they had more than one type of pillow so we were able to find one that was comfortable. To have a relatively comfortable mattress and a reasonably supportive pillow are extremely hard to find in Mexico.

There was an issue with one of the window blinds but that was repaired the day after we reported it.

The housekeeper worked hard but consistency is not one of their strong suits. Some days we had more than enough towels, some days we had just what we needed (though never hand towels or face cloths). One day the glasses were washed another day they weren't. Every day we returned home to find the bench that originally came from the bathroom in a different spot.

We had an issue where some chocolates went missing Thursday night. I talked to the front desk (which, btw, is the weirdest arrangement I've ever seen - you would have no idea that it was a hotel reception if it wasn't at the front door - more like a bookkeeping office) and Claudia came up to see us. On Saturday when we returned to the room we found a new box of chocolates and a very nice apology letter from the hotel. Apparently the maid accidentally threw them away while cleaning. She should never have been moving our things around the room in the first place, but anyway....... We saw her Monday morning when we checked out and she apologized personally. We felt it was a very positive experience.

Taxis - EXPENSIVE - you would be better off to hail one off the street. However, we had a very nice, calm, quiet ride in a nice new car. We paid double what I would have expected from a metered cab.

Restaurant - we only ate breakfast. It was included in our rate and was fine. Not worth $150 pesos as advertised, but adequate. We were attending a convention and had to be gone by 7:20 am. Breakfast begins at 7. However, they were actually just starting to put out the food at 7 so it was more like 7:10. There was fresh fruit juice available fairly quickly but I went without coffee most days because it wasn't ready.

Situation - wonderful for afterhours. Restaurants/Walmart/Banks/Shopping extremely convenient.

I'd stay again with a reasonable rate.

An earlier post said it wasn't a Mexican hotel. Maybe it isn't a traditionally decorated Mexican hotel, but it is Mexican through and through. If you expect that and not an American chain, you will be satisfied.

There was noise at night from the bar/restaurant/nightclub across the ste

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara

Address: Av. Real Acueducto 360, Col. Puerta de Hierro | Frente a Centro Comercial Andares, Zapopan 45116, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Mexico Plaza Guadalajara)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Guadalajara Metropolitan Area > Zapopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Zapopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ejecutivo Mexico Plaza Guadalajara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.